We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunlaw House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dunlaw House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunlaw House Hotel
10 Union Terrace, Dundee DD3 6JD, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Dundee
Strabane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel on several occasions when visiting my son who is a student in Dundee and I prefer a hotel with some individuality, which the Dunlaw House has in abundance.

Rooms are not overly large but are what should be expected from an old house although they are well decorated, comfortable and have all the amenities required.

Breakfast has always been excellent and an ideal start to the day.

The hotel is on a steep hill and slightly out of the way but this makes for an extremely quiet night with no passing traffic.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
11
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

They had availability for me at short notice, which I very much appreciated as I was traveling for a conference and didn't have time during the day to find another place. My room was a single on the ground floor, and although it was tight quarters, I have never slept in a more comfortable bed in my life! The room had a tv, wardrobe and wash basin, as well as tea/coffee facilities. There was a toilet on the ground floor down the hall, and a shared shower/bath on the first floor landing, both of which were clean. Breakfast didn't start being served until 8, which was a little later than I would have preferred, as I had to catch a bus to St Andrew's for my conference, but the food was good and the hostess was very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. I would NOT recommend walking here from the city centre/train station/bus depot, as it is all up a very steep hill and quite a way. Once there, though, the view was nice and the garden would have been lovely had it not been typical Scottish weather.

Room Tip: The single Monchan Suite on the ground floor has the best bed I've ever slept on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Booked for one night. On arrival I asked if I could have breakfast at 7.45 or a sandwich as they dont serve breakfast until 8am, this was agreed but in the morning I arrived for breakfast at 7.40am but there was no-one there, there were cereals etc, but no milk.
I waited but decided to go at 7.55 without breakfast.
Slept with my clothes on all night as there was no heating and it was the end of October in Scotland!
Never again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoboDundee_Scotland, Owner at Dunlaw House Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Have just noticed this review and would like to respond to it as follows
We note that it was written by a "Rose"Donald - well it was in fact a male that stayed that night
We would point out that he could not find staff as they were in fact trying to relight the boiler as they found the heating to be off (later found it was the "Solanoid" that was at fault)
However, we would also like to point out that it was a "Gentleman" and not a lady who occupied the twin room that night and HE had the facilities of two duvets and two extra blankets at his disposal to keep warm and should not have needed to sleep in his clothes
We do regret that it was unfortunate that he did not experience our excellent Scottish .Breakfasts To finalise, we would like it noted by Trip Advisor that said "gentleman" in fact gave us the wrong numbers for his credit card and payment was not made for this stay !!
We should therefore be grateful if you could consider removing this bad report
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We went for the spet weekend, we hadnt booked in advance as we thought we would just go a drive and stay where we ended up. We struggled to find anywhere for a sat night and started to regret. We looked up on the sat nav and seen Dunlaws we rang and they had avalibility. As we were arriving we couldnt figure out how to get into the street as its all oneway and both ends were no entry so we parked out on the hill and walked round the owner answered the door, lovely fella and showed us to our HUGE room. We were so excited. We were allowed to park on the yellow lines just outside it. We settled in and were so amazed at the size. We had a queen size bed, en suite with bath and seperate shower. The decor is old fashioned, floral curtains and carpet but suited the old victorian house and was so cute. We are a young couple but just loved it. Breakfast was amazing with fantastic choice of cereals, cooked breakfasts. And on request will make dinner. There is a bar there as well it all over looks the garden whihc they have awards and tropheys. It is in a quiet street far away from town centre but perfect for a quiet wknd away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Oh dear. I didn't have a pleaant stay here at all and wouldn't reccommend it. Perhaps some rooms are quite pleasant, but I was in a single attic room with a very lumpy bed, depresing lifeless decor, and the only source of heat a rather smelly old electric heater. I spent a cold, uncomfortable night here. It feels like the owners haven't put much love into the place.

But the breakfast was not bad, and the garden pretty.

  • Liked — the garden
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

This was a lovely place to stay in dundee. we choose the location as it was close to some relatives that live near by. it is quite a tough walk from town (uphill) so take this into consideration if you dont have a car, but it is do-able.
The gardens were lovely and the inside decore was lovely. Breakfast was also cooked to order, and it was a high quality and very filling. My only complaint was that the coffee was instant (and not very nice). the bathroom was tiny (we stayed in room with an ensuite for 60 pounds/night) but that is common in europe. It was nice to have a television. the owners were very helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — comfort, value for money, views, friendly
  • Disliked — instant coffee form breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunlaw House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlaw House Hotel

Address: 10 Union Terrace, Dundee DD3 6JD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dundee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dundee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dundee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Scottish Tourist Board **hotel, in quiet terrace close to City centre, lovely garden. Individually styled rooms, freshly cooked breakfasts. Dunlaw House is family run and friendly place to stay - contact Douglas or Barbara Robbie. Douglas also specialises in golf parties and has knowledge of over 60 courses within a half hour drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunlaw House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlaw House Hotel Dundee, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunlaw House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.