We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Dumfries

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Dumfries to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Dumfries
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at this lovely hotel. Staff very helpful and courteous, food lovely, clean and comfortable rooms. Would definitely return and recommend excellent value for money. Very comfortable beds and large shower. Good choice at dinner although many main courses had supplements added. For the price paid on eaaybreaks website this was actually justified. Hotel is well signposted through town centre.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    231
    77
    40
    21
See reviews for
89
379
20
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our four night break at the Aston. The room was very comfortable, the meals were excellent with good service and the staff were most helpful. We were very sorry to leave as it had been a nice wee break. This hotel is situated in a lovely part of Dumfries and we would love to return someday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We got married in the Crichton church on the 29th Sept,and we held our wedding reception in the hotel. Crystal the wedding coordinator was brill and all the staff were really good, the food is amazing and all the rooms are lovely. We had an amazing day thanks to all the staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just back from a wee mini break in dumfries,we stayed at the aston which we are glad we did.

We booked in really easily,and were offered an upgrade for only £10 for a supperior room which gave us a lovely garden veiw,the room was spotless and bathroom very modern n clean...(better than hilton glasgow).

breakfast was buffet style,very fresh and warm,and once again all staff very good at there job n cheerful.

we booked this hotel through BUYAGIFT.COM .....and we were vey satisfied with this site and with the hotrls they use.

i would highly recommend both site and hotel.

if u want to go out for dinner use the CAVEN ARMS,food was fantastic,DONT use the indian jewel in the crown at bottom of the hill it was so bad we had to complain sadly.

thanku xx

Room Tip: pay the extra for a superior room,veiws were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel was everything you would expect. The staff were friendly, the rooms and other areas were well furnished and the food was good. The grounds of the hotel are very picturesque and it is located away from the town centre. Don't really understand the bad reviews, they must have been staying somewhere else.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Agree with your comments entirely. Look forward to seeing you again hopefully. Best regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here on a three day break and found the hotel to be extremely comfortable. The staff were all very pleasant and hard working it was nice to go somewhere where the staff seemed to be happy in their work. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful as you could serve yourself and dinner were very enjoyable varied menu, good food and excellent service. The room was spacious, huge comfy bed and lovely fluffy white towels and the view was superb, The hotel is in a lovely location, try a walk round the grounds. We were lucky with the weather and had a great time dicovering the local history very interesting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Dumfries the people are very friendly and there are some interesting exhibitions and travelling around there is lots to discover.

Room Tip: Room 102 very comfy as it is a suite worth the extra just for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Great stay,great hotel and thanks for this great view. Pleased you have mentioned all the major points about your stay,especially your comments on the staff who I know will be appreciative. You appear to have kept yourself extremely busy but hopefully left something to see on another visit. Kind Regards Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

As i spend approxamatley 5 visits a year in the area on company business i have now made this my prefered accommodation whilst in the area have stayed in most of the other hotels within a 5 mile radius over the past 15 years and the Aston is the best by far.
All rooms are modern and spacious. maintained and cleaned to a very high standard

Restaurart area and bar a bit on the small size but presents no problems well layed and comfortable

Staff have changed in the restaurant and are far better than the previous waiting staff than 6 months ago 100% improvment well done the managment

(example would i require a sweet red wine with dinner ? then you would end up with the wrong food being delivered etc etc they never did get it just right) hopefully that is all behind them now


Dinner menu ok but has stayed the same for some time std steak chips fish burger with the odd special have gone through the menu at least twice but in saying that if no complaints why change

Tha Aston is situated in the grounds of the old Crichton Hospital with it`s large and spacious grounds easy access to all major locations for touring and business whilst travelling around the South West of Scotland. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are never complacent as we thrive to improve our standards all the time but it is good to receive such positive feedback from you especially from a regular visitor to the area. Appreciate you taking the time to write and look forward to you staying in the future. In the meanwhile kind regards. Mike Phillips
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dumfries

Address: Bankend Road, Dumfries DG1 4ZZ, Scotland (Formerly Aston Hotel Dumfries)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Aston
Aston Hotel Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Dumfries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.