We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star gazing weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Selkirk Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter warmer £79
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Star gazing weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked onto the star gazing weekend package after having seen it on the web, the hotel is very good , the food is good and the staff are all very friendly and polite. Thanks to the hard work of the owner the whole weekend runs smoothly and all though its not in your face its clear that a lot of thought and effort goes in to the running of this hotel
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who is visiting in this area
Only issue was that we didn't see a star all weekend !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    66
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
49
145
14
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a trip to Dumfriess and Galloway staying at the Selkirk Arms.
Everything was first class, very clean, comfortable with everything you needed and staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was very good served in attractive room, great breakfast. The public rooms were well furnished and welcoming. We were looking for a venue in September to play golf with friends, the Selkirk ticked all the boxes. Douglas was so helpful and knowledgeable about the area and playing golf in the area. Needless to say, three nights booked in September in the Selkirk Arms! A great bonus is the car parking in the grounds. Looking forward to another enjoyable stay there

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took my husband here for his 30th Birthday for a stargazing weekend. Right from booking the weekend until the very end, we were taken care of and given a very personable experience.
We were given a lot of advise on things to do and see which made our weekend complete. Our room was lovely in the cottage outside, there was even a card and some local chocolates from the cocoa bean company in our room for my husbands birthday. The food was of excellent standard with good choice. The astronomer, Steve Owens was very knowledgeable and could answer any question thrown at him. The only disappointing aspect was beyond anyone's control - the weather - it was too cloudy to see any stars. We flew up from London and hired a car for the weekend, I would thoroughly recommend a weekend away at this hotel for anyone. I only wish we had stayed an extra night! Thank you Douglas and the team for making our weekend.

Room Tip: Room in the cottage was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at the Selkirk Arms for a stargazing weekend and (despite the weather letting is down) the event really was fantastic. Douglas and the rest of the staff were so friendly and helpful, really wanting us to get the most out of our trip to Kircudbright. The room was lovely and had everything we required, the food excellent and the astronomer Steve Owens provided a thoroughly interesting and enjoyable presentation and great qu and answer session in the bar. Would definitely recommend! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My Wife and I were taken for Mother's day Lunch by our children, The whole experience was a delight at a very reasonable cost to the Family, Well done Chris and Douglas you have come out tops once again. We will return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. The room was lovely with views over the garden. Meals were of a high standard. Staff were helpful.
Only disappointment was the weather!! No stars on a stargazing weekend :-(
Maybe we'll try again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We took up the winter offer, 3 nights for £99. Really good value, we knew what we were getting as we stayed last year and wondered if we would enjoy our stay as much as last time. We were not disappointed. Our room overlooked the Garden, was spacious and very clean. Food is delicious and the staff are so friendly and helpful, you cannot ask for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Selkirk Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Selkirk Arms Hotel

Address: High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Bedroom town house hotel. Privately owned and operated. 2 Restaurants, 2 Bars and cosy lounges. Free Wi Fi throughout, all rooms en suite, 60% of rooms now fully refurbished.Ideal base to discover SW Scotland. Walking, fishing, cycling, golf or just relaxing and enjoying our award winning cuisine using the best of local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Selkirk Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kirkcudbright
Kirkcudbright Best Western
The Selkirk Arms Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Selkirk Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.