We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok bar menu was more appealing than the restaurant one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel to your Saves list
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gretna Green Dumfries, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Ok bar menu was more appealing than the restaurant one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Chose bar menu but asked if we could eat it the restaurant as the restaurant menu had less appeal and less choice. Though the three of s were allowed to eat the bar menu it was clear they were not that happy about it which seeing as only half the tables had people on them I couldn't see the issue. Food was good notably the sheppard s pie was lovely though my colleagues chicken burger looked like three chicken nuggets on a bun. My advise is don't dress up. Go casual and just in the bar. It's comfortable bar menu more appealing and better value. For the prices being charged in main restaurant I'd expect five Star service which this hotel lacks have stayed but due to lack of wifi in bedrooms opted for nearby lodge as it had free wifi and just ate there.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments BMWRoadster, much appreciated, i welcome all opinions. Obviously taste and preference vary considerably from one person to the next in terms of percieved value, choice and quality. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the bar/lounge menu however. We offer both A La Carte and said menu simply to address as many guests requirements as possible, those wanting high end fine dining in the restaurant and those who simply want beans on toast or whatever - we will happily give anything the guest wants (within reason, obviously), no bother. We're not overly precious about who sits where, yes the restaurant is fully set for A La Carte dining with napkins , ice buckets etc etc, quite formal one might say and probably not the majority's first choice of seating to take the bar menu, prefering the less formal, probably more comfortable sofas and chairs in the lounge and bistro, but everyones different as i said earlier. Sorry you felt that the staff were not happy with your request, this simply wasnt the intention to make you feel awkward or an inconvenience in any way. We offer free WIFI throughout the entire hotel, so not sure why you couldnt get on. Thanks again for the comments, they were fair and balanced. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    153
    88
    42
    24
See reviews for
167
367
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alderdhot
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights for my sister's wedding we paid 100.00 per night. Room was small and not clean. There was a build up of cobwebs in the bathroom door. The carpet was stained and the bathroom floor dirty. It is advertised as a boutique hotel I have stayed in better premier inns than this for a lot less. There is no hotel information in the room and we had two tv channels in our room both sports channels. My view was of the M6.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Sorry you feel this way about the hotel. I can assure you we have more than 2 TV channels - all the freeview options plus SKY Sports, so in excess of 50. It is of course dissapointing to read such comments and to think that a guest has gone away let down with the exerience. Our rooms are well above average size, even our standard rooms have a sit off area with club chairs and feature fireplace, so its a little surprising to hear that they are small, even more surprising to read that they are dirty, as this is certainly not our standard. Thanks for the comments , all feedback is shared and actioned where appropriate. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I live locally to this hotel and went for a meal here one Saturday night. We are not accustomed to 'gourmet' food and after looking at the menu we were given (the gourmet one) we decided to ask for the bar menu because we only fancied steak off the gourmet menu and didnt fancy paying £30 for it! Being local we thankfully knew the other menu existed but the man who brought it to us didnt seem impressed! We orderd off the bar menu and felt a slight atmosphere when our starters were brought to us but they were delicious so we didnt care! While we were eating our next course (equally as yummy) a young couple came into the restaurant and looked over the gourmet menu two or three times, clearly having the problem that we had! The young man asked if there was any other menu and was told by a lady ( looked like a manager not a waitress) that this was the only menu! My husband and I were appalled, as we ate our burger and steak pie, that this young man would likely end up spending a weeks wages on food he didnt even want! People all over the restaurant seemed to be having similar problems as they were ordering chips alongside the gourmet food!
Overall the service is brilliant, food very nice (if a bit pricey) and the atmosphere is relaxing...but don't be afraid to ask for the bar menu if the gourmet one dosnt appeal to you! There is absolutely a place for this up market hotel and food in Gretna, however most of the time people just want a steak pie and chips!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thanks for the feedback Joka. How very strange that this scenario occured , i cant quite fathom it. As you correctly say, we do have an extremely popular/extensive bar/lounge menu which is always available and clearly laid out on all of the bar and lounge area tables - We have this menu for the very reasons you describe, some guests simply prefer a nice burger, homemade pie or a simple butty as opposed to the A La Carte menu. Thanks again for the post, much appreciated. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely hotel, very stylish decor, large room with huge bed and all frills, lovely food, fish and chips were 5* presented and high quality. All staff very friendly and attentative, breakfast in the morning was very wholesome and tasty, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Silver-bluemotion, thanks for the review, so pleasing to read that your time with us was a pleasurable one. Do motor back to us some time soon. Regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Smith's @ Gretna Green and was actually a freebie that we won following our first stay there in November. As before, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are large and spacious, we had a lovely balcony (although the weather wasn't suitable for it!), the staff were polite, helpful and kind and we enjoyed ourselves. The breakfast is run on buffet lines and we could help ourselves to as much as we liked including a full Scottish. We were really surprised to wake up the next morning and see that it was already 8.15am, we'd slept so well in the huge comfy bed. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and it is extremely well placed for north of England / south of Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are away from the nearby dual carriageway A75 and some of them also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thanks Traveller, great review, it was good to have you back. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed end of march 2013,and was allocated a family room on the first floor. When we first got into the room,the sheets had yellow stains,the carpet all around the bathroom door was damp and smelt like the room had previously been flooded,the dressing table chair was ripped,and we were right opposite the moterway and underneath the staffs smoking area. I forwarded this complaint towards the staff,and they were very helpful,although there were no rooms available that night,we were offered to sleep in that room for the one night and the next day we would be checked into the ash suite for free until we left the next day. The staff were very understanding and we thank them for that. The ash suite wa gorgeous! overall the whole hotel was a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks for the post Sketchxo, glad that your initial concerns were rectified so quickly and that you enjoyed your stay so much. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruabon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had our wedding at Comlongon Castle, used Smiths as our base, in which to get ready before the wedding and then later on to have our small family dinner after the wedding.

On arrival our rooms were ready ( we arrived before 2pm), so we were very pleased. The rooms were lovely, a nice size, had everything you need, including the worlds most powerful hottest shower!!! ....loved it. Also the bed was very comfy. My only gripe about my arrival is that the reception is cold and unwelcoming ( which is a shame) and the lift needs some attention.

The best man and myself had lunch in the bar area which was really good.

After the wedding we'd arranged for dinner in one of the private dinning rooms, which to be totally honest looked a bit tired! The food was quick, presented well and tasted good. That's why I think the room could be better, to compliment the great care and attention that they give to the food.

Service how ever, seemed rather lacking. I don't recall being asked if we'd like drinks on the table, or being offered coffees after the meal. Which would have increased their sales. But all in all everyone seemed to have enjoyed them selves.

Breakfast, was plentiful, good choice, from cereals, to cooked, to continental. But wasn't impressed with the scrambled eggs.

I'm probably over critical as I work for a multi million pound high end restaurant company. But we did enjoy ourselves. I would recommend this hotel, great location, easy to find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths-GG, General Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Enz0007, thanks for the review and the constructive comments made alongside your praises, really appreciate that. All in all glad that you had a good time with us and i look forward to you returning soon. Best regards Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green Dumfries, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Smiths At Gretna Green Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.