We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daksh

Daksh
55-57 Queen Street, Dumfries DG1 2JW, Scotland
01387 253876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 111 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The place is wheelchair accessible, but no accessible toilet, grrrr.
The food was good and slightly different from your usual curry. It struck me as being 'authentic', which may or may not appeal. I had a shish keebab starter and it was a bit too much like sausage meat for my liking. In fact the main course was also a bit too bland for my liking as well.
All in all a very nice meal and I would certainly go back again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    45
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wow,wow,wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

this is the second time we have eaten here and will most definetly be going back.had dohra seekh kebab when it arrived looked at yoghurt sauce which is a shocking green colour and was pleasantly surprised complimented the meat totaly meltin mouth, hubby had achari king prawns 4 good sized prawns cooked just right,for main we had lamb saag, chicken karahi,mushroom pilao,kadhhai paneer & plain naan everything cooked perfect you could tell everything was cooked with the best of ingredient and care.the timeing was just right between courses,staff very welcoming and happy to give advice on food.have regularly eaten in the other indians and found the tast experience totaly different,this spicy but not burn in mouth,when asked waiter he sayed this is to do with the part of india there menu comes from a more dry cooking.house white very plesent and good price.the only thing that lets it down is the decor.a little bit pricey this could be why it was not bizzy on a friday night. will have to try their take away menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A 80s curry experience. Fantastic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

This place is a blast from the past. Dark and mistterious. Tackie background music and plasti table cloths, but don't let that put you off. The waiter gave me the choice of where to sit and as soon as I did another was passing me popadoms and pickles (complimentary). Starters were onion barges done the old fashioned way just like a burger shape, perfectly spiced and cooked.
The main was a mixed chicken and lamb korai just spiced up a little, with saffron rice and a peshwari naan. All done to a T. Washed down with an ice cold Cobra.
It was a true 80s experience and would recermend to any time served conorsiour of great curry.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best indian food in a while.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Food was great, brought on feelings of nostalgia for our travels on the subcontinent. We shared Aubergine pakora and a paneer starter, which both came with very tasty sauces.
We then went on to have Lamb Biriyani and Monkfish tikka, both of which were up to par, the Biriyani had a nice hint of saffron and the lamb was melt in the mouth. The tikka (tandoori) was nicely spiced and sizzling when it came to the table. Everything came quickly (but not too quickly).
Best of all, we requested Chai Masala (indian tea) which wasn't on the menu, but the staff happily made us some anyway (I think the chef may have had a big mug in the kitchen)
All in all nice wee meal, totally stuffed. We'll be back next time we're in Dumfries, thanks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Why not busier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant a few times. The food is well presented and very tasty with a good, sensible portion size. The menu is, however, very limited and could do with being expanded a little. The staff are very attentive (not intrusively so) and polite. It is very quiet though and the atmosphere suffers as a result. Overall a very good experience wih good food. Worth a try if you haven't tried it yet.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daksh also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Daksh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daksh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.