We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dumfries to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dumfries
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cosy weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

our recent stay here was lovely,itison deal was excellent, value, appreciated prosecco and chocolate,nicely positioned cosy hotel ,rooms were clean furnished in contemporary style.executive rooms have nice bathrooms not all rooms have baths,so request on booking

Room Tip: upgrade to executive room is good value,although no fluffy robes or slippers available,also no fridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Trisha. The review on your recent stay through the ITISON offer is much appreciated by all of us at The Aston. More offers will be advertised in the future so perhaps welcome you again. In the meanwhile,best regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    220
    70
    37
    17
See reviews for
80
366
20
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have stayed here so many times and have never been disappointed in any aspect of the place.
On previous occasions, breakfast has been a bit on the disorganised side, but this time everything was perfect.

The hotel has always been clean and tidy, and the staff always courteous.

Strange comment from a previous reviewer complained about hospital tiling and old hospital corridors.....very odd, the hotel is of a great standard and totally in keeping with the buildings around it.

Plentiful parking, and walking in the grounds of the hotel is a pleasure. If you're up for it, leave the car and a 20 minute walk will take you into Dumfries itself.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Stewart thanks for this review. Always good to read, more so from returning guests. Pleased that breakfast was okay and take note of this point. Appreciate your comment on the previous review but I suppose everyone is entitled to an opinion but I have always thought it adds immensely to the character of the building. Please keep coming, Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is fantastic, I almost overlooked it because of the strange old and new of the building, but it is lovely inside, and sits in a beautiful setting. There is plenty of parking and the staff are very very friendly and customer focused. The rooms are beautiful with a powerful shower and very deep bath. The food in the restaurant is plentiful with lots of choice, and the whole hotel has a very relaxing and quiet quality about it. I am a manager of a hotel myself and am very aware of customer service and cleanliness of rooms, and this hotel ticks every box. The only downside to the rooms is that the beds were unbearably soft, which led to sore backs.

Room Tip: we upgraded at al low cost to a superior room which was beautiful, it overlooked the gardens and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Always good to read this type of review especially from a fellow manager.Aware we have a few soft beds and pleased to say replacements are on there way. Thanks for taking the time to write and will certainly keep you up dated on future special events and offers and hopefully see you again, Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

A good hotel but no frills like pools etc. Decor looks like an old hospital which is a bit scary as it is located next door to the new one. Food was not as expected and let the hotel down. Clean and friendly but didn't like the 50's hospital style tiled walls.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Timmy,
Nothing to worry about I can assure you. Guests I have spoken to tend to find the history fascinating and interesting. The tiles are listed so they will remain a feature between old and new. Currently planning a Gym and Spa. Feedback appreciated. Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We drove up from Preston for a wedding at the Crichton so the Aston was the ideal location to stay. We booked in and the reception staff were so friendly . The room looked lovely and the bathroom was stunning , loved the shower room. Went to the restaurant that night, given menus while we waited so that we could be seated when our starter was ready,
the food was lovely, bang bang chicken salad to start was delicious and balmoral chicken for main. The prices were really reasonable and the waiters were friendly and helpful.
The view from our room was stunning, a view of the church were the wedding was taking place and the hall where the evening do would be .
We were down early for breakfast and enjoyed a good hearty English breakfast which was delicious and filling. I would definitely stay here again as I haven't experienced many exceptional 3 star hotels which did make me wonder why it wasn't a 4 star :)
Another point, we didn't need house keeping so put the hook on the door so they left a bag of supplies outside our door just in case we needed clean towels which was very thoughtful

Room Tip: We had room 219 which has got a lovely view of the church and easterbrook hall and the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Jenny, what a fabulous review covering all aspects of your stay.Will relay your comments on food to Symon our head Chef and his team. Thanks also for your mention of housekeeping. Will keep you informed of our leisure breaks and trust we will see you again. In the meanwhile best regards and thanks again. Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just had a fabulous weekend at this fantastic hotel and can't wait to go back. It ticket every box for us. It is set in a lovely peaceful location, The room was clean and comfortable and we didn't hear any noise from the other rooms, The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant is superb. The breakfast buffet was delicious and set us up for the day. Our package only included an evening meal on the first night but it was so good we immediately booked a table for the following evening. If we had to find something to complain about then we would have to say that the pillows are a little on the hard side and could probably do with replacing but it wasn't a major issue for us, All in all great value for money and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Jill
Great stay, great review, both happy people. Thank you and appreciate you for taking the time to write.
Will keep you up dated on all our leisure breaks and hopefully see you again shortly. Kind regards
Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I use this hotel for business when in Dumfries. It is a constant surprise that they don't attract (or seek?) a fourth star.
The location is great, in the grounds of an old sanatorium complex - The Crichton (follow signs thus labelled and you'll easily find the hotel) - on the edge of the town. It is a peaceful spot with views of the hills and safe, pleasant walking in the grounds.
Reception is always friendly and efficient. Rooms (located in a modern wing attached to the more historic main building, are contemporary, well equipped, comfortable and very clean, although please note that I've never had a room with a bath if that is important for you. TV channel choice is very limited and the free WiFi signal can be patchy in the rooms, as can mobile 'phone reception.
There is a bar and restaurant serving a good range of, essentially, pub grub choices of perfectly good quality and prices. Breakfast is a sumptuous affair with lots of hot and cold choices. Service in the restaurant is efficient and friendly.
Finally, a word for the usually unsung housekeeping staff. They keep the rooms and public areas in tip-top condition and always greet one with a smile and a "hello" if you come across them in their work. I once left a computer charger in my room and the housekeeping staff noticed and retained it for me, allowing me to collect it on a subsequent visit. I have no doubt that this is the type of hotel that would also have posted it on to me if I'd asked.
In summary - a friendly, clean, efficient hotel with all that the business traveller needs for a stay of, say 1-5 nights. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Delighted with this review and appreciate you taking time to write. Pleased also that you have mentioned the staff who will be shown a copy of this review.
We are currently planning some improvements to the hotel some of which are based on customer feedback. These I am sure will enhance guests experience when staying at the Aston. Happy to discuss with you on your next visit. Kind regards,Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dumfries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.