We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only there were more like Bridge House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moffat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridge House
Save
You added Bridge House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Well Road, Moffat DG10 9JT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Moffat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shreveport, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If only there were more like Bridge House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's far past the time when I should have written this review, because it is very well-deserved. We stayed at Bridge House with another couple in June, 2012. The rooms were gorgeous, spacious, and clean, with wonderful views. The breakfast and hospitality were excellent. We definitely plan to return here.

If I could always find a lodging place up to these standards on our travels, I would be ecstatic!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in a superior room on a Friday travelling to the Isle of Skye and on a Saturday coming back. I can only agree with other reviewers. Carol runs a great place. She is warm and friendly, but not overbearing. Little touches, like a jug of fresh milk for tea brought up to our room within a minute of arriving, and a help-yourself bowl of sweets on the landing. On the Friday, they weren't doing meals, so we ate at Claudios which is a ten minute walk. Do look it up, it's a good Italian restaurant in Moffat. On the saturday stay, Michael was cooking. There was a choice of three starters, three main courses and two puddings. So not the usual 'this is what we are going to give you' attitude. My wife and I had different choices and both were good - really tasty and well presented and good value at £35. And they have sensibly priced wines. My only reservation is that if Bridge House gets too many good reviews, we might not be able to get in next time! Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: When booking ask whether they are doing an evening meal. The superior rooms at the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful guest house with plenty of original features.
Very convenient location in a quiet neighbourhood with parking on-site.
Very welcoming atmosphere, the owners couldn't do enough for us without being intrusive.
Clean, comfortable and bright room with an even more comfortable bed!
Brilliant breakfast, great selection, the freshly grilled kippers were fantastic.
Will definitely return when on our next trip up to Scotland!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed over night in March 2012 and was so impressed we immediately booked a week in September 2012. It was excellent. Lovely food, great comfort and quiet. The hosts just want you to have a relaxing time and they are very friendly and helpful. We will be back which appears to happen with many people who have stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I would strongly recommend Bridge House to anyone. It was perfectly located - the area was quiet but only a short walk from Moffat, which is itself a great 'base camp' for seeing the surrounding places of interest - with private parking. As a host, Carol was great - friendly and knowledgable about the local area without being intrusive or imposing. We stayed for 5 nights and found the room clean and fresh, the bed super-comfortable and the breakfast tasty and filling - even my fussy food requests were catered for without a quibble. We weren't allowed to smoke within the house, but were thoughtfully provided with an ashtray and umbrella for when it rained outside. Bridge House was so close to a '5' but there were a few little details that needed tweaking: our Superior Double room had been beautifully decorated in chic shades of mushroom, cream and heather but the garish yellow wallpaper from the room's previous colour scheme had been left on behind the shutters, and the pelmet on one pair of curtains was falling down at one side and uneven; the brass rail on the stairs needed a good polish and we really ought to have been shown where the light switches were on the landing, as tackling those stairs in the near-dark was a bit unnerving. These were only minor issues, though, and I would happily stay there again in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Lovely country house. had a great stopover en route to Scotland for a wedding. Rooms small, but clean and with some nice touches. Pretty town and handy location.Restaurant was closed on the day we visited, but a short walk into the pretty town and found an excellent Indian restaurant. Extremely good value stopover.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I think the other reviews say it all very well, excellent property very well maintained to a high standard. Carol & Michael are most welcoming and the food is tasty, hot and served promptly. We will definetlly return to stay here again, if anything could be improved then maybe wireless Internet would be helpfull. Thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge House

Address: Well Road, Moffat DG10 9JT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Hotel Class:4 star — Bridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Guesthouse Offering Quality Bed & Breakfast in Moffat, Scotland.Bridge House is an impressive 1854 Victorian villa run as a luxury guesthouse. It has been carefully renovated to offer modern amenities whilst retaining its charm and elegance. Each room is tastefully decorated with its own style and character, from the grand four-poster and superior double rooms, to the comfortable standard twin, double, and family rooms. All rooms feature en-suite bathrooms, TVs and tea/coffee-making facilities. Most rooms enjoy beautiful views of the Moffat hills.Bridge House also offers an award-winning restaurant, serving the best of local produce, with an exceptional selection of wines and whiskeys. A full Scottish breakfast, or lighter option is included in the price of a room.There are various quaint shops, cafes and interesting buildings to explore in Moffat village. For the more adventurous, within a short distance there are lots of activities to keep you entertained which you can read more about in the local activities page. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridge House Moffat, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.