We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat drink and stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fort Hotel

The Fort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Fort Hotel to your Saves list
The Fort Hotel
48 - 60 Fort Street, Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat drink and stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Just a quick review for the Fort Hotel.. A modern, well run bar/restaurant/hotel in Broughty Ferry, Dundee.
Recently refurbished to an excellent standard. The beers are very good and the bar is very welcoming. The menu possibly lacks a bit of inspiration but what we had was good.
Give it a try, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
6
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Uphall, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night on the 6th June 2014, absolutely beautiful. The hotel is very clean it has bang up to date decor, in fact the decor is stunning all over rooms, bar, lounge, steak house. Food is amazingly presented with a personal touch to it and tastes amazing! Staff all very friendly and you feel welcomed as if you were a local. The owner John was a great host always about if you needed him (which we never) and he is so dedicated to the venue. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will for sure return for a weekend. Great work John and all staff lovely place you have.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is great, stayed here as part of a wedding group. Wedding was at the Glass Pavillion and the staff at the Fort couldn't have been better. Arrived at 00:30 with no problem, nothing was too much trouble. I was in the ground floor disabled twin room, only just refurbished and was outstanding. Huge wet room bathroom with shower.
Food - we had breakfast here and Betty a long standing employee looked after everyone with ease and again any request was accommodated, after breakfast which was very laid back Betty was found on reception and kept making sure we were OK and was our room OK.
I can t praise the hotel staff any more, there are flats attached near the original hotel and some of our party were allocated to these, again only good things were said about these rooms/flats

can't wait to return in the summer when I revisit my friends

Room Tip: grd floor disable room huge wet room bathroom, 21 however you hear everyone going to breakast as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have been using this hotel primarily for business for over 15 years. It is great to be treated as a person, not a room number, and the staff always go the extra mile, whether it be a special breakfast order, or going to the wholsalers to get a box of Lees Macaroon bars to take back to England.

The whole hotel has just been completely refurbished, and the standard is really good. Much better than staying at one of the chains, where you have no idea which country let alone which town you are in.

Room Tip: Because the hotel has a lively bar, the top rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I spent 2 nights last week at the Fort. I come to Scotland on Business frequently, and when I am on the East Coast of Scotland I look no further for Accommodation than the FORT! For me it is the staff and the management that make it so special, nothing is too much for them to make your stay all you wished it to be. The Hotel itself has gone through, and indeed is going through at present, a programme of top class refurbishment, all aimed at making the guests stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. The Restaurant serves a good menu of tasty wholesome quality food which wont disappoint, and their breakfasts will set you up for whatever your day has in store.
If like me you are bored with the faceless hotel chains in the UK I recommend the Fort for your stay as a Hotel with its own character and characters, and I look forward to visiting for many more years to come.

Room Tip: Tell them what you want from your room and the Staff will make certain you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

While staying at the best western woodlands hotel in Brough ferry we had to go and wash and dry our clother's , but we got there expecting to do it our selves, but the woman said come back in just under 2 hrs , so we said any place for us to have a sit down meal??? She directed us to the ' The Fort' we'll loverly warm fire to sit by we ordered 2 roast beef and Yorkshire pudding and veggies, well expecting little Yorkshire pudding's, but where we surprised the plate was a large oval one and the Yorkshire pudding was resting on top with the roast beef and gravy was on the middle with the veggies around the edge, then we had ordered 2 pint's of Pepsi max, do want ice? We have homemade sticky date pudding with ice - cream or fresh cream if your interested? ( we had the same pudding at our last hotel but this twice as big and the ice- cream was not a small helping) the young female was very friendly, and quick to make sure you didn't sit there with empty and dirty dishes in front of you? After we had finished she bought the bill?, Can I ask you are you paying by English sterling or Australian dollars? Dollars ok here is your bill on English pounds ? Also as you will the manager has deducted I meal as we have a but one get one free deal we thoroughly enjoyed the meal and The service once it was sorted out, we thank her very much, and said this is for you and gave her a £1 tip she was Gob smacked, looks like she doesn't get many tips like that? Next stop to pick up washing, very reasonable sorry I decided to sort your washing out into two piles? Then home by taxi very enjoyable night,

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is not a hotel, it is a pub with rooms. very nice refurbished rooms, but its not a hotel.
Its a very busy pub where regulars are more important than paying guests.
Food was unexceptional standard pub fayre.
It is expensive for what it is (pub with rooms) at £85 bed and breakfast.
One positive note - I was not disturbed by noise from the bar.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe across the road and up the street are clean and new but are like college rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fort Hotel

Address: 48 - 60 Fort Street, Broughty Ferry, Dundee DD5 2AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Fort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fort Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.