We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Gtr Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed B&B in the cottage attached to the hotel as the hotel was fully booked when I telephoned in advance. First the cottage; wat a beautiful and tastefully decorated property this with two large bedrooms, conservatory, bath / shower room and kitchen all on one level. although we did not make use of a fraction of the facilities, they are all there, dishwasher, fridge freezer, large flat screen TVs in the bedrooms, conservatory, with Skybox, also unused by us. This quality was a real surprise and the beds were superbly comfortable.

The staff at the hotel were smart, efficient and very helpful.The meals in the bar were of large proportions and were well cooked, whilst those in the restaurant were of much smaller potion size. Cost wise, The bar meals were good value, but the restaurant was expensive for what you received, I thought. Hence 4* for this review when it could easily have been 5*

If you are to stay in Moffat, this is the place stay, as a look around the town will quickly convince you of this. Thanks Best Western for a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    98
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
176
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We haven't stayed in this hotel as we have a touring caravan and stay on the site in the town. However we do like to eat out and over the years have tried most of the restaurants/pubs. We haven't been to the Moffat House before as from the outside it looks like a very good 'posh' hotel. However we were attracted to the Friday Steak night (£30 for two including a bottle of wine) available in the restaurant, conservatory or garden. Having two, albeit well behaved, cocker spaniels in tow and not appearing to have an accessible garden we were slightly dubious.

The temptation for a nice juicy steak and a bottle of red was too much; I enquired at reception and was told that we would be welcome in either the conservatory or garden. We had our lovely steak meal (with sauce at no extra cost) in the gorgeous garden and a bottle of Chilean Merlot. The staff were very attentive and more than once asked if we wanted to move into the conservatory. The four of us were perfectly happy under the large umbrella and the lovely sirloin went down a treat.

We enjoyed it so much we returned on the Sunday evening for our wedding anniversary meal. Same seating arrangements but this time choosing Table d'hôte: breast of pigeon on a bed of red cabbage; Caledonian Surf n Turf; Venison fillet; and to finish we shared Scottish cheese and biscuits. Washed down once again with the Chilean Merlot! Same excellent service and attentiveness from the staff. What more could we ask?

As its my husband's birthday on 31 December I am strongly considering returning for their Hogmanay celebrations so watch this space.

Room Tip: Sorry unable on comment on hotel facilities the review is based on the restaurant only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What can I say?
A solo traveller I arrived in Moffat and checked into my single room. The standard of this room(101) is appalling. It really should not be re-let until an upgrade has taken place. It was poor. The bathroom belonged in the 1970's. The upside of it was that at least the shower curtain was clean, even if the shower itself was a bit dodgy. I did think that showers usually have doors.
None of the electrical appliances were convenient. There was no hair drier.
We single travellers are not without standards and resent being treated as second class guests.
The staff were very pleasant and the restaurant a lovely place to dine and the food was to a high standard but sorry, I will not return.

Room Tip: Do not go alone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick,
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Arriving at the Moffat House was a pleasure - a large courtyard car park fronts the hotel, and we were welcomed in a delightful and friendly manner by the receptionist in mid-afternoon. She informed us that we had been upgraded to the Cottage, and proceeded to show us to our accommodation. This turned out to be not just a room (as we had booked), but a kitchen, two bedrooms, a very smart bathroom, and a comfortable sitting room with windows on two sides and overlooking the pleasant garden. This cottage had apparently been recently refurbished, to provide self-catering accommmodation alongside the hotel. It was indeed of a very high standard - with a large television in the sitting room and the bedroom, and a fully equipped kitchen-diner with oven, microwave, washing and dishwashing machine and large fridge-freezer.
As a result, we saw little of the actual hotel!! However what we did see was of equal standard.
We were only staying one night en-route northwards, but would have been happy to have accommodation like this anywhere (else - see below).
On departure, we were however slightly surprised that the check-out receptionist, who, it must be said seemed a little hassled, did not ask anything about our stay nor even broke a smile. We had supposed that, as relatively new arrivals in this lovely cottage, we might just have been asked whether we enjoyed it - which we did, or even just wished bon voyage. I did note the name of this receptionist, but it would be invidious to mention it here since I did not note the name of the cheerful, welcoming receptionist the previous day. Such apparently trivial incidents do leave a lasting impression.
Our only qestion as we left was "why would anyone want to stay in Moffat?". Sorry, natives, but the town was scruffy and of little interest. The only other hotel in the town centre had staff smoking on its steps each time we passed, and there were no credible restaurants and the one cafe we tried for tea was definitely sub-standard. nb the Moffat House itself is excluded, as it appeared to have a good restaurant and a nice menu.
If you need to stay in Moffat, this is a lovely hotel that I would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We visit Moffat on a regular basis and have always looked forward to our bar meals in this hotel as the bar area is very well presented and the menus and house wine list was very good. A real favourite! So, when we arrived in Moffat early August 2013 we went straight to theMoffat House looking forward to a nice lunch and drinks. Unfortunately, we felt really let down when we saw the menus and drinks range. The house wines had changed, no more australian shiraz now chilian with cabernet , the food menu has also changed and the lagers and ciders have been changed.The meal that we had was poor so this is our last visit . We went to the Annandale Arms instead

