We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very professional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Selkirk Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well-located in the centre of Kirkcudbright, extremely professionally run and - as a result - very well patronised by the grey panther brigade of the comfortably-off retired. The decor is bright and contemporary, the rooms impeccable and service prompt and courteous. Dinner was delicious.

Room Tip: I had Room 9, a generous single with bath located conveniently on the first floor. No view, other th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    66
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
146
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I Stayed in this hotel as part of the West Of Scotland Highland Cattle club's annual weekend away.
There were about 35 of us altogether. We got a warm welcome from all the staff who were all very well trained and friendly.
As there was so many of us in the group they gave us our own part of the bar and dining area.
Dinner was very well organised, first class food which was very well presented.
Lovely comfortable clean rooms.
Everyone enjoyed their stay very much and we all had a great weekend.
The Staff could not have done enough for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My stay at the Selkirk Arms was always going to be memorable as it was an en route stopover, whilst taking my son to university in Belfast.
However, it was made especially memorable by the excellent hospitality and service which we received., Although the hotel was quite busy, this did not interfere with the attentiveness and generosity of the staff. We had also been given an upgraded room, which was an extra treat.
Although we hadn't booked an evening meal, a table was found for us and we had a beautiful meal. The food was really excellent.
I highly recommend the Selkirk Arms and if ever I am in Kirkcudbright again, this is where I will stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed with friends at this hotel recently for a long weekend. The hotel is ideally situated in Kirkcudbright town centre both for the amenities in the burgh as well as good touring centre for the surrounding attractions. . The rooms are furnished and comfortable and the hotel is situated in a quiet location. The cuisine is excellent and of international high standard. The specials for dinner are novel and very well prepared, and the waiters efficient, friendly and discreet. The prices are very reasonable for such a high quality hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are in quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is an excellent Hotel,well run by friendly staff.The rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is first class.

I was in the area on business but would stay again for pleasure if circumstances brought me to the area again.If you are looking for a Hotel in this area you will not do better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night as we were touring Scotland for a few days. The food was lovely with a good choice from the menu. Our bedroom was lovely and clean. Douglas the owner was really helpful and he gave us some good advice about some of the other places we were going to visit after our stay at the Selkirk Arms. Good location for a short walk into Kirkcudbright which is charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I popped in for lunch during a recent holiday in the area-what a lovely place ! Attractive and comfortable eating area,very friendly staff,great food and an opportunity to sample an Innis&Gunn craft beer ! We would recommend the Selkirk Arms to anyone looking for a meal in Kirkcudbright,and it is our intention to stay there on our next visit to the town.A gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Selkirk Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.