We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rumblin Tum

The Rumblin Tum
3 Bath Place, Moffat DG10 9HJ, Scotland
01683 221962
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 20 restaurants in Moffat
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Friday 2nd May for breakfast. Good choice! For £6.95 there was egg, tattie scone, haggis, tomato, beans, bacon and sausage with toast, orange juice and tea or coffee! All served piping hot and by very pleasant staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    9
    16
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DUMFRIES
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visited here today with friends and found place clean and tidy. Staff very attentive although seemed a long time for coffee to come. Would certainly visit again when in area

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An enjoyable late lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoyed a tasty bowl of homemade soup and sandwich with a friendly service at a reasonable price. Recommended. Many thanks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Waiting for our order to be taken.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We entered the cafe and sat at a clean table near the rear, 2 staff were clearing adjoining tables and gossiping between themselves. A third member of staff came up to them waving a fiver about to tell them of the large tip they had received.

After a least 5 minutes one of the staff at last decided to take some orders, she took orders from three couples who had entered the restaurant some time after us.

On asking the waitress why she had not taken our order she replied "I thought you had been served". I explained that I thought she should have concentrated on her job and not been gossiping.

We voted with our feet.

I have walked out of a few restaurants due to poor food but never before our order was taken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get off the M74!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited the Rumblin Tum twice in the last six months as a refuge from the motorway.
Good honest food served pleasantly and promptly. Can't really ask for more on a brief stop off.
Well worth the detour to fill up on 'proper' food.
Toilets are first class. Why don't more establishments realise that you need a paper towel to properly dry your hands with a hot air dryer? Well done Rumblin Tum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rumblin Tum also viewed

Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Rumblin Tum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rumblin Tum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.