We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Certificate of Excellence 2014
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed for just one night on our way home from Scotland and wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is a lovely old country house set right in the heart of the village. Our rooms 18 & 19 were on the ground floor in an adjacent wing at the front of the hotel. They were extremely spacious. Room No 18 had a four poster bed. We parked right outside the front door which made it easy for unpacking the luggage. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast excellent with the "Full Scottish" if required. We decided to eat at the hotel on the night we arrived and initialy booked into the dinning room however we found the menu to be more than we wanted. It was four courses at £25.95. per person so we changed to their bar meals and they were excellent.
We have usually only stopped at Moffat for a lunch break in the past but I will certainly consider making it a weekend break in the future as it is a handy place for touring the surrounding area. I highly reccommend this hotel !!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    110
    50
    19
    11
See reviews for
78
206
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stayed here as a quick overnight stay, but it would have been nice to be able to spend some more time in the area. The hotel is in a big old house, so has some of the features of such, squeaky floorboards, big doors and high ceilings.

The staff were nice and helpful.

WiFi signal around the building was poor and when we had a signal the internet speed was fairly slow.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

The warmth of welcome you got from the staff was special. Made us feel at home straight away. We were in the area for four days and the only negative comment was we did not book our whole stay with the hotel. Five minutes drive going towards Edinburgh from the hotel you enter some fantastic scenery.

We enjoyed our stay so much we will be booking our wedding reception with them.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paradise
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

my wife and i plus 2 friensa visited this hotel for dinner and an overnight.
Excellent experience
lovely warm comfortable room
excellent dinner
very good breakfast
friendly helpful staff

  • Liked — warm,clean and comfortable
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uddie
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We have just spent a fabulous overnight with friends here.The ambience of the hotel was warm and friendly helped by the cosy fires in both the lounge and dining room.The food was excellant and we were spoiled for choice with a very varied menu.I had never eaten wood pigeon or monk fish before and found them delicious.The sweets were to die for.The staff were delightful,pleasant and attended to our every need.Our bedroom was tastefully furnished with all the amenities that go to make a very comfortable stay.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We stayed for one night last week in order to break the journey on a trip up to Fort William for a family wedding.

We paid £149 for the night on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis and were upgraded to room 7 on the top floor which is a four poster room.

The room was clean and comfortable and of above average size with a view over the garden and fields to the rear. The TV however was small and a little temperamental but we only watched it for a few minutes for the evening news. The bathroom was clean and all that we needed but a little dated.

Both the dinner and breakfast were of good quality and tasty, they were well cooked and came just as ordered and the steak was just perfect. Also a good selection of wines and drinks and at very reasonable prices for a hotel.

Checking in and out was easy and the staff were attentive and pleasant throughout.

Large free car park at the front and although the hotel is going through minor refurbishment at the moment on the ground floor, particularly in the corridor leading to the bar and restaurant, it did not detract from our stay.

Moffat is a nice town, but understandably quiet at this time of the year, and this hotel would make a good base for touring the area.

Overall we enjoyed the stay and would have no hesitation in staying again if we are ever in the area.

  • Liked — Large bedroom
  • Disliked — Dated bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

On arrival, we were met with a roaring fire, mulled wine and cream tea
Rooms were smart and warm, The staff though would be the top of our praises, {we had a member of our party with the dreaded winter bug} they were ceaseless in their efforts to make her comfortable,The food was excellent with 8 courses on new year eve after champagne and canapes in another comfortable lounge

Full marks to the Lawson family and their team

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.