We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfying and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Errolbank Guesthouse

Errolbank Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Errolbank Guesthouse to your Saves list
Errolbank Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   9 Dalgleish Road, Dundee DD4 7JN , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Dundee B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
1 review
“satisfying and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights with my wife while visiting Scotland, initially booked for one but once there decided to go for 2. We first were in a very large family room, then moved to a smaller double. Both rooms were comfy and clean, beds are not extra-large but fit. En-suite were both not that large, but again clean and comfy. No aircon, but don't think you'll ever need it there, though good heating which was a pleasure to have even if we stayed there in August. In the morning the breakfast was excellent, great way to start the day! Very friendly host, looks like he's really concerned with making guests feel at ease. If you need tips about places to visit etc he's always up for. Good Wifi which does not require registration.
Overall, we recommend the place if you are looking for a great value B&B

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
11
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Settle
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Big room (no.5) which many guesthouses would have made into two little box rooms to get more punters in. Not a speck of dust anywhere. Very comfy bed, a work table and plenty of cupboard and drawer space. Shower room is a bit small but it isn't cluttered with a basin which is just outside the shower area. Strangely there is no mirror above the basin, so I had to move from basin to the mirror in the shower area to shave satisfactorily. Could do with having the curtains lined to keep some of that early morning Scottish sunshine out.
Breakfast is extra, so beware and there is a charge for credit card payment. Very friendly and helpful host, who clearly wants to please.
Free parking area and good free wifi. Certainly recommended for a business trip.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very big, but the sun shines in very early in the morning (3.30 in summer months). Great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Went with daughter. She said she couldn't sleep cause too noisy at night -she was at front of house. My room was decent size, tiny shower but water hot. Large crack in ceiling was a bit worrying. Lots of dust in cupboards and shelf, generally room not reassuringly clean . Some shelves about to fall off. WiFi very temperamental in my part of the house. TV too small really. Breakfast was fine. Man was very friendly though charged extra for credit card which I don't think was advertised up front.
Cheap and cheerful but wouldn't go back I'm afraid.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I called up very late at night and I was very pleased to get a room at such a short notice. The price was very reasonable and condition of the facilities exceeded my expectations. Amazing breakfast to start the next day! overall very happy, and I would recommend that place to anyone looking for a good quality great value B&B in Dundee.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here with our 3 year old son whilst visiting friends in Dundee for our wedding anniversary and where very pleased with the cleanliness, size and overall standard of the rooms. The service was very friendly and welcoming without being obtrusive and the cooked breakfast was one of the best I have enjoyed for some time.

The owner was particularly helpful and kept us well informed of local activities and places to eat during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I agree with the reviewer who gave 3 stars, however, I would be struggling to match that. I found the room grubby to put it mildly. The bed linen appeared to be clean, thank goodness, but the carpet had a large stain on it, the plugs, sockets and skirting boards were thick with dust. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have ever tried to sleep on, the pillow brick hard. The en suite was very, very tired - the shower looked run down and dirty - I decided not to use it. The toilet roll was the cheapest paper and looked as if it had been driopped in water (I hope) and then dried off. The breakfast table was dirty, the mats were stained and the spoon in the sugar bowl encrusted with dried on sugar and something yellow. The owner was pleasant but the experience was not. I hate giving negative reviews as I know this is someone's business, but really, they need to try much harder than this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Host was informative and polite. Room was tired even though he advised us that it was the best room in the house. Bathroom was in need of renovation. TV was a nightmare to try to work and for the most part we just gave up. No airconditioning in the room, just windows. Bed was not comfy. Breakfast was made to order, but smell of cooking was overpowering EVERYWHERE in the house, so if you don't like the smell of bacon being cooked, stay away. Full cooked breakfast was flling. Location was ideal for what we wanted. Not somewhere that we would consider going back to, but good if on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Errolbank Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Errolbank Guesthouse

Address: 9 Dalgleish Road, Dundee DD4 7JN , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Errolbank Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Errolbank Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Errolbank Guesthouse Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Errolbank Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.