We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon House Hotel

Gordon House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkcudbright
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gordon House Hotel
Save
You added Gordon House Hotel to your Saves list
116 High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 17 Kirkcudbright B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

New management AGAIN , no idea what there doing waited an hour for our starter asked the poor waitress to find out what was happening she came back to say they hadn't even started cooking it which had the place been busy I would maybe have understood but we were the only ones in , new manager didn't even come with an explanation so we decided to leave , think this place has had its day !!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    3
    2
    14
See reviews for
11
8
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Despite many attempts by phone and ansafone messages it proved impossible to get a reply or contact anyone to confirm a booking made in the New Year - just as well when the local horror stories came to light whenever you mentioned the place in the town. When I got there it was shuttered and locked!
So sad as previous stays some years ago were enjoyable with good and courteous service in a friendly ,family atmosphere.
For some years I have stayed in Kirkcudbright for the National Field Archery Society Scottish Championship held at Parton. Thankfully the TIC were very helpful and found me alternative accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

stayed here lovley country stay food spot on new land lord has made such a difference well done will be back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

on arrival a had to wait a good 10minutes after pressing the buzzer for assistance twice EVENTUALLY when i got to my room from the mistake of a double booking only to find my room had no t.v an the room was stone cold on top of that my shower had no hot water for a number of hours when i mentioned this to a member of staff i was shocked to find out that there was no-one on the premises over night incase of an emergency which then made me feel very insecure knowing if anything was to happen i had to sort it out myself

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

i havent actually stayed in the gordon house but was in for a meal and since the new owners have taken over what a drastic improvement, its nice and clean, the food is beautifull and well worth the money, the staff are really friendly and look very smart in there uniforms, will definately be back keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Only stayed at the hotel for 1 night, but found the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was large and clean with plenty of storage, however the en-suite was pretty dirty. Not sure if it just hadn't been used for a while, but the sink was dirty as was the shower. Getting hot water was also a struggle and the water pressure meant the nice big shower head only produced a weak dribble of cold water. Ate in the restaurant at night and couldn't fault the food although the table cloth and place mats were dirty, with glass and plate marks from the last users. Amazing batter on the fish and great chips. Generous portions too. The full cooked breakfast the next morning was also superb. Just watch out for the extra portions on the menu. I was going to order the pork tenderloin (£9.95) but was told it would cost me an additional £2.50 for potatoes/chips and £2.50 for veg. The hotel had only been taken over by new owners shortly before our stay, so cleanliness may improve.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We ordered food here a few weekends ago in October, we can not rate the food as it did not arrive. Unfortunately we were not alone in being unhappy with our service. Many unhappy people. We left two hours after ordering food for four, we asked several times but were given no explanation. We left with no apology and others were following us. The chip shop did good trade as it was now after 21:30. Unfortunately the Hotel is very understaffed and seems to be being left to fall to bits.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gordon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordon House Hotel

Address: 116 High Street, Kirkcudbright DG6 4JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkcudbright
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkcudbright
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Gordon House Hotel Kirkcudbright, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.