We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, scrupulously clean, great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queensberry House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Queensberry House to your Saves list
Queensberry House
12 Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Moffat B&B and Inns
Eardisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb location, scrupulously clean, great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Day 9 of our Lands End to John O Groats ride, and well used to one night only accommodation at this point and Queensberry House proved to be one of the very best. A great and friendly welcome, bikes looked after and secured so we could immediately relax. Rooms beautifully clean, bed comfortable with a superb breakfast in the morning.

Good walk into the lovely town of Moffat for an evening meal (at Claudio's) and next morning ready to tackle a pleasant, leg warming 3.5 mile ascent out of Moffat.

Great place to break your journey north, worth leaving the M74 to visit Moffat and here's a great place to stay. And then a lovely start to your journey back onto main road. Many thanks to wonderful hosts, a great start to the Scottish element of our bike ride.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
146
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night on the way down south from Scotland. It was such a relief to find somewhere like Moffat so close to the main road. Queensberry House is an elegant Grade II listed building in an open, quiet setting, and has been refurbished without spoiling its character. Paul greeted us with a tea and biscuits in the lounge, and was very happy to give us information on the town and where we could eat. Everything was perfectly clean, and a lot of thought had gone into providing everything we needed, especially the great choices on the menu for breakfast, which was way above the usual standard of cooking for B&B. I had perfectly cooked scrambled egg with real smoked salmon, not orange supermarket strips - delicious! Apart from being designated an Outstanding Conservation Area for its architecture, Moffat is also Scotland's first "Walkers Are Welcome" town - I could happily have stayed a few days longer and tried out the walks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

For once we decided to break our journey from the south of England to our home in the Highlands with a short stop in Moffatt and our choice for the night could not have been better. We were influenced by the Tripadvisor reports which were right on target. The welcome was everything we had been led to expect although we were already impressed by the personal touches in the emails we received when we booked. The room and the bathroom were very clean, well furnished, tastefully decorated and everything we could have hoped for. The on-road parking didn't prove a problem and the property is located only a short walk from the centre of Moffatt which has plenty of choice for an evening meal. Breakfast the following morning was delicious and our hosts went out of their way to accommodate my self indulgent request for a small change to the normal menu. In addition, Denise and Paul went on to prove their competence as linguists as well as cooks when they successfully negotiated the needs of our fellow guests who had come from much further afield. A consummate joy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

First time we had stayed in this area, we received a very warm welcome from our hosts, very clean room with beautiful fittings, extremely quiet location, superb freshly cooked breakfast. As good as any five star hotel in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardwicke, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed just for one night, the only one, on a brief trip to a place near Moffat. It was a great choice. Paul made us more than welcome, the room was spotless, breakfast was perfect. The hotel is in a quiet spot, but only a few minute's walk from the centre of town. Plenty of places to eat, and the area is historic and scenic. Well worth an extended stay, particularly at Queensbury House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have stayed at Queensberry House regularly, while travelling between Tain and South Devon. The service and accommodation is first class ~ nothing is too much trouble for Paul and Denise. When travelling long distances, it is reassuring to know that one has an assurance of quality at the end of the trip.

A tip ~ book direct to get the best terms !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on our way back home from the Yorkshire Dales and were very pleased with our choice. Paul made us very welcome on our arrival with coffee and home baking. The rooms are modern and very tastefully decorated and the facilites were fantastic. The house is situated in a very quiet area (only a short walking distance from town) so we had a very peaceful nights sleep. Paul and Denise definitely do go the extra mile for their guests and we would have no hesitation in returning to the Queensberry House.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queensberry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensberry House

Address: 12 Beechgrove, Moffat DG10 9RS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Moffat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Moffat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful home! We offer you comfortable accommodation in well presented rooms with modern en-suite facilties. Choose from our Heather room which has a larger en-suite, or our Thistle room whose en-suite offers luxurious underfloor heating. Our Bluebell guest room is our brightest room, getting the sun for most of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Queensberry House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensberry House Moffat, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queensberry House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.