We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice building outside, filthy rooms and tired decor.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel to your Saves list
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gretna Green Dumfries, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
1 review
“Nice building outside, filthy rooms and tired decor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Came here to celebrate a friends wedding and such a dissapointment after what appears to be a really nice place outside.

The first room was dirty. Family room with a bad smelling toilet, hairs in the bath and sink and what appeared to be toothpaste splashes everywhere. Dirty cups, dust everywhere, and snot on the children's bunk bed.

After complaining we were 'upgraded' to a better room and told that there was no excuse for the room to be the way it was.

The next room was no better. Bathroom glasses with old toothpaste in the bottom and mould, bathroom sink was full of hair and the vanity unit top looked like it hasn't been cleaned for a week. Dusty tops, dirty windows, dirty carpet, chunks missing form doors and architrave. I could go on.

We decided to leave the hotel and go elsewhere, not so much as a sorry from receptionist when we left. The whole building inside, once past reception, is tired. In need of a refurb in my opinion. If it was £40 per night I would be disappointed never mind the £175 charged. Ive stayed in London 5 star hotels for the same money, which make this place look like a walk in centre. Seaham hall is similar money to this and is in a different league. It's a machine for making money and taking advantage of the wedding area next it.

Think twice before booking here. Days inn up the road is spotlessly clean and less than half the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
This review is complete rubbish folks im afraid. The facts in relation to this booking are that this guy made a mistake on a third party agent website thinking he was paying £55 a night whereas actually the rate was as described £175 for that night. Clearly not wanting to now pay this and instead of just saying he'd made an error when booking he decided to say our rooms were filthy, thus his excuse not to stay, really quite embarrasing all told. If only he'd just said a mistake was made and didnt particularly want to spend that much, we'd absolutely understand no problems or issues, even finding or suggesting an alternative, £175 is a lot for a hotel room, i know this, but to fabricate some nonsense in order not to stay, well......what can you do?. Im sure you can all gauge the standards and great experiences guests have here at Smiths simply by reading the reviews. Im somewhat surprised that this guy posted a review to be honest. Anyone concerned by reading this review, do give me a call directly, appreciate there are plenty of you booked in with us already and then to read this, could be a little unsettling. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    153
    88
    42
    24
See reviews for
167
367
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My partner (now husband) and I stayed at Smith's on the 24th and 25th May this year. We booked the penthouse suite package and married on the 25th. I couldn't have imagined a more perfect day and I should know, this was my 3rd (and definitely last) marriage!
3 of our very closest friends were with us for the beautiful religious ceremony, conducted on the balcony in the glorious sunshine.
I had my hair, nails and makeup done in Spoilt, the spa within Smith's. The ladies that pampered me were busy but professional and skilled in their craft.
The food, drink and service were excellent. Although the hotel is a popular wedding venue, my husband and I felt like the only couple tying the knot.
I thoroughly recommend Smith's!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks CathyEm, so glad everything went so well for you, everyone here will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We held our wedding in Gretna on 31st May. Initially, we were going to have a quiet wedding on our own, however, friends discovered our plans and as a result, the event grew! Knowing that friends and family would be attending, we booked more rooms and made reception plans with the wedding planners at Smiths. I cant thank Heidi and Carly enough for the time they spent on the phone with me organising our wedding meal etc. Heidi recommended a private dining area that was perfect for us and our 8 guests. Not having the time to visit the hotel before our wedding, we put our faith in them and they came up trumps. The dining area was beautifully made up on the morning of the wedding and apart from me having a look and laying favours on the tables, I had to do nothing. Brilliant and stress free!
Each member of staff we encountered was friendly, courteous and most helpful. The rooms were lovely, well appointed and spacious. We had a balcony room which was very comfortable.
