We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We booked a night here to break our journey home from Yorkshire.
A very warm welcome and the main house is lovely, I know its a trek up to the 2nd floor, but the house was built in the 1750's so what more can you expect.

The staircase is amazing! It was a bit of a hike for me, and I should have asked for a ground floor room, I'll remember next time:) Unfortunately they were full and couldn't change our room but it was rather charming

The garden has the most amazing oak tree in it and is well worth checking out.
We ate in the bar in the evening, a very tasty steak pie meal but I felt that the beer was a bit pricey.
Every member of staff did everything they could to help us and although the wifi was a bit iffy, what more can you expect, it was built in the 1750 and therefore quite understandable

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, ask for a downstairs room or one on the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Best Western Moffat House and many thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that your experience with us was most enjoyable and that you truly appreciated every aspect of your stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    97
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
176
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I stay here when on extended business trips as it is a useful break on a long journey. Having said that it is a great find! The rooms I have stayed in are small but quaint and well equipped. Everywhere is clean and tidy and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is good and well priced. I will continue to use this hotel whenever the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for completing a survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me directly

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to us.


Sincerely,

Ian Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

we had a silver wedding anniversary party at moffat house and it was great!
Ian and the staff were so helpful and nice throughout the whole experience, nothing was too much trouble and we can't praise them enough!
We had a carvery which was to so tasty, there was mounds of food, it was delicious, would highly recommend having a function/wedding st the hotel.
Plenty of room to move about, very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Best Western Moffat House and many thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that your experience with us was most enjoyable and that you truly appreciated every aspect of your party/stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had booked in advance and asked for a ground floor room, which is what we got. Parking was right outside the door to our room which was large and easy access. Huge room, huge bed, good seating, excellent shower and bath. Although we didn't need it, the room was equipped for disability and would have been ideal for a wheelchair user. We were greeted promptly and cheerfully and throughout our 24 hour stay the staff were very courteous and helpful. Dinner was good and plentiful as was our breakfast.
An excellent choice for an overnight stop, just a mile off the M74, or perhaps as a base for a longer look at the area.
Wifi was free but wasn't good in our room, not surprising really as the walls are two feet thick.
Perhaps the decor was a little frayed at the edges but this was far outweighed by ther pluses.

Room Tip: These easy access rooms are off the car park with a very short walk to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
I cannot begin to tell you how much your review means to each and every member of the team - a huge thank you. With our warmest good wishes, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the way back from the Commonwealth Games. It is situated on the main street and easy to find, with free off road parking. The rooms are well equipped and clean but in need of some attention and refurbishment. Food was good and well priced and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I will feed this back to the rest of the team who will be delighted, We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

We are at the moment upgrading the hotel bedrooms and as you can imagine summer is a very busy time for us to improve rooms, we completed half of the rooms last winter and unfortunately you were allocated one of the rooms that hasn't been upgraded yet. We will be completing the remaining rooms this coming winter.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to Leave feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to us.


Sincerely,

Ian Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We booked a package deal at short notice. I admit, I was a little anxious when I then read some of poor reviews prior to our arrival. I need not have worried, we were blown away by the staff who, without exception, were amazing. They made us feel like nothing was too much trouble.

We ate dinner, breakfast and lunch in the hotel. The choice and quality of the food surpassed our expectation, particularly breakfast which included quality local produce. For lunch we had the delicious traditional roast, which is clearly not a well kept secret because the dinning room was very busy.

If I were to find any fault, some of the decor was a little dated, but that is a very subjective observation and our room was immaculately clean. In addition the bedroom was large, with a very comfortable king size bed.

Many thanks guys you really made us feel special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Best Western Moffat House and many thanks for your kind words. It is great to hear that your experience with us was most enjoyable and that you truly appreciated every aspect of your stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of the team here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stopped overnight here on our way to the Highlands. It was a very warm evening and we sat outside on the terrace with our dog and had drinks followed by dinner. The room was cosy, charming and there was room for our large labrador on the floor. In the morning after a delightful walk with the dog, we had a freshly cooked and hearty Scottish breakfast. The staff were very friendly and service was very good. Can't wait to return again sometime en route North. A charming and dog/ people friendly Scottish hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulLawson, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. I will feed this back to the rest of the team who will be delighted, We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to Leave feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to us.


Sincerely,

Ian Wilson
General Manager
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.