We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A museum that told me what I wanted to know” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stewartry Museum

The Stewartry Museum
St Mary Street, Kirkcudbright DG64AG, Scotland
01557-331643
Website
Improve this listing
Type: History Museums, Natural History Museums, Museums
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1879 museum tells the story of the town.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A museum that told me what I wanted to know”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A lovely museum showing a good variety of local life and history, but what I really liked was a polite and can-do attitude to my questions. It was humbling that nothing was too much trouble for them.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

For a small town this museum covered a wide range of history the curator is very helpfull. A bit overcrowded

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Reminds me of how museums should be! Eclectic, jumbled, local and when you find something of interest you feel like you have discovered it! A vital part of the towns attraction list and a good diversion out of the rain. The guy who runs it though seems a right odd ball with some bizarre misconceptions on history.....

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Each time we visit this area we drop in at this compact delightful museum and always find something that we had missed or overlooked previously. It really helps to explain the area for a visitor. The staff are always helpful and pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a well designed local feature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

not stuffy,games for children to participate and learn.a good insight into how the locality and people have developed,good for a wet day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stewartry Museum also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Stewartry Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stewartry Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.