We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret ssh............” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barr Farmhouse

Barr Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barr Farmhouse
The Barr, Dumfries DG1 3LJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best kept secret ssh............”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a fabulous time at this wonderful bed and breakfast it really is home from home Orla and Roy make you so welcome its hard to get away! It is the second time we have stayed here and it certainly won't be the last, If you fancy a stay in this area then you won't get better !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Only booked one night to stay with Roy and Orla at Barr Farm - big mistake, we could have stayed for a week, although I don't think Roy would have got any work done! Roy was the ultimate host, we didn't stop talking for hours due to our common interests of vet science, travelling etc. Due to her work commitments we didn't see as much of Orla, but she also has a very interesting background.
Rooms were lovely, breakfast fantastic, although we didn't have the full cooked version as our clothes were becoming very tight after a months B&B stays in the UK!
Went to nearby Forrest Estate Experiences to try clay pigeon shooting, both of us did remarkably well hitting around 20/40 clays!!
Would highly recommend Barr Farm to anyone who is looking for a home stay experience rather than just a place for the night. Thank you both, Mike, Sharon and Maureen

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Roy and Orla have a beautiful home which they share with their guests and the special way in which they run their business and promote the area, together with the warmth of their personalities and generous hospitality, means that The Barr is very deserving of its 4 Star Gold standard rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A quick decision to have a few days away and play some golf. Found Barr Farmhouse by chance. A beautiful house in glorious countryside, superb food, difficult to choose. Roy and Orla, appart from being hugely entertaining go the extra mile to give you a stay to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We are from New Zealand and were in Dumfries with friends for a wedding and were looking for a B&B in the area. We were lucky enough to be directed to Barr Farmhouse by the Dumfries information centre. What a wonderful B&B. Roy and Orla have created a very special place, so welcoming and comfortable. The rooms are beautifully done and nothing was too much trouble. We had one free day to enjoy some sightseeing, Roy helped with ideas and directions for where to go. we had a great day out at Gretna Green, Vindolanda and Hadrians wall, then back to the comforts of The Barr. A really memorable stay for us and our friends. Thank you Orla and Roy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were fortunate enough to choose Barr Farmhouse as a stopover point on our way to the Highlands and for our return. Roy and Orla are fantasic hosts- best breakfast you will ever eat and the situation of the farmhouse meant that we were able to explore this beautiful part of the world. Well done for making our stay so enjoyable- we will have to come back if only for the Scottish porridge with whisky!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently had the privilege of spending two nights in the Barr Farmhouse B & B together with my wife and my parents-in-law. We were on a short break from Ireland to visit some relatives and to do a spot of sightseeing so we chose The Barr having come across it on-line while searching for a farnhouse B & B in the Dumfries area. What a surprise we were in for - the reviews and the website don't do it justice as our expectations were exceeded in every single area! Firstly, we had the place to ourselves as there are only two guest bedrooms so we had them both, the reception room was also exclusively ours so we could come and go and make ourselves completely at home - in fact the phrase which we kept coming up with was "this is just like a home from home" Secondly, the location is just about perfect as it's in the heart of the countryside with beautiful views and scenery all around yet it's only a few miles from Dumfries and all the amenities. Thirdly, the rooms are excellent in every way with numerous small touches and surprises that you just don't get in regular B & B's. Fourthly,the breakfast is just something else - it genuinely was the highlight of each day's dining and we still talk about the fruit salad, the porridge, the cooked breakfast, the homemade bread etc, etc. But the one thing that genuinely puts this B & B in a league of it's own is the hosts - Roy and Orla - we were absolutley amazed that we spent hours talking to them on the first night discussing everything from the local attractions to general life in Scotland, careers, families etc etc. Of course, it also helps that Orla is from Donegal in Ireland so were able to have a banter and craic just like home! During the course of the conversation we happened to mention that my father-in-law is a keen farmer and guess what - next morning at breakfast Roy announced that he had arranged a wee visit to the neighbouring farm - well, what a visit it turned out to be - we were treated like royalty and given a two hour guided tour of just about every inch of the farmyard courtesy of Roy and also the farmer and his wife who went out of their way to be friendly and hospitable. My father-in-law was in heaven and he still talks about the great farming methods in Scotland! I could go on but I think you should have got the idea by now! So when I titled this review "Possibly the best ever B & B" I really was serious. Thanks a milion Roy and Orla, you made our trip to Scotland one that we'll never forget for the rest of our lives - I hope that The Barr Farmhouse is completely booked out for the rest of your lives - you deserve it.
Ken Taylor.
PS. Roy and Orla also gave us numerours other tips for places to visit and sights to see in the locality, so much information that we could have spent a month there and not exhausted the list!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barr Farmhouse

Address: The Barr, Dumfries DG1 3LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Also Known As:
Barr Farmhouse Dumfries, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barr Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Barr Farmhouse to your Saves list