We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for the outdoor family.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forbes of Kingennie

Save Saved
You added Forbes of Kingennie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Forbes of Kingennie
Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 hotels in Dundee
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for the outdoor family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We recently visited Forbes of Kingennie for a weeks stay. We visit Scotland every year for a week in May and although we love the country we have often found the level of service and the variety of food a little underdeveloped in places . This was not the case at Forbes of Kingennie the staff were very friendly and welcoming and were genuinely interested in making our stay enjoyable, the choice of food standard of service and value for money were outstanding. The fishing lakes are well stocked and very accessible and the guys in the fishing/golf shop were very helpful. The golf course was in excellent condition and was a fun and interesting little course which included junior tees and was great value (We got a weekly ticket). The restaurant and bar areas were clean modern and well presented. The lodge was in a nice private situation and was very comfortable. We also used the excellent coastal cycle route to go to St Andrews and Abroath and visited Glamis Castle and the Discovery museum in Dundee. I would

Room Tip: I would prefer one of the lodges in the woods as they are a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am very pleased to hear your comments which I have shared with the team here at Kingennie. I am very proud of the staff here at the resort and delighted that they made the stay enjoyable for you. Great to hear you managed to make use of the facilities here and visit the many attractions surrounding Kingennie. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    25
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
65
37
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broughty Ferry Dundee
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Super lunch again Will return to sample more The setting is fantastic and nothing ever seems any trouble Was busy so would advise booking at weekends or peak times Good quality food and very good service

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. I am delighted to hear your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I were bowled over by the scenery looking from the Restaurant . The food was extremely good, freshly made to order. The service was very good. We would certainly recommend this restaurant to all our friends and acquaintances.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Kingennie. I am delighted to hear your comments and especially pleased to hear you will be recommending us to your friends. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I were fortunate to receive an "itison" voucher for our tenth wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic lunch and the staff could not have done more to help. Although we are local to the area, we have never visited Forbes of Kingennie before, but I am certain today will not be our last meal enjoyed there! Thanks to Carlo for looking after us so well

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your first visit to Kingennie. I am delighted to hear you had a fantastic lunch and we very much look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My family and I have visited for meals on a number of occasions and have always been very satisfied with all aspects of the restaurant. The menu is extensive and includes a fair number of gluten free options - something which many hotels/restaurants are not good at! The staff are friendly and attentive without being pushy and the quality of food is excellent and freshly prepared to order. Ambiance is peaceful and the country setting with the adjacent loch is a beautiful example of Scottish countryside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am very proud of the team here at Kingennie and am delighted to hear that they continue to look after you well. I look forward to seeing you many more times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a terrific golf day out at Kingennie. Lovely course well laid out with plenty of challenges. We played 9 holes and went in for a great lunch and then back on the course for another 9. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We didn't stay at the resort but the property looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent isit. I am delighted to hear your comments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Sampled the Sunday high tea menu with friends.The food was excellent and remember no frozen chips here -there hand cut.Plenty of top ups of tea or coffee with lovely cakes to finish with.This experience topped with friendly and professional staff met my groups needs and expectations.
I would recommend this eating house without hesitation.
We will certainly return again.

.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingennie, General Manager at Forbes of Kingennie, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am very pleased to hear your comments and delighted you will be recommending us. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Forbes of Kingennie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forbes of Kingennie

Address: Kingennie, Dundee dd53rd, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dundee
#11 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for an activity holiday with family and friends, a romantic short break, the perfect wedding venue, or somewhere to celebrate that special event, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort has it all. With top-class golf and fishing on the estate, the peaceful and unspoiled environment is also home to some of the very best luxury woodland and lochside lodges in Scotland. Its location makes it the perfect spot to explore Scotland's glorious countryside or play a round or two at the world's best know golf courses nearby. Conference and business meetings and events are all catered for, while sister company Corporate Kingennie can create memorable and effective team building or corporate days out. In the heart of the countryside, Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort nevertheless enjoys easy access to major towns and cities. Dundee is only 6 miles away, while Edinburgh, Perth and Aberdeen are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Forbes of Kingennie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forbes Of Kingennie Hotel Dundee
Forbes Of Kingennie Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forbes of Kingennie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.