We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Dumfries

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Dumfries to your Saves list
Premier Inn Dumfries
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3JX, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“week end break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Very friendly greeting and pleasant staff at the inn. as usual the rooms were spotless and comfortable. Evening meal could have been better at the adjoining restaurant, with the lasagne being somewhat luke warm and lacking taste , somewhat bland. when commenting on the fact there was a lack of concern an the chef seemed to spend most of his time behind the bar chatting to his mates.

Room Tip: All are good and there is little noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    122
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
109
125
16
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I arrived late in the evenings at this hotel having had a car breakdown earlier in the day and been "road rescued" so I arrived very tired, hungry and fed up at this hotel.
The receptionist was fantastic , very friendly, efficient and prompt with the basic instructions and directions etc.
The rooms was warm and comfortable, spotlessly clean and spacious.
I had a meal in the adjoining restaurant which was OK (but it was 15 minutes before it shut) - a microwave meal I'd guess but the breakfast int he same location next morning was exceptional in quality. Complete contrast.
I had a great nights sleep and was ready for the onward journey.

Thank you to the duty staff ... They were great and helped recover an otherwise fractious journey.
Would most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, D&G
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Lovely clean and well maintained hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again. In a great location, very close to main roads and town. Did not have food this time but have eaten at adjacent restaurant previously and had a lovely meal.



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very friendly staff, on all shifts. Rooms adequate, although this isn't a revamped Premier Inn, so a little dated now.

Alarming picture of Lenny Henry on the stand-up card next to my bed, which I hadn't noticed until I woke up the next morning and gazed longingly into his eyes, before coming to my senses and going for a cold shower.....

Cleaner would not accept that I didn't want my room cleaning due to being on a conference call and only staying 2 nights anyway. Her grasp of English wasn't great, but then again no worse than the locals (joke)

About £3 for a taxi into town to sample the nightlife. You might want to save yourself that £3 though, unless you read one of my other reviews. In that case, book a taxi now!

No complaints here, must also mention tons of parking spaces, even when the Vectra and BMW drivers need two spaces all to themselves.

Got given a parking disc, and mini town guide on arrival. shortbread biscuits n the room were nice, and munched while I was unpacking.

Room Tip: Nothing relevant to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Most people now know what to expect from a budget hotel, simple clean rooms, well heated, decent bathroom facilities and usually some kind of on-site restaurant/ bar, normally next door if not attached to the hotel.
This hotel does all of that, what makes it a memorable experience is the standard of service from the staff and in this case, I have to say the experience was great. From the receptionist to the breakfast staff I couldn't fault it. I didn't stay for dinner so I can't comment on it.
Situated just off the roundabout at the eastern side of the ring road around Dumfries is it dead handy to get to as well.
I give the premier inn Dumfries a big thumbs up.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can, the price rises for late bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Staff in the actual hotel were lovely. Rooms clean and spacious as we have come to expect from Premier inn. We had a dinner reservation for 12 people on the night of our stay; the food we were served was the worst I have had in a long time. Eventually restaurant manager reduced the bill, but it worries me what else is going on in that kitchen if the Chef/restaurant Manager will allow food to be sent from the kitchen that is burnt, cold and overlooked. Clearly they have very low standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Dumfries, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Two night stay on a short holiday break. Warm welcome by receptionist who looked out local information for us. She and other staff were very friendly and helpful. Room up to usual Premier Inn standard, but early riser on floor above disturbed us on the second morning before 7 am, thanks to wooden floor and lack of soundproofing. Continental breakfast at Table Table was OK, except for doughy croissants and luke warm coffee. The evening menu was disappointingly limited, the more so because two fish options were "off" and the battered calamari was overdone (dark brown). Service was efficient and courteous however. We felt that Table Table need to sharpen up their act and overall this was not as good an experience as usual for a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Go upstairs to avoid danger of early morning footsteps from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Dumfries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Dumfries

Address: Annan Road | Collin, Dumfries DG1 3JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#2 Family Hotel in Dumfries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Dumfries 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Dumfries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel Dumfries
Premier Inn Dumfries Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Dumfries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.