We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another excellent stay at the moffat house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel
High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
carlisle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“another excellent stay at the moffat house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I spent Friday the 16th and Saturday the 17th August here. We have stayed many times here and always have a great stay. Food was excellent as was the service. We had room 11 on the first floor and although the bathroom could do with an update, it was clean and functional (there is a refurbishment plan in place so all rooms and bathrooms will be done when room availability and I guess capital is available.
Paul, Michael and his team do an excellent job of making you feel at home and amongst friends
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    97
    40
    19
    9
See reviews for
73
176
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biggar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
500 helpful votes 500 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Designed by John Adam, elder brother of the famous architect Robert Adam, the hotel occupies a very pleasant looking building set back on a circular driveway from the main road through Moffat. It was completed in 1762 for it’s owner the Earl of Hopetoun as a country house retreat. The town is a nice place for a stroll - down the widest street in Scotland (allegedly) and has a number of shops, cafes, restaurants and other hotels to keep your interest. The surrounding countryside is attractive too.

Parking is available in the driveway.

It has recently undergone refurbishment - not for first time of course - but still maintains the style of a large country house inside and out.

We dropped in for a meal on a Sunday, late afternoon earlier this month. We’ve eaten here before although not in recent times and have previously had a decent meal.

We were offered separate menus for the Adam Lounge Bar and the Hopetoun Restaurant to consider over a drink in the Bar. They each had a reasonable selection of dishes with the Restaurant attracting the premium prices. I had never seen the Restaurant before on previous visits so I’m not sure if this has been created more recently as part of the updates. Anyway it is a fairly small area, just off the bar with windows overlooking the grounds at the rear of the hotel. The table settings looked quite formal - good for a special occasion I would say.

The lounge is less formal and has a relaxing, warm feel to the place. Starters in the Adam Lounge cost around £4 to £5, mains £9 to £17 (steak) and desserts £4.50. It appears you can have mixed selections from either menu. We stayed in the Lounge and both opted for Marinated Chicken & Mango Salad. The chicken didn’t look as if it had seen the marinating process - fresh and white - and a chilli, lime, ginger and mango dressing had simply been added when serving in a bowl with fresh salad. It all tasted perfectly nice, just not matching how it was described on the menu. (The chillies had a noticeable kick). To follow we ordered desserts of Lemon Drizzle Pudding with Crème Anglaise and a Brulee with fruit compote and coffee. There was a mix up with my dessert and I received a chocolate mousse which was corrected although my wife had almost finished her dessert before the brulee arrived. I should have stuck with the mousse - the brulee was fine however it was served with a few dessert spoonfuls of jam which was only lacking a slice of bread to make it palatable. The total cost was £41 including our drinks (a Pepsi and a G&T) which was reasonable.

The two staff serving the lounge and restaurant were pleasant enough although they seemed to be running around different parts of the hotel for whatever reason - perhaps doubling up in other areas. This was clearly irritating the waitress who at times could be a bit curt whilst in contrast the waiter was making polite conversation in broken English with several guests when he had a chance. It didn’t appear overly busy. The Restaurant had two guests and the Lounge about a dozen, although a few people wandered into the Bar from the garden or elsewhere to order , one guy having to ask for a tray to carry his half dozen or so drinks to take them out. In similar circumstances elsewhere I’ve seen waitresses/waiters offering to take the drinks out for guests - it leaves a better impression.

Despite the adverse comments about some aspects we actually enjoyed the meal and would probably return on another occasion if passing through the town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We checked in to a dusty unwelcoming room. We were offered no help with our luggage up the stairs
The shower was completely useless, and we were very disappointed and
resented paying £113 for this very poor accomodation. We have stayed in other Best Western hotels that were far superior to this. We moved on to Perth and stayed in a guest house which cost £68. It was a far superior room, and the service was superior in every way. Pull your socks up Best Western. Remember the customer favours you with their business, not the other way round.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Having set off that morning from Fort William, the prospect of a full trip back home South did not appeal. Nor, frankly did camping in weather that had rather reverted to more familiar Scottish type.

