We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirms previous great reviews - high standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manor Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Manor Hotel & Restaurant
Lockerbie Road | Torthorwald, Dumfries DG1 3PT, Scotland   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 55 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Confirms previous great reviews - high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Chose this hotel on the strength of previous reviews and wasn't disappointed. Very welcoming, from arrival to departure, without being imposing. Supported by polite and helpful staff. Food was excellent - from dinner in the restaurant (bar meals looked great, too) to individually cooked full Scottish breakfast. Very good value on B&B basis, but if you do push the boat out and have full dinner, it certainly won't break the bank. Delighted to recommend to fellow travellers with confidence - only criticism was that the shower was a little "gentle"... but only then is that a minor thing. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
22
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

we stayed at this hotel on the return journey from cotswald,strontian and mull,what a find,we loved the hotel,the couple who own it are so friendly,felt like we had known them for years and Angus the dog,so lovely.
They deserve to make a go of this hotel,food fantastic and they would help in any way they could.The scarecrow day was on during our stay and showed the hotel was 100% into the local community.
Adorded the hotel thinking of booking our stay next year.Thanks to all the staff Laraine and Peter Waldron

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed here for the first two nights of a 2 week trip to Dumfries and Galloway and Northern Ireland. We needed somewhere to chill, relax and forget work. The Manor succeeded in doing this for us. The owner welcomed us personally and made us feel at ease throughout our stay. Our room was adequate if small, and the small shower room was utilitarian whilst needing some work (mouldy ceiling, clogged extractor fan for example). It was quiet and adequately comfortable. This establishment is more like a pub with rooms than a "country house hotel". The bar is used by local folks and guests alike. It had a good atmosphere and the food was very good. There is a restaurant as well, but the bar serves bar food and restaurant food in whatever combinations you like, so we preferred the bar as the atmosphere was better. The dishes had some imagination and were cooked to order. The bar is well-stocked and includes a decent local ale. Breakfast was cooked to order and whilst fairly limited in range was nicely done.

So a very acceptable stay. I'd regard this as a budget hotel that does a good job with an informal warm welcome and decent food.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is our second time to stay at the Manor Country House Hotel. We were made welcome from the moment we stepped into the hotel. Our room was lovely - everything had been thought of, from the comfy bed and fluffy white towels (which are changed every day) to the little extras provided, including bottles of Scottish water and shortbread in with the teas & coffees in the room. However, what surprised us most was the food - The menu is extensive and would not be out of place in a top class city restaurant - prices were so reasonable. The full Scottish breakfast would set anyone up for the rest of the day! Ken and his family look after the guests so well, from adult to children. We plan to return again to this lovely hotel. There is something for everyone, well stocked bar, free internet, nice garden to sit in and the safe play area for the children.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

the service we received at the hotel was excellent the owner of the hotel and all the staff we met were very friendly. breakfast was really good plenty choice, we ate our tea in the hotel on the night we arrived plenty of choice on the menu excellent meal.
the room which we stayed in was very clean towels changed every day and bed made also had facilities in the room to make a coffee or tea.
the hotel was central to where we wanted to go as it is mid way between lockerbie and dumfries.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here for 4 days in July. First of all, it has to be said that the owner is really friendly and a great host. Our pub meals were alright and some of our family had large dinners off of the restaurant menu and said it was wonderful. Our breakfast was pretty good and plentiful.

The rooms were a bit of a downfall here in that they need an update and one of our family members had said that it was dusty in her room. I also thought the beds were a little uncomfortable and a bit small. I feel too that we should have been given the family room as we had paid for it and one of the people in our group didn't show up. However, this was never offered to us even though I'd told them that they weren't arriving (and was a little disappointing as we had a very small room).

One thing that all travellers to this hotel need to know is that you don't get a key to the front door. This means that there is a curfew and you need to be in at 12am. The owner stated this was due to insurance and the bar but we stayed at other places on our holiday that had bars and gave us keys to the front door.

Overall, okay but could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay the Manor Country House Hotel. The hosts were very friendly and made our stay enjoyable. Lovely views. The food is also very good. We would stay again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lockerbie Road | Torthorwald, Dumfries DG1 3PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Hotel & Restaurant is situated in the village of Torthorwald, near Dumfries, and is easily accessible on the A709 some 8 miles from the Lockerbie junction on the main North/South M74 Motorway and also 2 miles from the A75 Gretna to Stranraer/Irish ferries trunk road just off the Dumfries by-pass. The hotel consists of seven rooms and are all en-suite. The Criffel Family Room is especially popular as this can sleep two adults and 3/4 children. Free wi-fi is available and the hotel has its own large car park. There is also a beer garden for the warmer weather. Bar & Restaurant food is available every evening and weekend lunchtimes with a wide choice of food also enhanced with daily specials and a Kids menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Manor Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Hotel & Restaurant Dumfries, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.