We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order a pie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Hotel

Star Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Star Hotel to your Saves list
Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   44 High St, Moffat DG10 9EF, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Moffat B&B and Inns
Brough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Order a pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had called in on our way back from Oban, as it was the half-way point on our way home. We had never been to Moffat before so it was pot luck where we ate. We decide on a traditional pub lunch and both of us ordered the pie on the recommendation of the friendly bar staff. We was not disappointed. For any lovers of home made pies ( beef, venison or chicken ) these will take some beating.

Friendly, clean and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    29
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
36
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went for a bar lunch to the star hotel last Sunday.when we first arrived the lady behind the bar didn't even greet us and when we ordered it was as if we were bothering her. The truly worst part of the experience was the food.my partner ordered the chicken New Yorker which we expected (as the menu listed!)to be chicken with cheese BBQ sauce wrapped in bacon.what arrived was something I wouldn't even serve to a dog.the chicken looked like it had been regurgitated in a thick brown sauce which looked disgusting and tasted just as bad.do not go here! head across the road to the buccleuch hotel, the food is so much better and is of a similar price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a short break over new year, the hotel was extremely well kept with everyone being very friendly. The room we had was very small with a tight bathroom and a sink in the room. The breakfasts were great plentyfull and well cooked, as was the other food available in the hotel. Whilst in Moffat we also visted the blackbull for lunch, something we would recomend, and across the road was the Buccleuch Arms hotel for a meal that was also very good with very friendly staff. We went there for new year and whilst not the mass of bodies in Edinburgh it was a good experience, the celebrations seem to start in most parts of the town during the day then just before 12 everyone in the town from a push chair to a wheel chair goes to the town square some armed with champers to celebrate with each other and watch the fireworks. Once this has happened they all gradually return to the pubs or in our case hotel to celebrate further. certainly worth seeing if you have not before. All in all a good time in a small and friendly hotel

Room Tip: Room 6 looks like its a good size and to the front so if you want a bit more space might be worth re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We chose to stay here as a half way point for staying with friends in Cheshire. The deal was very good - family room for £90 B&B for 4. Good value. The welcome was warm and efficiient and the room size was terrific - much more than we expected. We decided to eat in having had a quick look at the menu and we were not disappointed. Nothing out of the ordinary on the menu, but all dishes were excellent and very good value. Breakfast was terrific too.
We were so impressed we stopped on the way home, 4 days later for a quick cuppa.
Thoroughly enjoyable and well worth a stay, Staff were attentive and friendly. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Call here while on holiday and ended up eating here every night.
Excellent food that could not be faulted.
We were served by courteous friendly staff and the service was swift .
The hotel had a great atmosphere.
A gem of a place...we will return again and again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We truly enjoyed our overnight stay at this hotel.
Staff welcoming and friendly, also lovely atmosphere.
Rooms dated but importantly clean.
Enjoyed an evening meal here and breakfast was substantial.
Would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went to scotland to surprise family, they took us to moffat and told us we had to come here, and by god we are glad we did. Very cossy place for a drink then we went up stairs for food. Great service, great atmosphere and vwry comfortable. Defo got to go here if you get a chance

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: 44 High St, Moffat DG10 9EF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Moffat, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.