We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Castle - Wear Your Waterproofs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caerlaverock Castle

Caerlaverock Castle
13km south east of Dumfries on the B725, Dumfries DG1 4RU, Scotland
+44 (0)1387 770 244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With it's moat, twin-towered gatehouse and imposing battlements, Caerlaverock Castle is a Maxwell stronghold and the epitome of the medieval fortress. The castle's turbulent history owes much to its proximity to England which brought it into border conflicts.Includes siege warfare exhibition, a children's adventure park, a nature trail and a children's trail. The Castle is connected by footpath to the adjacent National Nature Reserve. Cafe open daily in summer and Sat & Sun in winter.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Good Castle - Wear Your Waterproofs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

A lovely castle. Sadly it has been allowed to fall to ruin a bit but still a good bit of history to learn about. There's also a bit where kids can dress up and fight with wooden swords, or if it's quiet and you're like me and my partner, adults too :)
There's a video by Tony Robinson about a siege that took place there which is quite interesting too!
Due to the Scottish weather and it being quite exposed, if it looks grim then I'd wear something warm and waterproof. Otherwise, enjoy!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    72
    11
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Architecturally interesting. Lovely tea shop. The site of the original castle is a few minutes walk away. Well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

An impressive castle in a beautiful setting. A fascinating variety of architectural styles showing how the building has developed over many centuries. Don't miss the walk around the grounds, taking in the excavated remains of the first castle on the site.

The cafe has a range of good quality snacks.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

It is a little drive to get to Caerlaverock but it definitely worth the visit. The castle in ruins is in a beautiful setting and still has a moat surrounding it. There is the ruins of an older castle behind Caerlaverock you can visit too. Of all the properties we saw on our visit to Scotland the staff here was the friendliest and extreme helpful. You can tell the enjoy their jobs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful. Unique. Worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Well off the beaten path, Caerlaverock (pronounced "car-LAVA-rock") Castle is a hidden gem well worth the hunt for travelers seeking an authentic, unique tour experience. Not only is it the ONLY triangular-shaped castle in the U.K., it's also one of the few that had twin moats. Extensive carvings are still visible in Caerlaverock's ruins, and the Murdoch Tower -- rising from depths of the interior moat -- is quite picturesque.

Because of its remote location -- and relative obscurity -- you'll be able to stroll the lovely and extensive grounds in peace and near-solitude. It's a refreshing change from the typical tourist magnets (like Stirling). Add a stop at Sweetheart Abbey, you won't be disappointed.

Now for my disclaimer: My husband is a descendant of the Maxwells -- the Keepers of the Western March, who resided at Caerlaverock -- and we spent more than a year planning this trip. I'm pleased to say that it was even better than we had hoped. We came away with wonderful pictures, lovely memories, and wide smiles. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caerlaverock Castle also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Caerlaverock Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caerlaverock Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.