We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit and, hopefully, there will be a third!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queensberry House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Queensberry House to your Saves list
Queensberry House
12 Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Moffat B&B and Inns
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Our second visit and, hopefully, there will be a third!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here two years ago and were warmly welcomed and well-treated and had exactly the same experience this time. We stayed here just for one night on the way up to the north coast of Scotland. Super room, would be very comfortable for a longer stay and Moffat is a charming little town with plenty around it to visit.

Everywhere in the B&B is spotless. The breakfast was the best we had on our entire trip, good quality ingredients and cooked beautifully. Paul and Denise are very friendly and warm hosts.

Room Tip: We had the room overlooking the back garden, which is charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
146
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had an extremely comfortable overnight stay at Queensberry House on our way to Scotland. Paul and Denise are fabulous hosts, friendly and extremely helpful, helping us chose the right place for an evening meal. The accommodation is immaculate and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay here again. If you need a place to stay in Moffat this is the one!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Like many others, we stopped here en route to the Western Isles. What a lucky find! Paul and Denise made us very welcome from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Our room had only just been decorated but the whole building was very tastefully furnished and immaculate. We were given very helpful advice as to where to go and what to see in Moffat (which is a very attractive, vibrant small town) and had a pleasant walk in the evening. I am now becoming boring as to how good the breakfast was, especially the scrambled egg! We will definitely return on further trips to Scotland. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stopped at Queensberry House en route to the north of Scotland and had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was beautifully furnished and equipped with everything necessary for a comfortable night. Denise and Paul went out of their way to make us feel welcome and gave us good advice about where to go and where to eat whilst we were in Moffat, all within easy walking distance. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We would definitely stay at Queensberry House again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We return whenever we can to Paul and Denise's beautiful home. We have a gorgeous room , tasteful and comfortable combined with excellent hospitality. The breakfast is always a great start to the day, and we have always had such lovely company in the dining room. Good location to easily walk into the town, and there are reviews of where to eat in the helpful manual provided in the room. Personally I love the art on the walls . Paul showed me around his lovely garden too, which was a real delight! I could recommend this without hesitation, it is really lovely. Anne and Chris Corr

Room Tip: We have had rooms front and back, and both were delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This accommodation is superb. Rooms, food, hosts are all excellent. Nothing about the accommodation will disappoint you. It is also walking distance into town. We will holiday there again. Oh, and the weather was good!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have stayed with Denise and Paul on a couple of previous occasions but when we made a last minute stopover in Moffat just after Christmas this year they were full. The net result was that we stayed in a much larger establishment in the town and regretted every minute. So, it was with deep joy that last week we returned to Queensberry House and to the terrific reception that the owners have always afforded us. The guest house remains a model for its type in terms of cleanliness, location and comfort and it was quite obvious that our four fellow guests felt the same. It was also pleasing to note that they have accommodated one of our suggestions on their new and excellent breakfast menu. Many thanks once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Queensberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry House

Address: 12 Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful home! We offer you comfortable accommodation in well presented rooms with modern en-suite facilties. Choose from our Heather room which has a larger en-suite, or our Thistle room whose en-suite offers luxurious underfloor heating. Our Bluebell guest room is our brightest room, getting the sun for most of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queensberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensberry House Moffat, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queensberry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.