We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balgowan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balgowan House to your Saves list
Balgowan House
510 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1LW, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Dundee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

All round top place. Great rooms. Amazingly comfortable bed and bath room bigger than most hotel bedrooms! Highly recommend!

Richie and His Lovely Dog gave us a warm welcome. The room was fabulous with views across the river. Truly smashing place. We will be back! Rich and Annika.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
33
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The house itself is stunning, a turn of the century Dundee traders house. Huge Ceilings ornate plaster work and huge rooms. Well decorated and comfortable throughout. Full Scottish breakfast tasty and not over bearing just the right start to the day.
Unfortunately, i could only just see to the other bank of the Tay, but the gardens and beyond to the Botanical Gardens just gave the briefest glimpse of a spectacular view. Will have to come back on my next visit to Dundee for the welcome, the quality, the comfort and to see that view. Excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for five nights for the Ladies Ricoh Golf Open at St Andrews, this is in our top two of all time B & B's and a definite stay when we are back up this way in the future. Friendly hosts Ritchie & Helen plus Brora the very well behaved dog. We had the superior room which was very spacious even with a large comfy King Size Bed that could have slept four with large en-suite bathroom and an unbelievable breathtaking view across the River Tay. The house is very tastefully decorated in keeping with it's original period features. The full cooked breakfast by the highly informative Ritchie is highly recommended to start the day ahead.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This was an amazing find. An elegantly decorated house with original period features, including beautiful stained glass windows. An extremely warm, relaxed welcome from Richie our host, who also cooked a delicious breakfast the following morning. The views from our huge room were breathtaking- looking straight across the estuary. The room itself was extremely comfortable and very well equipped, with the biggest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel anywhere. Probably the nicest place we've stayed in a long time.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The house is beautiful, the rooms are large and well appointed and the decoration shows the thought the owners have taken to show the property at its best both for themselves and their guests.
The service provided by the hosts was exceptional even though their was a slight problem with the booking, but then computers are only as good as the information that is input. A couple of phonecalls and a box of chocolates later and the problem was sorted.
Breakfast is served with a smile and genuine friendly banter.
Balgowan House is the only place to stay in Dundee, if you can get a room.

Room Tip: Room 3 - with a view over the botanical gardens and the Tay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at Balowan House on a tour of the Royal palaces and castles in Scotland and couldn't have wished for better accommodation. Richie was very helpful and informative and although we arrived early we received a very warm welcome from both Richie and Brora, the dog. We had a lovely room with beautiful views over the Botanic Gardens and the River Tay. Cannot praise this guest house enough and would recommend it to anyone visiting Dundee. Lucky Amelie Dora May!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My parents and I traveled through Scotland to celebrate their 54th anniversary and we had the wonderful treat of staying at the Balgowan House in Dundee for 2 nights. Richie has lovingly restored this amazing old house and it is simply amazing. The wide staircase leads to the room with beautiful stained glass windows along the way. The rooms are large and beautiful, with great en suite bathrooms. The big wonderful beds are so comfortable. The breakfast room has wonderful furnishings, including an old church pew from St. Giles Cathedral in Edinburgh. Richie couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming. He recommended a couple of stops on our journey, and gave us such helpful info. This is a fabulous B&B and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balgowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balgowan House

Address: 510 Perth Road, Dundee DD2 1LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balgowan is a beautiful mansion house set in Dundee's prime West End location. Built circa 1900, the house boasts many period features and has recently been sympathetically modernized to keep this original feel while offering 21st century living. We offer a very friendly service, large comfortable rooms, some with 180 degrees panoramic views over the botanical gardens and the River Tay. Probably the best views in Dundee! Our single/twin rooms have deluxe single beds and our double rooms have deluxe kingsize beds to ensure you have a perfect nights sleep. We are located 1 mile East of the main A90 Edinburgh to Aberdeen Road; 2 miles West from the City Centre and our garden borders the botanical gardens. We are just 10 minute walk from Dundee airport and Ninewells hospital and 20 minutes drive from the famous golf courses of St Andrews and Carnousite. A perfect spot for touring, working or just relaxing with friends in Dundee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balgowan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balgowan House Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balgowan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.