We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Selkirk Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northumbria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great service and hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Booked here on the day and got the last room in the hotel. This room involved navigating a narrow set of stairs with an overhanging ledge near the top - mind your head.. The room was as described (cosy) and clean. It seemed a little expensive but made up for it in terms of the high standard of (a very well organised, friendly) service and the top quality breakfast.

We took up the option of an evening meal. The rabbit terrine starter was very tender, the surf & turf was a little average, and the duck breast and deserts were top notch. Dining is either in the bar area or the more formal dinning room, both of which are very presentable.

Would recommend for a relaxed weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    69
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
55
157
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter weekend. Room was very comfortable and quite spacious. Only dined on first evening but meal was particularly good. All staff were very friendly and efficient. Breakfasts were very hearty and enjoyable and I can certainly recommend the Grilled Kippers. They certainly deserve some recognition for their food and service. We will return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThewalkersScotland, Owner at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review - I have printed it off and put it on the staff notice board - the team are delighted. Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. We hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for three nights over the Easter weekend. The hotel is superb...great facilities, fabulous food, a lovely beer garden (well, it was a sunny Easter for a change!) and a really comfortable bedroom. But all this is nothing compared to the staff, all of whom were welcoming, friendly, attentive and clearly know what hospitality is about. We'll certainly stay here again. It might not be the cheapest in town, but I'm willing to bet it is the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgoilhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Selkirk Arms Hotel, it was fantastic, the staff were friendly, rooms were clean and very comfortable and the food was absolutely beautiful, couldn't fault them at all, already looking forward to our next visit. Thanks to Douglas and all the staff.

Room Tip: the Cottage is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is deceiving, its looks a small place. Walk in & its very big. Reception swift & very amicable, room nicely laid out, very friendly staff in the bar area & well cooked & presented food.
Free car parking & WiFi is very welcome.
I was here on a one night stay over but i imagine it is very handily placed for the tourist areas.

Downside? The hot water, not hot at all out of the taps, even if left to run for 5 mins, the shower was easily worked with plenty of hot water so i dont really know why the hand basin water was not hot? Also if someone uses the shower, you can hear it resonnating,,, not a problem at all if people use the shower in acceptable times i suppose.

Would i stay again? Most definately, the bed was super comfortable, in fact it was so comfortable i decided against breakfast & had a lie in.

Room Tip: I was in room 7, this is right over the hotel front door, it wasnt a problem for me as it was a quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed overnight on trip. Staff was very friendly and inviting. Room was excellent and well appointed. I would definitely stay again. Dinner in the restaurant that night was delicious. Enjoyed the local art throughout on display.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I can't thank the staff at the Selkirk enough for a brilliant weekend. We organised a 40th birthday party with a surprise wedding thrown in for luck. Nothing was too much trouble for Douglas, Chris and their team. Food was excellent, service efficient and friendly and accommodation was tasteful and comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. They certainly made it a weekend for us to remember and that was down to their efficient planning, experience and expertise. Thank you Selkirk !

Room Tip: Room 20 overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Selkirk Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.