We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scottish Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dumfries to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dumfries
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Scottish Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Having never been to Dumfries I searched around the internet and found the Aston hotel which looked to be a very nice building and had very good reports from previous visitors. We were certainly NOT disappointed and stayed for two nights. The room was on the ground floor overlooking the gardens, it was very well furnished with a settee and a very comfortable king-sized bed. We ate dinner in the restaurant on both evenings, the staff were very welcoming and helpful. If we ever go to Dumfries again we will certainly make a beeline for the Aston

Room Tip: as for the ground or first floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    219
    69
    36
    17
See reviews for
80
363
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I have to say I am biased and I totally love this hotel. The setting is superb, the staff are fantastic and the rooms are delicious. The peace and quiet is quite outstanding. They have the best showers in Britain!

Room Tip: So far all the rooms I've been in have been great but the ones at the back are particularly love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Eileen, thank you for the glowing review on the hotel and my team here.

It's lovely to hear the team having a mention, i have off course shared this with them

Hopefully we will see you back at the hotel very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic overnight at this lovely hotel. The room was very comfortable and very clean. Our stay included a bottle of prosecco which was waiting for us in our room. We were able to change the bottle at the bar for a chilled one and glasses. We enjoyed the afternoon sitting in the gardens enjoying our drinks. The evening meal was also included and the food was excellent and staff were friendly. Overall a very enjoyabl time and will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanking you for writing a review of your recent stay at the hotel.

As the new General Manager, it's delightful to receive such lovely feedback from guests regarding the hotel & my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have just returned home after spending 2 nights bed and breakfast and attending our nephews wedding. We were made to feel very welcome by all of the staff we came into contact with, from management to cleaners. We were delighted with our room, it was clean and welcoming and the bed was a lot more comfortable than a lot of beds we have slept in, our job takes us all over the country and we regularly stay in hotels. The staff went out of their way to provide excellent customer service, going that extra mile to make us feel very welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal in Wheelers restaurant and are looking forward to returning soon, hopefully when Marco Pierre White is at the restaurant. Three members of staff who stood out and definitely went that extra mile are Shirley, Kerry and Faye. Thank you so very much for helping to make this weekend so special. Hope to see you all again very soon.

Room Tip: Room 101 is a very generous size and has a bath with overbath shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Many thanks for taking time to write a wonderful 5 star review on the hotel.

It's always lovely to hear team member mentioned by name and hear they are going the extra mile and i have of course shared the review with all the team.

Hopefully we will see you again at the hotel over the coming months
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We booked an executive room at the Aston Hotel because we really wanted to try the Pierre Marco White restaurant. The website made it look like a country house hotel. What you don't see I'd that the rooms are all in a eighties style office block type of annexe. We checked in two hours after our room was supposed to be available, the girl on reception told us that our bottle of prosecco was waiting in our room, which was on the ground floor. We left reception and walked along a corridor which was littered with the detritus of the previous nights room service, linens and other rubbish. We arrived at our room and found it to be open, what a mess the furniture was in the middle of the floor, the bed unmade, the safe on the middle of the bed and the curtains half open half closed. Surely the staff should have advised reception that the was not fit for habitation. Also no way even if ready would this room have been classed as executive. We returned to reception spoke to the duty manager who seemed to have no idea as to what was going on, we decided at that point to leave. So unfortunately could not review the restaurant which had drawn us to the hotel in the first place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear bobnsus,

Thank you for writing us a review. I apologize that you did not receive an exemplary hotel stay with regards to the room condition and the level of service you have received. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information about your experience. We look forward to hearing from you soon and be of further assistance.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My daughter took me for my birthday 19/05/61 and though we live in Dumfries I have a passion for food as it is my job, we had been the summer before and was quite impressed, on our return it was nice to see one of the waitresses from our last vist, however the food was another story, scallops not fresh and cold, the two different steaks we ordered, was not to the standard of a Marco Pierre White restaurant, the rib eye steak was very over cooked to the point more than half of it was left,(it was meant to be med/rare) the other steak( sirloin ) was slightly over cooked and very sinuary, when explained to a member of staff the situation, I was asked if we would like anything else, but the length of time it took to relay the message due to staff shortage meant we had passed the point of wanting anything more, I did explain I was in the profession and understood the workings of a commercial kitchen, however I do not think my opinon was taken on board as constructive, therefore I feel no improvement would be made in the cooking of the steaks. There are some good restaurants in Dumfries, sadly in my opinon this is not one of them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Linda G,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. As always we are glad to read feedback from our valued guests. We’re sorry your dining experience at our restaurant was a let down. Your feedback has been forwarded to the appropriate departments and will be used to reconsider improvements needed. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a three night stay B.B + evening meal. Very satisfied with the room, and the food was exceptional. Marco Pierre White has put his name to the restaurant and it shows. Will be returning very soon .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dumfries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.