We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro

Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro
32 St Cuthbert Street, Kirkcudbright, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 15 Restaurants in Kirkcudbright
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bistro
Restaurant details
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Coffee stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Not very atmospheric. Coffee a bit strong but welcome. Nice cappucino but not enough froth! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    9
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Terrific menu and very fresh food. Try the pumpkin soup it's delicious . Best cafe in Kirkudbright and you can park just across from it for free .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Barnies over butties”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Food was decent. Tables and chairs nice and solid. Prices a bit over the average. Liked the pictures on the walls. Had the makings of a nice little place. Unfortunately we didn't really want to have to hear the chef having sniping arguements with the waitress and her surly back chat to him. We felt uncomfortable like we were in someones 'domestic'. I don't pay to go to places to feel uncomfortable and uneasy. Fire the waitress or shut up and get on with giving the customer a pleasant experience, that's what im paying you for. Or find another occupation??

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, North Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A gem in Kirkcudbright”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A lovely cafe bistro serving some excellent home cooked food. The place is quite small but has a lovely atmosphere and serves some great dishes (the soups are well worth a try) I was almost tempted to try the Courgette and Onion soup but stuck with a delicious Tomato and Basil instead. Some great meal deals to watch out for too, soup and sandwich combo very reasonable. Good food, good drinks, good service = great cafe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hmmmmmm?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great, and welcome pot of tea, my husband's scone was reported to be good and my soup was really nice BUT I would have like to have had the soup at the same time as my the tea and scone not quite a bit later. I was almost at the point of walking out! The food around us looked quite lovely and others looked happy..........

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro also viewed

Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Lights Coffee House & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.