We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break-cheaper than one.............” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Gretna Green M74 to your Saves list
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
southport
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“2 night break-cheaper than one.............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Booked a two night break for me and my 13 year old son as we were travelling to turnberry to play golf living in southport-booked with late rooms.com and paid a total of £50 for two nights when the cost for one night was £51.............didnt actually stay the second night as it was only a further two hour drive home which we managed but it was a great deal neverthe less. decent accomodation with two double beds in the room- clean and well maintained. Didnt sample breakfast but would definately look to stay there again if i was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    47
    13
    11
See reviews for
49
83
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Having stayed in numerous chain convenience hotels this one surpassed the rest. Friendly welcome and the first time we haven't needed to ask for extra pillows or towels for 2 people in a double room!
No road noise in our room and a soft but comfy bed. Can't fault it at all really!
As another review said, walk to the services when you leave because you can't drive back round easily!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stopped here February 2012 as a stop-over when en-route to The Trossochs in Scotland, we booked it well in advance on a deal with a major national newspaper and paid just £10.00 for our twin room. The hotel was easy to find, straight off the motorway, and nearby there was a service station with several food outlets on hand. The receptionist at the hotel was friendly, polite and very helpful and quickly got us checked into our room. The room itself was very spacious and we found we had a double futon as well as a double-bed in our room, for those less scrupulous you could easily book a double room and fit 4 adults in it comfortably. The room was comfortable, clean and had a freeview TV as well as free wifi. The shower was fairly powerful and came with free shower gel which is always a bonus. On speaking to the receptionist the hotel is used by those marrying in Gretna Green but I personally would say book somewhere in the vollage itself as it is a 5-10 minute car journey, the receptionist told us it was £6 each way in a taxi but we drove in our own car. We slept perfectly and did not hear the traffic at all, we checked out with no fuss at all and were pleased to find the days complimentary newspapers in reception. All in all a good place to stop-over to split up a journey.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

staff are fantastic here nothing is too much trouble. rooms are really good and the beds are so comfy you wont want to get out of it. its a great location for getting out and about as you are right next to the motorway really good value for money

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AYR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My wife and I decided to take a short break, and we booked three days in the Days Inn Gretna and it proved to be a great choice the rooms are well serviced and the staff were efficient , friendly, and helpful in every way, add to this its position being central to quite a number of interesting places, we can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My partner and I stopped at the Days Inn on our way back home. Accompanying us was our small toy breed puppy which we had just purchased. Checking in was extremely disappointing. The room was foul smelling (heavily scented with something to TRY to mask the smell of dog) and covered in animal hair. An obviously pet designated room. It was apparent that a hoover wasn't used in between visits. Bathroom was relatively clean, minus the floor. Sofa bed was dirty and had a heavy duty durable fabric on it- something I wasn't going to sit on, let alone my puppy. Terrible sleep, woke up congested. A tip- walk over to Starbucks in the morning, as you won't be able to access the services when leaving the car park.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay again, based on the cleanliness of the pet room. Had stayed at a Days Inn the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

Me and a small party stayed here for 2 nights, the hotel was perfect and absolutely spotless, the lady manager Andrea helped us to find a place to eat and sort our wedding reception out too.
All in all a VERY FRIENDLY and PLEASENT place to stay.
Kind regards Martin & Georgie Sadler

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Gretna Green M74? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Gretna Green M74

Address: Junction 21/22, A74M Northbound | Welcome Break Services, Gretna Green DG16 5HQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Gretna Green M74 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Gretna Green is close to the M74 and M6 motorways, and within easy reach of Carlisle. It has free Wi-Fi and free parking. Newcastle-upon-Tyne and County Durham are about 1 hour from the hotel. The famous wedding village of Gretna Green is close by. Tasteful en suite rooms and personal service make this convenient hotel an ideal place to break your journey. Each bedroom has a TV (with Freeview channels), a free hot drinks tray and newspaper, a hairdryer and a trouser press. All rooms have broadband Wi-Fi at an additional cost. Pets are permitted in the hotel. Please inform the hotel when you make your booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Gretna Green M74 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gretna Green m74 Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Days Inn
Days Inn Gretna Green M74 Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Gretna Green M74, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.