The wedding meal was delicious and beautifully presented. All of our guests commented on the service and presentation. There were a few weddings taking place over the two days we were at the hotel and for me, that added to the good atmosphere in the hotel. If, as a bride and groom you are looking for exclusivity, I would think you either book the whole hotel or go elsewhere. We also ate the in the restaurant the evening before the wedding, again, great service and lovely food. I am unable to find fault with Smiths. We left with very happy memories and I would highly recommend to others. (Myself and flowergirl had hair / makeup done at Spoilt @ Smiths for which I have written a separate review)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Kasimps, superb review, thank you so much. Good to hear that all your friends and family got to enjoy the day as well, these things certainly do escalate once word gets out. The girls will be delighted with the name drop, thanks for that. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team. See you again soon, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We attended a family wedding at Gretna and spent two nights at this hotel.The room was nicely decorated and kept nice and clean with daily housekeeping.The rest of the hotel was nicely decorated and had a nice atmosphere too.Check in was quick and efficient and members of staff were helpful and polite.Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice.The wedding meal was absolutely lovely.Staff at Gretna Green were welcoming and the ceremony was lovely and performed by a nice lady and the lady photographer had lots of patience!It was a double wedding with lots of guests!Would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks Martip, glad that you enjoyed your two days with us, dont be a stranger now , come back soon. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We got married at the Blacksmiths shop and stayed in the Rose Suite at Smiths Hotel.
Staff were really nice and friendly. The Rose Suite is really lovely and the bathroom is massive. Our balcony overlooked the fields which was nice.
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant a la carte.
I had treatments at Spoils and again the girls were really nice.
Only down thing we felt was the breakfast which is self service which was not as fresh as it could be.
Overall I would be more than happy to go back there which hopefully on our anniversary 23 May we will go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Great review Carole, thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience. It is always very pleasing to hear that someones big day went so well. Im actually going to be having a little upgrade applied to the Rose Suite this year to make it even nicer, new sofas, voiles over the 4 poster, dining table, rugs etc, so do come back and let me know your thoughts on the changes - the overall feel will remain the same, just a little spruce up. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Do not, for goodness sake, allow yourself to be booked into any room with odd numbers. These are all at the rear of the Hotel level with, and overlooking, the Motorway and the noise is awful even with the inadequate double glazing to the windows. Don't even think about opening them for some ventilation.
The Reception staff refused to move us at first saying they were fully booked with a Conference (they weren't) and so we had to pay extra for an even numbered room after seeing them again.
Also be careful about the food which is not good....burnt toast, coiled and baked bacon that I could not get my teeth through and tasteless mushrooms for Breakfast....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks for the review Geoffrey, a little extreme however in its terminology may i say, but i appreciate and absord all individual comments and feedback through this forum. The rooms at the back of the hotel really arent as made out here, yes there is a motorway and if you are a particularly light sleeper then maybe the hum of noise might disturb you, which it clearly did on this occasion, but i dont believe we are any different from being located similar to any hotel with local traffic, city noise, revellery etc. Our double glazing is as you would expect and performs more than adequately for the vast majority of guests. The bacon, which is a middle cut, therefore offering both back and streaky in one, hence the coil you describe, really is great quality from Cranstons of Penrith, not the usual hotel bulk packed water injected rubbish you get in many places, so im a little dissapointed with your experience, sorry for this. Likewise the burnt toast must surely have been held in the toaster a little too long by the waitress and couldve easily been rectified upon request (appreciate it shouldnt have been served "burnt" - which is surprising). Im truly sorry that your experience with us is a little negative and i take on board your points. Thanks again and best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have called in at the Smith's once before for drinks in the afternoon and found staff to be very friendly. On my second visit myself and guests had booked a table in the restaurant the food was first class , presentation and service. My guests had come up from London and were pleasantly surprised . Would recommend people to go to the Smith's restaurant you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Cheers Alan, appreciate the post. Do feel free to call in anytime with as many colleagues as you want. We try and balance our food offering to suit all tastes and all budgets (no easy feat!) with the emphasis always on high quality ingredients, presentation and most importantly taste, so to read your feedback is fantastic, thank you. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green Dumfries, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.