We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anvil View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anvil View Guest House to your Saves list
Anvil View Guest House
Gretna, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Gretna Green B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for our wedding, this guest hotel was just lovely and could not have picked a better place to stay. The room was very clean and perfect size. The owners were so helpful even giving me a lift into town to get my make up done for my wedding.
I would recommend this guest house to anyone and would defintely book again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for our Wedding and were very disappointed! Reading some of there reviews I think there must be two Anvil Hotels in Gretna! The welcome was half hearted. We had asked if we wanted a full Scottish breakfast in the morning and when we said no to Haggis and Black pudding we got a sarcastic 'oh you ARE English aren't you!! The room was tiny, the towels looked about a hundred years old and it was very basic. Breakfast on the first morning was very good but we were asked 'do you want your towels changing?? yes of course we do! Second morning was dreadful. It was like we didn't exist! We were not served in order for breakfast. The table that arrived after us were served first but the host came over to us with two plates shoving the breakfast at us saying' its yours its yours' I said we haven't ordered yet its not ours! Oh yes it is... then the lady behind said it was theirs and he turned around and said oh sorry to them...no apology to us! I ordered just poached egg, bacon and mushroom. There were 4 slices of mushroom when it eventually came and two slices of bacon that looked deep fried and were inedible!! we waited 10 mins to see if he would clear our plates so I could point this out but he cleared the other tables and never returned. When we checked out there was no mention of how was our stay or wedding........never again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay fat the Anvil House for our Wedding. We stayed in the cottage which is a stunning accomodation with a beautiful sunroom overlooking the gardens which are delightfully illuminated at night. The cottage has a good sized & well equipped kitchen combined with an excellent 3 piece bathroom. The bed was warm and comfortable and all facilities were immaculately presented and clean. Our parents stayed in rooms in the main house,which again exceeded all our expectations. The included breakfast was awesome in quality and quantity.and representative of the value for money of the package. Nothing was too much trouble for the proprieters and we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Anvil View, especially if you are getting married at the Old Blacksmiths Shop, which is literally 2 minutes across the road.
Our whole wedding experience was undoubtedly enhanced by our stay.there.

Room Tip: The cottage has a well equipped kitchen which allows self catering and direct access to the garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east ayrshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

we stayed here on a weekend away for our anniversary. The hosts were really nice and recommended a few places we could go for dinner in Gretna the 1 we opted for was value for money and extremely good . The accommodation was lovely and clean and breakfast was delicious. Slept so welI i even asked where the duvets were purchased!! would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I only stayed over night but it was a fantastic stay. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in the dinner room which was very nice and had a good selection of food and tea and coffee. We asked the staff at the front desk how to get to certain places and they were more than willing to help. The room was perfect and a very nice welcome with chocolates on the bed and clean towels plus plenty of room. We also had a big tv and dvd player which we would have used if were too stay longer. The hotel is located near to many attractions and all the locals were friendly too. We can not wait to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

well what can i say! great value great rooms great service! we will be back! The rooms we well serviced, very clean and a warm welcome was given! The staff were very helpful and would bend over backwards to make our stay extra special.

The breakfast was beautifully cooked with a wide range of selection, including salmon with scrambled egg! which mmmmmm my favorite! You also have a choice a continental breakfast with fresh fruit and yogurt!

overall we will be back to stay here again, was a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

very misleading web site e.g kingsize room did not mean kingsize bed, only that the room was a bit bigger than the double room which by the way was tiny. no towels changed or cleaning done during our stay.Did expect more for the price.Good breakfast but a lot of money for sausage and egg.

Room Tip: if possible stay at smiths
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anvil View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil View Guest House

Address: Gretna, Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Gretna Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful guest house situated in the heart of Gretna Green, located opposite the world famous Blacksmiths Shop and within walking distance from the renowned Smiths Hotel. We offer a range of en suite rooms which all include an LCD TV, wifi, tea and coffee facilities and complimentary toiletries. Alongside this, we also offer our newly renovated apartment which provides your own kitchen, lounge and conservatory leading to landscaped gardens.Included within your stay, we also provide our guests with a diverse breakfast menu and can cater for many dietary requirements. Secure off road parking is available and we can do our very best in accommodating for any requests during your stay that you may have. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anvil View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil View Guest House Gretna Green, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anvil View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.