We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike friendly B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buchan Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Buchan Guest House to your Saves list
Buchan Guest House
Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Moffat B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bike friendly B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Lovely place, super breakfast and great friendly people. Chris opened the garage for the bike as soon as we arrived and Brenda gave us a warm welcome. The room was really nice and comfortable, nice to sit and have a coffee in the lounge of an evening. Brenda brought in and folded some kit after it had dried on the line. Had long chats about the area and roads to ride, good choices by the way. We had a very good time and would recommend it to anyone wanting a base to ride around the area. Will definitely go back again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

my friends and i stayed here,after one of the group booked it for us as he had stayed before,i could not fault the place,the rooms are spotless,even if the decor is a bit old style,i was sharing a room with a mate,it had a double bed and a single,the shower room was fairley small,but lacked nothing,and was full of soaps and shower gels,and big warm soft towels.
the berakfast was massive,and lots of chice,it was nice to be given a menu the night before so we could choose what wee wanted,i had the full scotish with haggis and my freinds had the poched smocked haddock,but you could have had kippers,lots of fresh coffe and ceriel to chose from as well.
the two owners were lovly people,and alowed us to put our four motorbikes in his garage locked up for the night,i can really recomend this place.

Room Tip: first floor has a nice lounge to sit and watch telly or use the free wifi to do some work
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is my second stay at this guest house and it just can`t be faulted. 4 of us on motorbikes and the garage door had been opened ready for our arrival so we could put the bikes straight in. The rooms are so lovely and clean and the hosts are just so welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, any information you need they will go out of there way to find it out for you. The breakfast is to die for there is so much choice, it really is a place you must try. We will certainly be going back there again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed one night here, but wish we had time to stay longer. We arrived by cycle, dripping wet. Brenda gave us a warm welcome, the bikes were immediately stowed in the secure garage and our stuff magically dried whilst we played scrabble and drank tea in the guest lounge. After a great night’s sleep we had a wonderful breakfast, including careful attention to the gluten free diet of our travelling companion. We are already planning our next visit to Buchan Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We have just had a 3-night stay here and Brenda could not have been more helpful and thoughtful. Her husband had been called away but she coped wonderfully. Our room was spotless and everything was thought about for visitors.The breakfasts were brilliant too.
Will visit again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & wear
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had been camping at Torvaig Camping Site, Portree, Isle of Skye in Scotland, and were planning on camping again this time in Moffat, but the weather was against us as we had non stop rain from Fort William, and being on a motorbike was not the best thing for bad weather. We were totally soaked to the skin, so needed somewhere to stay the night. When we arrived at the Buchan Brenda was very welcoming and understanding of our predicament. She offered us a room straight away and the £65 for the room was very reasonable. She also straight away saw that we had tea and coffee in the room, and that the heating was on in the room to dry out our gear. If we had wanted to we could have gone to the next floor up where there was a sitting area for guests to relax. We were very pleased that there was a garage for guests on bikes at the back of the guest house, so that we could have the bike undercover, as well as secure.

The room was lovely, very warm, spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was also very spacious.

We were offered a time of when we would like breakfast the next morning which is between 8 - 9, and we chose 8.30. The breakfast was lovely, very tasty, and filling.

We found all the staff at the Buchan very kind and friendly, and will definitely be staying again sometime in the future.

If your a biker looking for somewhere to stay with a warm welcome, we highly recommend the Buchan House, but would recommend ringing first as we were very lucky.

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms on the ground floor if you are and good access for wheelchairs or for people who h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport isle of wight
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have been coming to Buchan house for at least ten years. Moffat is the ideal place to stop over on the way further North and the welcome is always warm and friendly. Chris and Brenda do all they can to make sure your stay whether one night or more has everything for your comfort. Brendas' breakfasts are just what you need to set you up for a day of sightseeing in Edinburgh, lovely drive along the scenic route 701. The Grey Mares Tail and St. Marys loch on the Selkirk road is also a must to visit and up over Megat Dam brings you on a circular drive back to Moffat. The bedrooms(and we think we have stayed in almost all of them) are first class, and a big bonus is the lovely lounge where it's ideal for meeting traveling companions and other guests. This is a wonderful place to spend New Year as you can enjoy the atmosphere(and fireworks) and local pubs and restaurants. Chris is always more than happy to check out train/bus time tables and trafiic news for you. Breakfast is cooked to order by Brenda and has a good variety to choose from. This is such a wonderful place to stay and nothing is too much trouble for your comfort. Parking is easily available both in car park behind the house or on the street.

Room Tip: rooms suitable for all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buchan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Guest House

Address: Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very welcoming Guest House about 1 mile from junction 15 of M74. The ideal place to overnight on a long journey. 6 En suite bedrooms and a family suite of 2 bedrooms and shower room. Breakfast choices from light to hearty with numerous vegetarian options. Private parking with a space for every room. The only local guest house able to provide this. Large garage for multiple motor bikes or cycles. Free Wi Fi. Well stocked hospitality trays. Large guest lounge. Opposite the tennis courts & bowling green and within 5 minutes walk of about 10 places to eat in the evening. Pay by card, including Amex. Rates quoted are per adult. Discounts for children up to 16 years. Sorry but no pets please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Buchan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Guest House Moffat, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buchan Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.