We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not going back.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marthrown of Mabie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marthrown of Mabie
Save
You added Marthrown of Mabie to your Saves list
Mabie Forest, Dumfries DG2 8HB , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not going back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

For tha passed 5/6 years we have gone to Marthrown of Mabie and have enjoyed it, I had even recommended it hear on the site.

This year due to weather we could not make our normal Easter trip, so we book the Yurt for a few days in August.

First night was lovely, however Friday and Saturday night we may have well slept in the city centre next to a night club.

When we politely explained our disappointment to the site warden, the response was "it's kind of pot luck if you get a noisy party, it's the chance you take"

we will not be going back, and I would strongly advise anyone who's thinking of going to ask if there are any large party's book on the dates as you my not get the woodland experience your expecting.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
15
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had been very excited about our family visit to this campsite, which is in a great location in the forest. Unfortunately on our second night there a number of parties there including a large
stag party. The party brought large sound system and played dance music all night, it was till going when we got up. Because of the relative quietness of the forest the thud of the base was very intrusive and it was very difficult to sleep. The owners did not ask the party to turn their music off. If we had been told about the parties we would have chosen somewhere else to stay, so it spoilt what was supposed to be a special family holiday. We left early.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We love Marthrown. We stayed in the tipi this year and the yurt last year. What we like about it is that the tipi and yurt are sited away from other people so you can really relax. The owners could easily have put in lots of yurts and tipi's but have kept their place special...so thank you for this. Mike and Pam are full of enthusiasm and energy for Marthrown. Love the composting toilets, outdoor shower and the total sense of peace in the place. Marthrown reminds me of somewhere you would find in New Zealand. Ok, if you like 5 star hotels and boutique guesthouses, this might not be the place for you...but if you love nature, sustainable living and genuine people who live what they preach...then Marthrown will be just up your street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My brand-spanking new husband and I had our reception here. It was fantastic.
This is how it went - the hot tub was always hot (didn't need to do anything), the hog was roasted to perfection, complete with crackling that has become the stuff of legend (didn't need to do anything), the trimmings, deserts and salads were of portions of such large size that there was enough left to make wee lunchboxes the next day ( this includes all the midnight snacks and tipsy sandwiches made at 2am) and, can I mention, you didn't even have to do the dishes afterwards!
We were given help locating a local brewery that sorted us out with beer kegs for the weekend, and the site is stocked with pots,pans, plates and other eating devices so you are totally set up with the essentials.
At night, when the party had finally wound down (which took a while, as the soundsystem in the roundhouse was so motivating and the vibes of the forest so enjoyable), then you still had the calls of owls and the fresh, earthy forest air to fill your lungs with.
Epic.
And highly,highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you stay in dorms, it's always good practice to bring earplugs for potential snorers. And if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

my brother and his partner had their wedding there 12th july, it was magical, bunkhouse was great, campsite was perfect, all so eco friendly, our host`s were so nice, we would definitely go again , there is much more to this place than you read on the web site, totally fantastic place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We recently stayed here for a wedding and it was the perfect setting. Bunkhouses are comfortable and nice. Campsite is large and good ground. Hot tub was amazing and really nice with a cider at the end of the day. The breakfast was lovely and the hosts were very accommodating. Thank you very much x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed recently in one of the bunk house rooms as part of a group of 5 mountain bikers. I cant believe how good this place was for the money. Room is basic as you would expect, good self catering facilities, BBQ area, hot tube (very useful to sooth the riding muscles), sauna and all this in the middle of the Marbie forest.

Great place to use as a base to visit many of the 7 Stanes mountain bike routes (We did Ae, Kiroughtree, Dalbeattie and Marbie). Special thanks to Pam and co for setting us up for a full days ride with a quality full cooked breakfast. Absolutely enjoyed everyday and would not hesitate to visit again. See you same time next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marthrown of Mabie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marthrown of Mabie

Address: Mabie Forest, Dumfries DG2 8HB , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Try somewhere different - we have a Celtic Roundhouse, Tipi, Mongolian Yurt, Bunkhouse with 26 beds over 4 rooms and a camping area up in the forest. We also have a hot tub and sauna in the grounds for our guests.Looking forward to seeing you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marthrown Of Mabie Hotel Dumfries
Marthrown Of Mabie Dumfries, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marthrown of Mabie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.