Moffat is located most conveniently close to the motorway, and is very much an 'experience'. We were glad to be visiting as the last night of our holiday.

The hotel was a perfect complement, to the holiday and the town. It feels quite special, as you crunch into the sweeping driveway, despite being pretty much in the centre of things. We had a family room, located in what we presume was converted stable blocks at either side. There was a slight gulp as our dog was initially not welcome due to a failure on the booking system, but as the failure was not ours this was smoothed over. Lucky, as looking for a new place at that time would have not appealed.

The room was lovely, with all required. Nice big wall-mounted LCD TV & all the WiFi the kids could devour. Likewise dinner, which was produced by what seemed a very lean staff base without fuss, well cooked and satisfying.

The master bed was huge and ensured a great night's sleep, preparing us well for what was an inevitable motorway nightmare home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Got upgraded to the cottage attached to the hotel because it was full. The accommodation was excellent, the staff were excellent and the breakfast was excellent. Couldn't recommend this place more, a real home from home with a luxury feel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This has the potential to be a fantastic hotel, and for a whacking £90-per-night with no breakfast in a wee place like Moffat, it should be! But it was average and expensive. Stayed there on 1 August.

Beautiful house and nice grounds, nearer the main road than they let on in the description, or suggest in the photos. Bit worn inside, but not in an endearing way, just needs a face lift. Rooms are single glazing facing road, noisy as drive is gravel.

Rooms in need of refurbishment. Freezing water in morning so no shower, bulb blew in bathroom during the night. We moved a bedside table away from the kids' bed and it was dusty behind and around the outline, which made us itch.

Pretty average single malt cost me £7.00!!! at the bar (London prices), and when I complained about shower/noise/bulb in the morning receptionist was 'not authorised' to give a discount but said manger would call. I don't think I've received a call but can't be certain on this, may have missed it as we were busy and not minding phones particularly.

All in...just to go to the Premier Inn at Dumfries: cleaner, better value for money for a quick stop over on the way north. Moffat House £50,000 spent on it, maybe my £90 will help?

Room Tip: Back of the hotel away from road, make sure you avoid the annex. Eat breakfast elsewhere, like the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way northwards (for the second time in two years), and once again found it to be a thoroughly relaxing, pleasant experience. The hotel has its own parking, and is set back from the main street right in the centre of town, so everything you need is in very easy walking distance. It's an old building, so the rooms in the main part are quirky and characterful, which is a welcome change from some of the standard business traveller affairs that I'm used to. Breakfast is served in an airy conservatory at the back of the building in very pleasant surroundings, and was as good as you'll get. The overall service and experience was extremely good. It's just 5 mins from the A74 and is an oasis of calm after along drive up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel

Address: High Street, Moffat DG10 9HL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel is an elegant mansion transformed into a stylish and comfortable retreat for family and friends, set ​in the charming Victorian spa town of Moffat. Built for The Earl of Hopetoun in the 1750s, it has been carefully maintained and modernised to retain all of it's elegance. Proprietors The Lawson family, along with their friendly staff, offer you a very warm welcome. Only 45 minutes from Glasgow, over 1 hour from Edinburgh and 15 minutes' drive from historic Gretna, The Moffat House Hotel is the ideal retreat to help you make the most of your time in the area. Set within private grounds, this stunning Victorian style hotel combines traditional elegance, comfort and a warm welcome. Keep connected from the comfort of your guest room with WiFi. Your room uniquely reflects the character of this traditional building without compromising on modern amenities. Check in to a Deluxe Four Poster guestroom and enjoy extra space, and beautiful views of the Scottish countryside. You can expect a heartfelt welcome, superb facilities. We have beautiful rooms equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break, so make our hotel your home and relax, have fun with or without the kids and enjoy very special grown-up time for yourselves. We are sure it will be a stay to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Moffat Hotel
Moffat Best Western
BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Moffat House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.