We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Waste of Time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Annandale Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Annandale Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Annandale Arms Hotel
High Street | Dumfries and Galloway, Moffat DG10 9HF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Moffat
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Year Waste of Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed in the annex which did not look good from the outside and it was almost as cold inside as it was outside. There was no wardrobe for your clothes. The room smelt of damp. The kettle didn't turn it's self off and so it boiled dry. We had to get a fan heater from reception and still the room was cold. The bar staff left us waiting for drinks whilst she went off for 20 mins. They forgot us in the restaurant for ages so we had finished a bottle of wine before we had any food. For saying it was new years eve there was no music or and festive feel to the hotel at all. A total disappointment in every way. We left the next day it was so bad.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmyMac333, General Manager at Annandale Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us last January. It was ten months ago, but we remember you well. We had a cracking good Hogmanay. You only have to look at the postings on Trip Advisor that were written at the time. New Year’s Eve in the hotel revolves around our AA rosette awarded restaurant and if the TA postings are to be believed the chefs excelled themselves. Much of the fun of Hogmanay comes from interaction with fellow guests as well as the local people.

We are not a terribly formal place, but if asked if we have a dress code: smart casual would cover it. Having said that in Scotland guests do tend to put on their glad rags at Hogmanay which is perhaps something we should have let you know. In the light of this I can quite understand that you both felt a little self conscious among your fellow diners. Time does tend to drag in these situations.

I am also sad that you felt you had to retire to your bedroom so early. Things did not really kick off until later with the bells, the fireworks and pipers etc. The fireworks were spectacular this year. I thought they were going to blow the chimney pots off the hotel. You missed a really good show.

I note that you have posted a picture of your bedroom door. You will see that a new lock had just been fitted as with all the doors through out the hotel. This was part of a rolling schedule of maintenance and upgrading that started three years ago and was completed this summer with the outside decoration. The new locks are for your safety so that guests can exit the room without the need for a key. We had hoped this work would have been completed earlier but that is the way of building work. The outside of the hotel has now been completely repainted and is looking pretty smart. The door to your room is now a soft shade of grey.

I spoke to your partner at check out. We talked for sometime as he mentioned he was a plumber. Plumbers and hoteliers share a certain symbiotic relationship. During this conversation I enquired of him if everything was alright. He told me he was very happy and settled his bill in full. He informed me it was purely for family reasons that you both had been called away early. He assured me it was nothing to do with the hotel.

I can only reiterate that I am sorry you felt a bit out of things and were unable to partake with us and the other guests in enjoying a cracking good New Year. We wish you both all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    57
    14
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
116
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
edinburghscotland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay on 11th to 14th October. The accommodation was very good the food supberb and we were well looked after by Elaine and the other staff who gave us first class service. We will definitely be back again..

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed at the hotel on the way to and from Wildside Lodges near Loch Ness to break up the journey from Derbyshire for our dog (and us too).
Despite being short staffed the staff were extremely accommodating; setting up a breakfast table in the foyer for us and the dog (breakfast is normally served in the restaurant).
There is a nice modern restaurant and sofa seating area to either side of the Reception.
3 course breakfast, good evening bar meals reasonably priced. Bar more traditionally furnished with interesting photographs, newspapers and no music, a pleasant change. Guest Ales and whiskey of the month.
We can recommend the wee haggis balls to start and either poachers pie or steamed salmon to follow. The sticky toffee pudding was absolutely divine - highly recommended at £5.50, I had an extra spoon to share my partner's pudding (he wasn't thrilled).
Free parking behind the hotel. Grassed area beyond to exercise dogs but short, level walk to nearby field 10 mins. (details in hotel info pack).
The room we had was spacious, clean, warm and with comfortable beds & pillows and extra blankets. Linen, complimentary shampoo, soap and body wash and towels were provided. The room was equipped with TV, complimentary bottled water, sweets, tea, coffee & biscuits. Dressing area with large mirror and wardrobe. Hairdryer provided. The beds do have foot boards though so not suitable for those over 6' tall, fortunately ours had a double and single so my partner slept horizontally on the double. Perhaps not ideal for a romantic break with a tall person but overall very good. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed at hotel in September on our way to taking son to Uni. Staff were lovely and attentive without being obtrusive. Dinner and breakfast were fabulous with a good choice and good wine list. Safe parking. All in all, a delight!
Thank you, we will stay again and we will recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We spent one night at the Annandale Arms to end a short break further north in Scotland. It had not been our first choice of hotel, but we were very pleased despite this. We stayed in one of the garden rooms, which was unfortunately a smoking room (the hotel was very busy the night we booked, so we didn't ask to change). However, the room had been well aired and cleaned so there was only a faint smell of smoke, and it wasn't enought for us to ask to move as we have in other hotels. We chose to stay at the hotel for our evening meal as there are not many independent restaurants in Moffat (most are located in hotels such as ours). The food was fantastic and reasonably priced. Breakfast was included in our stay, which was also fantastic and immense if you decided to have the lot!
Above all of this was the friendly service that we received, there was a feeling that the staff could not do too much for you. We intend to stay there again when we travel back to Moffat, as it will definitely be our first choice next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed here on our way from England to the Highlands, and it was just gorgeous. Moffat is a great place to stop, a town with a lots of history and intersting buildings, and really very close for you to get to from the motorway.

The food at dinner and at breakfast was especially noteworthy. Local, fresh, organic ingredients cooked really well. Very pleasant. The hotel rooms were decorated in a modern and contemporary style and the beds were very comfortable. Not very spacious twin room, but perfectly adequate for a single night, and the bathroom was lovely and large!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

booked dbb for birthday treat. room was very poor, stains all over carpet. shower held together with black tape unable to adjust height of shower so had to crouch down. dinner, well we were seated at 6pm and not had pudding at 8pm??? service in dining room really poor. same with breakfast very slow. good point when the food came it was very good. the bar area is not very welcoming, there was 1 staff member who kept running in and out eating her dinner then serving, no music no atmosphere. dont know if we got a crap room because we had a £158.00 deal, however they didnt mention it would be below standards, they make out its a special offer. IN NO WAY WAS THIS ACCOMODATION SPECIAL

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Annandale Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annandale Arms Hotel

Address: High Street | Dumfries and Galloway, Moffat DG10 9HF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the M74/M6 motorway the Annandale Arms Hotel has stoud proudly in the centre of Moffat for 250 years. With an excellent restaurant serving local fresh Scottish produce in a robust modern British style, combined this with an extensive wine list and you have a winning combination. The rooms are comfortable and quiet, the bar has over fifty malt whiskiesand there is a large private carpark. This family run hotel is certainly worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Annandale Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annandale Arms Moffat
Annandale Arms Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annandale Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.