We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreme hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bank of Fleet Hotel

Bank of Fleet Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bank of Fleet Hotel to your Saves list
Bank of Fleet Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gate House of Fleet, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extreme hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Hospitality above and beyond expectations. Proprietor is a welcoming host, she even drove me 10 miles to a festival and brought me back then sat and chatted with me in the bar - appreciated as I was a lone guest. Room spotless and great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Never stayed in hotel, however had a very enjoyable lunch.
Portion size was huge and fantastic value for money.
Staff very friendly.
If in the area, would recommend a visit here for some good hearty food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston ENGLAND
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We spent a couple of hours here one evening. We had tried to get a seat to have a meal the night before but they were fully booked which was a good sign but unfortunate for us. Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is another visit to to the Bank as I usually call it is the same as my last review as usual the staff are the same one big happy family. Meals were very good and I advise their three day break as it gives you the chance to explore the area

Room Tip: Room 1is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We only stayed for a drink as we were staying nearby but we liked the bar, the prices were very reasonable and the staff and patrons at the bar were very friendly and welcoming, sometimes in small towns you can feel like a complete stranger but everyone was very helpful, toilets were clean and the food that was being served to other patrons looked good and large portions.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went last night, group of 8 for a birthday meal and we couldn't have asked for a better service, great food, great staff and great value. With 8 of us the service was very good, no cold food and we could take as long as we liked eating, no rushing you out of the door. Very good value too. We have been here a few times before and we are never disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This review refers to the Bank of Fleet restaurant. Here you will find a spacious, bright and pleasant restaurant area, with access to a beer garden. The staff are friendly, efficient and accommodating. The food is very nice andextremely generous in its portions (too much for us!). If you are after simple, honest, no-nonsense bar food, this is the place to go. Ian, the Chef, serves a lovely Chicken Jalfrezi, as well as other home-made dishes. The staff, especially Kirsty, Elspeth and Kay-lee are so welcoming and friendly to regulars and tourists. Our only point for improvement would be that the bar area (which you have to go thorough to get to the restaurant) is a tad shabby, but don't let this put you off. The Bank of Fleet represents excellent value for money, combined with efficient and friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bank of Fleet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank of Fleet Hotel

Address: Gate House of Fleet, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bank of Fleet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Bank of Fleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank Of Fleet Hotel Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank of Fleet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.