We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't disagree more with all poor reviews!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
60 Moffat Road, Dumfries DG1 1NY, Scotland
01387 259890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 108 Restaurants in Dumfries
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
1 review
“Couldn't disagree more with all poor reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Table booked without any hassle, staff offered quick & pleasant service, food was exquisite, prices reasonable for the quality of food being served.

Will definitely be dining here a second time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Little Italy, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hi there thank you so much for your review we think there is maybe a competitor miss behaving .

Kind Regards
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    86
    23
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Everything was great, food was nice, good atmosphere and we were seated in a good spot, I had a ham pizza which was delicious would most definitely come again if I had the chance, must get very very very good tips

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Little Italy, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks for your review and hop to see you again

Kind regards
Little Italy
Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food good, good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been to Little Italy on a couple of occasions. The food has been really good both times. On the first occasion, service was fine but on the second occasion, the service was poor. We had booked knowing that the table was required back by 7.45 - this was fine for our party as some members of the group needed to catch a boat. Unfortunately the service did not allow us to be finished on time. Having said that, we had a lovely evening sitting out on the decking in the shade on a warm evening. The food was, as ever, great and good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Little Italy, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi there thanks for your feed back unfortunate we were very bizz that night with some staffing problems but sorted now

Kind Regards
Little Italy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great meal in lovely relaxed surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

First meal in Little Italy tonight and it certainly did not disappoint! Garlic mushroom starter was lovely and the pizzas were huge and totally delicious :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Little Italy, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and hopefully we will see you again

Kind regards
Little Italy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Typical small town restaurant, thinks it's something special without having to try.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had been bought some gift vouchers as an anniversary present and finally managed to land a baby sitter tonight so my wife booked us a table for 6pm tonight. First impressions weren't great as my wife was told that we would have to be finished by 7.45 as they needed our table. Fair enough perhaps but not very welcoming. We duly arrived 10 minutes early, only to be reminded again of when we were to leave by. Starting to get a bit irked now. Ordered a San Pellegrino water and was brought a lemonade but no big deal. As it was before 6.30 the early bird special was still in effect so we were brought the main menu along with the early bird menu too. We liked what was on the early bird so ordered from that (£11.95 for 3 courses is pretty good value). After a 40 minute wait a different waitress came over and asked us if there was anything else we needed (!) so was told we hadn't been served yet... Another 5 minutes passed and our starters arrived, which were nicely presented but nothing exceptional. We then waited about 20 minutes for our main courses, a pizza and a rigotoni, which were very average but not bad and very plainly presented. Next there was another long wait and I had to prompt the waiter (a third one) for a desert, which had him scuttling off for menus before I had the chance to tell him that we already knew what we wanted. He returned with the standard desert menu and then left again. 10 further minutes and we had managed to order the cheesecake. 25 minutes later and an hour and a half after arriving we got our cheesecake, served by a fourth staff member, which had a lovely presentation but was nothing special taste-wise. Again, we were ignored for a further 20 minutes after finishing and had to shout the waiter over to ask for the bill. We paid using our vouchers and off he went while we were left alone again. He then returned to the table informing us that they didn't give change on vouchers. This was the last straw. The vouchers were unique, numbered gift vouchers, not some discount code obtained online or from some local paper. We were told it was policy so asked to speak to the manager who pleaded the nurenberg defense and told us that that was their policy and she was very sorry. I listed all my complaints to her and she offered to let me speak to the owner but by this time we just wanted to leave. I told her she could keep them and we wouldn't be back. To sum up:
Don't tell your customers what time they have to leave before they have ordered anything.
Print on your vouchers that there is no change available if that's the case, and tell them when they are bought (they had done neither).
Don't share your customers amongst your waiting staff so that one doesn't know what bthe others are doing.
Pay attention to your customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Owner at Little Italy, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We were sorry to hear your experience at Little Italy was not a satisfactory one. We did address these issues with you personally on the evening in question but we can do so again, if you wish.

To sum up:

We always advise our early diners at the time of booking their table (sometimes weeks in advance) that we need the tables vacated by a certain time as we need to re-use them later. No restaurant can survive on Early bird bookings alone. We give customers a polite reminder when they are seated so as not to make them feel rushed towards the end of their visit. Where possible we try to allow 2 hours, as this gives ample time to enjoy your meal and relax afterwards.

As the case with most gift vouchers in most retail and hospitality establishments, we can only give change in the denominations in which our vouchers are printed. We will be sure to advise this with every sale made in future. (Although nobody has ever asked when purchasing them whether on not they can be cashed in.)

We feel we employ the right amount of staff to provide our customers with a consistent level of service. Each has their own role within the team, overseen by supervision on each floor. Teamwork. We do advise customers that service may be a little slower during peak times as ALL of our products are cook fresh to order, every time.

You ordered "a San Pellegrino", the only San Pellegrino product we serve is the Limonata. We have Strathmore mineral water.

Our food orders are all timed from the second they are taken. We find a forty minute wait for starters unacceptable too and are currently investigating to see how this could have happened. We can assure you this is no regular occurrence. We apologised at the time, we apologise again.

Regards,
The Little Italy Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.