We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay and more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dumfries to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dumfries
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Overnight stay and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here overnight on our way further north, but would recommend it for a longer stay. The grounds are amazing, ask for a room with a view over the gardens/church. The rooms are a good size with everything you need and well maintained and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, although buffet the hot food was regularly replenished rather than volume being kept hot. Overall a good overnight stop for us but would consider a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Request views over the gardens and church not the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post this review and for using the Aston for your overnight stop as we are just a few miles from the M 74.Would be pleased to welcome you for a return visit for a longer stay to enjoy the many sights and attractions you will find in Dumfries & Galloway. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    231
    77
    40
    21
See reviews for
89
379
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Came here on a double Itison deal so were booked for four nights. We enjoyed it so much that we booked for a 5th night - and even got a brill deal on that (DB&B for the price of B&B.
The room was a decent size with very comfy king-size bed. Nice to have two chairs and appreciated the free wi-fi. TV was a bit disappointing, with only half-a-dozen channels and no way of knowing what was on.
The garden view was lovely though. The hotel is in extensive grounds, well-worth a walk round.
The shower is one of the best I've ever used. Very spacious, hot and powerful. Staff were all very helpful and friendly.
Food was first class and portions at dinner were plentiful. One small irritation was that staff cleared away the cooked breakfast items from the buffet ahead of "closing time" and we felt under pressure to vacate our seats quicker than we'd have liked.
However our overall experience was an excellent one and we'd highly recommend The Aston as a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi David
Thank you for this review and for sharing your experience. The isiton deal has been extremely popular and we will be offering another one. Note your only negative point but please to say this has been addressed. All bedrooms will have new TV’s within a few weeks. Hope to see you again.Kind regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Made an overnight stopover here as part of a larger group. The rooms were good, the staff friendly and the food - a set mene for the large group, suprisingly good.

The grounds made a nice backdrop and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thank you and hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your holiday as well. Kind Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked via ITISON and was excellent value . Hotel was great, staff very friendly and made feel welcome. Room was lovely with comfy bed and powerful shower. Breakfast buffet 1st class and credit to the chefs for keeping it freshly made with constant topping up.only downside was expensive bar prices. We actually saved money going into Town with taxi . Overall highly recommended . Beautiful grounds makes an ideal setting .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Pleased to see we have another satisfied guest from our ITISON offer. Thank you for your comments especially those on the staff who will be delighted to read. Bar prices are higher than some other, perhaps not similar establishment in town. This coupled with very reasonable taxi fares compared to other places may give this impression but overall I feel we give excellent value in all our special offers. Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Went along to the Aston for a 3 night dbb trip were originally given a room facing onto car park which isnt nice as gardens are great but got a swap no problem.Rooms are very nice ,modern with a great shower(no bath) but as other folks have said the tv is a shocker .I believe this is a poor area for reception but six channels with no sound on two and awful pictures on all.I know its not the main reason to go on a break to watch tv but even trying to check weather etc it would be useful to have a "working" tv.Bed fine and tea and coffee good.The meals are as one reviewer already wrote 4 star ,probably better in fact.Plenty of gluten-free choices ,only quibble the specials each night seemed to run out early each of the three nights something was a goner and booked at 8 oclock which isnt that late.The staff are absolute stars from front desk to the waiters and waitreesses and housekeeping too .Very friendly and attentive ,thank you all .Would go back no problem.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor with a view to gardens and hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Wow! What a great review covering all aspects of your stay. Feedback is so important to us to ensure we are living up to customer’s expectations. Pleased to confirm we will shortly be installing new TV’s in all bedrooms which should resolve your only negative point. Hopefully see you again Kind regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburghscotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

just stayed at the Aston hotel at the weekend, the surrounding grounds were lovely and the rock garden was very peaceful, it was to early in the year to experience the colour, but must be beautiful in the summer will revisit. the hotel itself was very pleasant the room was lovely the wife loved the bed, evening meal and breakfast was more than adequate, staff very friendly. Will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hi William. Delighted you enjoyed your weekend leisure break at The Aston. Pleased you found time to view the estate and rock gardens. Thank you for taking the time to post and look forward to your return visit. Will keep you up dated on our future leisure packages. Best Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband was born in Dumfries and moved to Australia with his parents at age 12. We visited Dumfies in the 70s as a couple and went back again last year. Dumfries itself has wonderful ,very friendly and polite folks and The Aston was no different!! The rooms were very clean, roomy ,staff friendly and the breakfast had a great variety !! We went back and forth a few times hence my mention of rooms rather than room and it was just as welcoming each time. The hotel is set in wonderful grounds and it is always peaceful. The hotel is a combination of old and new and we stayed in the new.I have to add Dumfries ia a wonderful place to visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new annexe and it was nice quiet and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Ah- there’s no place like home!!Delighted to hear that as Australian “Doonhamers” (people who hail from Dumfries) you have enjoyed your visit. It is always a pleasure to receive favourable comments and we do our best to ensure your visit is one to remember. It’s a long way to come, but if you are ever “home again” again please make yourself known. Hope you had a pleasant journey home. Kind Regards & Best Wishes, Mike Phillips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dumfries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.