We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome on a wet Sunday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Save Saved
You added Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gretna Green Dumfries, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Gretna Green
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A warm welcome on a wet Sunday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

When you've driven 300+ miles in pouring rain, then the thing you need most is a welcoming smile when you arrive. You're guaranteed that here, as well as a spacious room with a large, comfortable bed and a sizeable bathroom with a bath and shower that work.

The Sunday roast was OK - filled a hole, but the restaurant is not as memorable as the hotel. Good place to stay on the way to the Isles!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel. Very quiet, even with the A74 at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks Mewsdweller, what a very pleasant review. You are absolutely correct in that the welcoming smile and continued warm hospitality of the staff is one of the most important aspects of a hotel stay. So often hotels cram the properties with all sorts of fangled new products, tech, fancy dance design and false marketed promises , but simply dont have the correct staff completely ruining the experience. Its nice when you finally find somewhere that ticks all the boxes isnt it. Thanks again do pop in again when next passing, regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    406
    135
    80
    36
    18
See reviews for
153
314
7
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just back from my wedding weekend in Gretna green. The hotel was even better than expected with the room clean and nice décor. The food in the bar was top class and we dined there Thursday and Friday. Special mention to Kenny whose service at the bar was top class and he was particularly friendly and helpful. Only negative was that on arrival we had to ask for our complimentary cocktail as this was part of our package.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Cheers Gavin, great review, sorry about the cocktail, bet it was worth the wait though hey!. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having never heard of the hotel before, we were unsure what to find so close to the motorway.
It was a very pleasant surprise when we arrived. The hotel was modern, clean and welcoming.
There is a large car park. The rooms were of good size, clean and comfortable. An extra bonus for travellers is that food is served until 10.00 p.m. everyday. We only had the bar food, which was excellent, as was the full breakfast the following morning. The staff were all very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed it so much, we booked to stay five nights later on the way back from Ireland and found the staff just as good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Nice one Bugling , to have you here twice in quick succession is fantastic. Now you know where we are , do come back again, stay as long as you like. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the smiths this week room fab location lovely breakfast to die for would def stay again went on to a wedding in ayr had a very good time
Bathroom very clean with toiletries air con very spacious room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Good short direct post Jilly, thanks very much. look forward to your return. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

You have to know what you are getting into when you go to Gretna Green - brides, weddings, and passers through.

The Smiths is a very contemporary hotel designed to cater for this market. It is clean, with good size rooms and well decorated and furnished to my taste. There is even a fireplace in your room!

The food was wedding catering for the evening meal - and this was not al that impressive. Not served at the right temp and a bit plain.

The evening was disrupted by noisy guests hammering on each - others doors throughout the night, with the party moving from the rooms downstairs to the bedrooms - but I guess you have to expect this and apparently we were a bit unlucky.

Breakfast was really nice - freshly prepared and plenty of options.

Prices - particularly room and bar prices - were set at the high end, city level. But you make this choice when you book in. For example glass of wine is £5.60 - but elsewhere it may only be £3.50.

Overall - a good stay - if you have a wedding to go to in Gretna Green.

Room Tip: Try to have a room on the uper flo - away from the lound parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for your post Stephen, much appreciated and certainly balanced in its content. Sometimes we do get the odd occasion when particular guests may have had one too many and disrupt others with a bit of noise, to be honest i dont know of many hotels that dont suffer this, but it is annoying all the same. thanks again, best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our wedding on 8th and cannot contain our excitement. We decided to host our guests at the Smiths@gretna as well as recieve them at our reception in one of the large function suites. We all ate from the a la carte menu and despite our large numbers all of the food was served together and was of the highest quality. This isn't just a rose tinted review, bias by a honeymoon high, but one based on continued undercover visits leading up to the booking and wedding its self. We based our wedding around three key aspects, the venue, the reception and the stay. Although we married in the picturesque setting of Auchen castle a half hour up the road, we always knew that the Smiths was the place to eat, drink and be merry. The food was exceptional and consistantly good over many stays. The head chef was very approachable and worked with us to put together a fantastic eating experience culminating in a elaborate bespoke dessert that wowed our guests with a chocolate feast, the likes of which should be subject to a golden ticket. All of the staff were uncompromising when it came to fulfilling our every need, and the effort really showed as our guests went home amazed. Our wedding coordinator, Lyn was always willing to do anything for us, and always a call or email away. The hotel clearly work well with outside subcontractors, as we had room decorators and a dj that worked seemlessly in the background. The Ash suite that we stayed in was beyond expectation, and as a one-off treat, well worth the money. It was a great place to retire and kick off the heals, as well as an excellent place to have wedding photos if your hit by the spring Scottish rain. All in all it was the happiest day of our lives, made all the better by staying at the Smiths, and can advise anyone to do likewise.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Sarah, amazing feedback, thank you so much. There was an an air iof excitement in relation to seeing your dessert and petit fours set up the whole day with the team here , so i am glad chef came up to standard. Thanks also for the pesonal mention for Lyn, she'll be thrilled with that. All the best for noew. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We got married here march 2011 it was the best day of our lives we have come back for our anniversaries the hotel is amazing & the staff lovely food friendly people also at the blacksmith shop frank made our day extra special such a nice guy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Great feedback WillGina, Frank will be delighted with the personal mention. All the very best to you both. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green Dumfries, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.