We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hetland Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hetland Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hetland Hall Hotel
Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Dumfries
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We found this hotel to be quite run down. Many parts of it, especially the rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. We also found the food served was ....posh school dinners....

The building itself was nice and the settings and grounds were very nice. We also found the staff to be very nice, courteous and helpful but sadly I cannot recommend it.

Room Tip: We asked for a transfer and the staff obliged without fuss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Although you were obviously disappointed with your stay, I do appreciate your complimentary comments about the staff and hotel.
Whilst you paid a reduced rate for a standard room, it should of course have been satisfactory, although it is a shame that you did not mention that the transfer was to another, Executive, room in the hotel.
I believe that you did have a bar meal on one of the nights of your stay, and I am sorry that you do not appear to have enjoyed this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    52
    27
    22
    17
See reviews for
57
84
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We have just spend a few days here.
A very relaxing time.
Evening meal was very nice. As was the full breakfast. Although I must stay the one we had in our room was excellent and just £2.50 extra .
The only down sides were noisy people going on till after midnight and we had the superior room the jaccusi bath that had no controls so no jaccusi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us here at Hetland Hall Hotel. We are always delighted to hear from Guests and especially glad you enjoyed Breakfast in your Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Attended my daughters wedding here in June, i have to say i was quite disappointed at the organisation of the wedding meal, evening buffet etc, no one seemed to know what was going on, we had to ask on several occasions for things to be done that had been previously discussed, and staff were very thin on the ground for serving food and drinks, the hotel was very dated and quite shabby in places, having visited the rooms other guests were staying in they were very basic and old fashioned, and they were not the cheapest available. On a brighter note my daughter and husband enjoyed their day, but im not sure i would rave about the hotel to many people, sorry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review.
I am very happy that you mentioned your daughter and husband; yes, they told us that they had a wonderful time, and we loved having them, and indeed, hope to see them again on their anniversary!
I am really sorry that you do not seem to have enjoyed your visit; we pride ourselves on our weddings at Hetland Hall, and indeed, our usual lovely reviews. Although I am puzzled by your comments, we certainly failed here in that you did not enjoy yourself.
I am not 100% certain that you actually stayed in the hotel, but I am sorry that you did not like the rooms that you looked at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent our wedding weekend here 29th-30th June 2013 and had our small wedding reception here, the first night was spent in an executive suite and the room was lovely as were the views! Our wedding night was in the bridal suite which was amazing! The staff couldn't do enough for us and were all friendly. The breakfast's were lovely and we had lot of choice and the meal that we had for our wedding reception was amazing and enjoyed by all our guests, our starter was tomato and basil soup and it was the nicest I've ever tasted!! We also had a meal in the bar and we both had burgers which were huge and really tasty. I can't recommend this hotel enough and we can't wait to come back and celebrate our anniversaries!

Thanks for everything!

Rhiann and Chris Cater

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are absolutely delighted that you had such a wonderful wedding day and can't thank you enough for all the lovely comments about not only the staff but the food as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back for many anniversaries to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Taking a mid-week break (early June 2013) to look where some of my ancestors hailed from, we booked into this lovely hotel. This accomodation is very handy as a base to discover within easy reach Gretna (and its Retail Park), Carlisle, and Dumfries. We also discovered lots of quaint little villages, such as Urr, Dundrennan, Applegarth and the lovely small town of Castle Douglas.
The rooms are very spacious and well maintained. The food is amazing, it is plentiful and so delicious!! The staff are very friendly and welcoming too. This is a " Hidden little gem " ! (which I highly recommend). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over-looking the Solway Firth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely reveiw .
We are very much in a forgotten part of Scotland and it is great to hear when visitors have enjoyed the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy, Wexford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we recently spent a weekend in the Hetland hall hotel 21st-23rd June 2013 for our wedding 1st anniversary (we had our wedding at Hetland). And can i say is in, one year on what a stay we had with a new manager at the helm Fiona and her team are making some difference to the place, the difference i`v seen in the hotel in a year was great. it was good before but the standard of service is great you were never left waiting on anything. From start to finish you could not fault it from the very warm welcome you receive on check in to the great food and and drink to the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel to the grounds. Would recommend you too stay here.

Paul and Diane Mckie

Room Tip: The executive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It was really lovely to see you both again and I am so glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully with each anniversary ! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we stayed here on a 3 night dbb break. hotel in a great location food really good ...the hotel is lovely and clean ....but most of all top marks to the staff who were so friendly and efficient they are a credit to the hotel cant praise this hotel enough and will be back sometime

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona K, General Manager at Hetland Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments . We are always so pleased to hear from guests who have enjoyed their time with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hetland Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hetland Hall Hotel

Address: Carrutherstown, Dumfries DG1 4JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hetland Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Hetland Hall Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hetland Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.