Room Tip: Have only stayed at this hotel three times and every time the room was poor. Examples: had to move o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I spent Friday the 16th and Saturday the 17th August here. We have stayed many times here and always have a great stay. Food was excellent as was the service. We had room 11 on the first floor and although the bathroom could do with an update, it was clean and functional (there is a refurbishment plan in place so all rooms and bathrooms will be done when room availability and I guess capital is available.
Paul, Michael and his team do an excellent job of making you feel at home and amongst friends
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
501 helpful votes 501 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Designed by John Adam, elder brother of the famous architect Robert Adam, the hotel occupies a very pleasant looking building set back on a circular driveway from the main road through Moffat. It was completed in 1762 for it’s owner the Earl of Hopetoun as a country house retreat. The town is a nice place for a stroll - down the widest street in Scotland (allegedly) and has a number of shops, cafes, restaurants and other hotels to keep your interest. The surrounding countryside is attractive too.

Parking is available in the driveway.

It has recently undergone refurbishment - not for first time of course - but still maintains the style of a large country house inside and out.

We dropped in for a meal on a Sunday, late afternoon earlier this month. We’ve eaten here before although not in recent times and have previously had a decent meal.

We were offered separate menus for the Adam Lounge Bar and the Hopetoun Restaurant to consider over a drink in the Bar. They each had a reasonable selection of dishes with the Restaurant attracting the premium prices. I had never seen the Restaurant before on previous visits so I’m not sure if this has been created more recently as part of the updates. Anyway it is a fairly small area, just off the bar with windows overlooking the grounds at the rear of the hotel. The table settings looked quite formal - good for a special occasion I would say.

The lounge is less formal and has a relaxing, warm feel to the place. Starters in the Adam Lounge cost around £4 to £5, mains £9 to £17 (steak) and desserts £4.50. It appears you can have mixed selections from either menu. We stayed in the Lounge and both opted for Marinated Chicken & Mango Salad. The chicken didn’t look as if it had seen the marinating process - fresh and white - and a chilli, lime, ginger and mango dressing had simply been added when serving in a bowl with fresh salad. It all tasted perfectly nice, just not matching how it was described on the menu. (The chillies had a noticeable kick). To follow we ordered desserts of Lemon Drizzle Pudding with Crème Anglaise and a Brulee with fruit compote and coffee. There was a mix up with my dessert and I received a chocolate mousse which was corrected although my wife had almost finished her dessert before the brulee arrived. I should have stuck with the mousse - the brulee was fine however it was served with a few dessert spoonfuls of jam which was only lacking a slice of bread to make it palatable. The total cost was £41 including our drinks (a Pepsi and a G&T) which was reasonable.

The two staff serving the lounge and restaurant were pleasant enough although they seemed to be running around different parts of the hotel for whatever reason - perhaps doubling up in other areas. This was clearly irritating the waitress who at times could be a bit curt whilst in contrast the waiter was making polite conversation in broken English with several guests when he had a chance. It didn’t appear overly busy. The Restaurant had two guests and the Lounge about a dozen, although a few people wandered into the Bar from the garden or elsewhere to order , one guy having to ask for a tray to carry his half dozen or so drinks to take them out. In similar circumstances elsewhere I’ve seen waitresses/waiters offering to take the drinks out for guests - it leaves a better impression.

Despite the adverse comments about some aspects we actually enjoyed the meal and would probably return on another occasion if passing through the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.