We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mabie Farm Park

Mabie Farm Park
Burnside Farm | Mabie, Dumfries DG2 8EZ, Scotland
01387 259666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Dumfries
Type: Farms, Outdoors
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited while on holiday in Southerness. All the children (age 6-17) had a fantastic time. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was plenty to do all day. Would definitely visit again!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    32
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fun fun fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an attraction for all ages, our party was from 4 to 61 years, family & concession tickets available. We spent the whole day there, there was so much to see & do, from petting & feeding the animals to playing , there are brilliant slides, bouncy castles & cushions, quad bikes, boat rides sand pits & all manner of play ground equipment. Our whole day was such a laugh, the children & teenages want to go back, like now! Check out there web site.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent day out for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We visited Mabie Farm Park while on holiday in Southerness. Our 3 year daughter had an absolute ball. When we visited, it was during the week and the park was nice and quiet. There were loads of baby animals to feed (50p for a bag of food but its definitely worth it. Ask for the big pellets though - its much more fun!) My husband enjoyed feeding the wee calf. We arrived just in time for the pet handling of guinea pigs and rabbits, one of which is absolutely enormous! Plenty of sinks to wash your hands afterwards. We also got to bottle feed the lambs - it doesn't take them long to demolish a bottle of milk!
There are trampolines, a bouncy castle, a wooden fort play area, giant bouncy pillow, astroslide, grass slides, swings and aerial runway. There are go karts and kiddies tractors available. There is an indoor play barn and a large straw barn which is loads of fun. The things that you have to pay extra for are donkey rides, paddle boats, quad bikes and the choo choo express. This could prove expensive if you have a few children though. (we were £11 extra for all the additional things and this was with one child)
We went into the tearoom for lunch and paid the same kind of prices you would expect to pay outside. Baked potatoes were delicious. They also served soups, sandwiches, toasties, pies, cakes, etc.
The toilet facilities and baby changing are clean and are situated in the middle of the park so they are easy to get to wherever you are.
We were at Mabie Farm Park for 5 hours and our 3 year old wasn't bored once (neither was her 32 year old daddy!!) It is a good alternative and cheaper alternative to other well known farm parks in central Scotland. We were very impressed with the place and we will be back.
I would also like to highly commend the staff, especially the two young guys, whom we found out from the owner, were called Kyle and Kieran. I feel that people are so quick to complain but not so quick to compliment. These two guys are an asset to the Farm Park and should be praised for the work they do. Both were so friendly and nothing was a bother for them. (Michael and Darren were also extremely helpful)
Well done on building up a brilliant farm park with great facilities and lovely staff. We will be back

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent family day out, so good we went twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Utterly enjoyed our visit to Mabie Farm Park. We enjoyed it so much on our first visit that even though we are only on holiday in Dumfries for a week, we went back for a second visit.
The staff at the Farm Park were unfailing helpful, friendly and welcoming. It has been designed by people who have children and who know what children enjoy and like to do.
It had great outdoor and indoor options so can cater for variety of weather. Our favourite bits were the fabulous bouncey pillow and the alpaca!
Highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“brilliant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Reasonable admission prices, great family day out, my little girl had a blast, so much to do and see, tearoom prices were very reasonable, will definately recommend and be back again, the staff are so friendly, feeding the calfs milk was fun as well as trying out all other rides and attractions, love mabie farm park

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mabie Farm Park also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Kirkcudbright, Dumfries and Galloway
Gatehouse of Fleet, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Mabie Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mabie Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.