We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“step back and enjoy the peace and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cally Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cally Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cally Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   just outside Gatehouse of Fleet, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2DL, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“step back and enjoy the peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I dont know who enjoyed this most me or my hubby I couldnt keep him away from the golf course he loved just being able to step out of the front door to the 1st tee anytime he liked as it wasnt very busy, i walked round with him and the views are just amazing. The pool and jacuzzi where great for just lying back and enjoying the peace. Dinner was a formal affair but we loved getting dressed up and being served by the most attentive staff in the resturant, our waitress was very droll and we found her hilarous. Special mention to the two young guys in the bar who where very friendly Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    45
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
75
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just spent an excellent weekend away at the Cally Palace Hotel in Gatehouse of Fleet, Scotland. The staff and management were very attentive and friendly, and I must single out Callum who waited on in the bar, for exceptional customer service.

The setting was superb and there was a choice of walks including a stroll to the nearby beach. The forest setting gave an opportunity for amazing views of the stars, due to no light pollution, although the weather did mar this spectacle.

Room Tip: We had a rear garden/ golf course view room but a front room overlooks the golf course too, so you r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 20 years and it never fails to please. Yes there are negatives but they are far outweighed by the positives.
The staff must be extremely happy working here as the same faces greet us every time! The bar staff and waiting staff are particularly friendly and attentive.
A very big plus for golfers is that the first tee is a step away from the entrance and with no members there is never a hassle to get on the tee as tee times are widely available. The leisure facilities are good with swimming pool, sauna, snooker table and table tennis all available.
It is not a hotel that I would recommend to youngsters as I think they would find it rather stuffy! We 'young at hearts' enjoy the requirement to wear a jacket for dinner and love the grand piano being played as you eat.
This time we got the impression that the hotel is struggling in the present economic climate, no fruit in the rooms as there has been before and the food was sadly not up to the high standard that we have previously experienced.
As I said at the beginning the positives outweigh the negatives so we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are all very interesting, large, comfortable and with excellent views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

An up-market, but far from rip-off, hotel set in immense landscaped woodland grounds and with its own 18 hole golf course for the use of its guests. Food and service are first rate and the rooms well appointed and spacious. The neighbourhood, Dumfries and Galloway, merits a visit on its own account.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

After what was the perfect wedding day my wife and I chose to stay in this hotel on the night of the wedding after hearing it was the best hotel in the Stewartry on par (and price!) with the likes of Crieff Hydro etc. Now usually I wouldn't be one for complaining on trip advisor but have taken to doing so as I think it's absolutely outrageous that this hotel with its outdated 1980s hotel rooms is charging a much as it is and especially not providing a wedding couple with some feeling of a special stay. We were woken up with dodgy plumbing from the toilet at half 6 and noisy children running down the hallway. This is something you would not want on any hotel stay, let alone the morning after your wedding! We had to hold up the 1980s shower since it was broken and breakfast was slow. Not even a chocolate on the pillow for the wedding couple!

Apart from the grounds and superb golf course, this hotel is ripping guests off for what is a very average hotel experience. A £ or 2 needs to be spent on this place to bring it into the 21st century!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I had expected great things from Cally Palace, the reviews seemed to be either 5* or 1*. Friends had recommended it. The hotel is lovely, set in lovely grounds, with squirrels and deer roaming. The golf course is amazing, very quiet, and beautifully manicured. Our room was HUGE - but there are issues. The weekend we visited had some large groups staying, so this may have impacted on our experience. Although the staff were lovely, we experienced some very poor and slow service, no drinks brought pre dinner, although we ordered several times, slow service, no cutlery. Nothing really bad, and complaints were dealt with with a smile, but just not as good as you would expect this hotel to be. The swimming pool was full of kids and teenagers, and there was only one shower - in use. The turn down service in the room, turned down 2 corners on the bed, but didn't replace toiletries, sort towels, or close the curtains. The decor is dated, but that isn't the problem, some staff training would be helpful, good will and friendly personalities just isn't enough. The food was excellent, it just took a long time to get it!

Room Tip: Upgrading your room is probably worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We do not often return to the the same place as we like variety in our travel ,but Cally Palace is an exception . Above all we love the ambiance of the place :the very friendly and efficient staff; the setting of the hotel; the quality of the food, especially dinner; spacious rooms and good leisure facilities.
We went on a 3 night golf break and the weather was mixed. The golf course was challenging, especially holes 13 and 15. The course itself was very wet ,soggy, with much moss instead of grass BUT this was a consequence of copious snow-melt and weekend heavy rain so we sympathize with the ground-staff.
We would also like to recommend the area of Dumfries and Galloway which is charming in its variety of scenery and outdoor attractions-yet is by-passed by many holidaymakers. This allows us not to be over-run by fellow travelers, as can happen in the nearby Lake District.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cally Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cally Palace Hotel

Address: just outside Gatehouse of Fleet, Gatehouse of Fleet DG7 2DL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gatehouse of Fleet
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Gatehouse of Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cally Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Cally Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cally Hotel Palace
Hotel Cally Palace
Cally Palace Hotel Gatehouse Of Fleet, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cally Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.