We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Spot with Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavens Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cavens Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Cavens Country House Hotel
Kirkbean by Dumfries, Dumfries DG2 8AA, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 55 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Peaceful Spot with Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable weekend at Cavens. We had one of the larger rooms, which was spacious and well furnished, with a lovely view over the gardens. On the down side the room was too hot (not a frequent complaint in West Scotland!) because it was facing the sun most of the day and some of the windows had been painted shut, or weren't designed to open in the first place. But the staff were very helpful in providing a fan and we managed to cool it down.
The restaurant was excellent - good food in a very pleasant room. If anything the service was too attentive, with plates being whisked away whilst still chewing the last mouthful, which rather spoilt the otherwise relaxed atmosphere.
The surrounding countryside was fantastic, and very peaceful. We couldn't believe how quiet the roads were even in lovely weather and at a weekend.
A good place for a quiet and enjoyable weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the view across the Solway Firth
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We would just like to say Thank you very much for leaving your lovely response. We take on board all your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Many Thanks

Cavens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
62
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Alex M's summary of our recent visit to The Cavens was in my opinion rather scathing and unfair.
Alex, his partner and 2 teenage children were invited as my guests as a thank you for accomodating my son who has been working in the area. My son made the original booking which was done on recommendation from a local businesman who regularly eats there.
My party, comprising 4 people, arrived on time. We were greeted at the door, shown through to our private dining room and where we could find the conveniences. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable and perfect for an intimate dinner with friends. Drinks orders were taken which arrived shortly afterwards and were nicely presented by smart efficient staff. The staff (2 ladies) were attentive throughout the 45 minute wait until the others arrived.
By then other guests had arrived who also required their attention, which is probably why there was nobody available to meet Alex. This was unfortunate, but he should have been there at the appointed time.
Food orders were taken and the food arrived in a timely fashion and was well presented. With 3 teenagers in the party we found the veg portions relatively small.
Those who had the steak did make the point that the meat was tough. It was mentioned to the waitress although I didn't make an issue of it at the time. In hindsight that would have been the time to deal with it. I have subsequently discussed this with the owner and he expressed his concern.The other mains were all as expected...well presented and tasty.
Perhaps the meal was slightly rushed but as we were an hour late in starting, the hotel cannot be blamed.
I enjoyed the general ambiance of the place, especially in the private dining room. It was more akin to dining at a friends house than a hotel.
I personally settled the bill with the owner and there were no issues from either side. As for New Year, with a bit of entertainment, I think it would be a great place to go!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We sincerely apologies if you did not enjoy your meal, although it would appear that others of your party did enjoy theirs. Unfortunately if you do not let the staff know that there is a problem at the time we are unable to make amends there and then, something we are always very keen to do as we like to ensure all guests have both a relaxing time and really good food.

Payment is never taken in the dinning or sitting room so the owner approaching you after the meal was a courtesy he likes to make at every opportunity possible to ensure you had enjoyed your meal.

I would like to point out that the cheese board is selected from the National Award winning artisan cheese maker Loch Arthur Creamery, who has just won the coveted Radio 4 Best Food Producer in the UK so therefore is not your average selection. Again we are sorry you did not enjoy such a renowned selection of the finest cheeses but Scottish Fine Foods, especially locally sourced, is a high standard we are not prepared to compromise so the Loch Arthur cheese will be staying on our menu for the foreseeable future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Alex i think you have been very harsh in your review, not all the steaks were tough, mine was good. Only thing i would suggest is to get some decent steak knives. The owners were a pleasure, and did ask if the food and service was good, to which i replied yes it was lovely. The house is beatuifully decorated and felt very homely in both the dining room and lounge, in which my friend played the piano quitely to our friends and other hotel guests who seem to enjoy listening to her.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed the night, and pleased that you were able to make yourselves at home enough to play the piano. The relaxed atmosphere that you experienced is certainly something we strive for to enhance guest's enjoyment.

We would also like to thank you for the compliments on the food and the feedback on the knives, which will be duely noted and hopefully rectified in the near future.

Many thanks for taking the time to leave comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had four friends visit after many years absence, we looked forward to fine dining and a get together, so the `Cavens` was selected for privacy and homely ambiance and good food, we had never dined there before, and looked foward to it. Being local, unfortunately we were late. We could not find the front door, thru corridors etc, at last we were greeted by ...who showed us thru to the lounge..We felt a little rushed, in ordering drinks, here is the menu, make your selection, and here is your table. .Dining room is lovely, pristine table cloths, cuttlery, glass etc, could not fault it. Starters arrived...not bad but frugal...Mains arrived...2 had salmon... 5 the beef....looks good.....I must be quite honest, i have never had such a tough, chewey piece of meat for many years, quite tasteless, and tough as old boots, quite like meat that you would expect from a cafe. The wines were chosen by my friend, and were good, the puds not so bad, the cheese selection was poor, no choice really. Not once did we meet chef nor asked by staff if all was well with the food, quite disappointing really..we retired to the lovely lounge and entertained ourselves with four other resident guests...approached by chef/owner presumably to pay bill, we then left. Will not return, extremely poor food, rushed, god help you at new year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eglingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here for a second time and we were not disappointed. If you enjoy a quiet location and a comfortable, understated ambience then Cavens will suit you well. Delightful country house with lots of elegant furniture and welcoming open fires. Attentive, friendly and unobtrusive staff helped make the stay memorable. Good quality, carefully chosen food cooked to perfection and well presented. An excellent choice for the more discerning guest seeking old fashioned standards.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna S, Public Relations Manager at Cavens Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We would just like to say we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and Thank You for your review. All staff at Cavens make every effort to ensure visits are enjoyable.

If there is anything any of our guest would like to draw to our attention, good or bad, we appreciate the time and effort to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Invited to have a meal at the Cavens whilst visiting relatives in the area and found it to be a perfect location for a quiet meal. On arrival the public rooms were both inviting and confortable. We were given time to consider the menu in front of a warming log fire. The staff were attentive and knowledgeable about the delicious locally sourced produce which was prepared with expertise and enjoyed by all. Would thoroughly recommend a visit.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here as we were attending a wedding nearby and were very disappointed with the attitude of the owner. It seems guests are a nuisance he endures to earn money. For instance when we enquired what was on the menu that night his response was rude and arrogant. We just could not understand why.
Our room was a good size ( we had one of the Estate rooms) but both the bathroom and the bedroom are really in need of refurbishment. On the positive side the view from our little sitting area was very nice.
There were coffee and tea making facilities in our room but when our room was made they did not even bother washing the cups. The dirty cups were turned upside down and placed on the saucers. Very strange. The room also had a lot of dust.
The sitting area downstairs was nice but somehow you felt you were intruding on the owners
home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavens Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavens Country House Hotel

Address: Kirkbean by Dumfries, Dumfries DG2 8AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Cavens Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavens Country House Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavens Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.