We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experience with a warm welcome and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barr Farmhouse

Barr Farmhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barr Farmhouse
Save
You added Barr Farmhouse to your Saves list
The Barr, Dumfries DG1 3LJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 55 Dumfries B&B and Inns
1 review
“5 star experience with a warm welcome and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had a great stay and I have to say the quality of food, accommodation and service matches a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Nicely located just few miles from Dumfries, The Barr Farmhose welcomes you with delicious cream tea wonderfully homemade by Lady Orla!!
At Orla and Roy we found a very smiling and friendly welcome.
2 rooms well furnished, and many cuddles for customers!!!
Breakfast outstanding, including an everyday fresh squeezed real orange and a fruit salad freshly prepared buy Roy.
The house sit in a peaceful area, surrounded by an amazing landscape. Sleeping and resting is exactly what we wanted, and we found it !
This is one of the best B&B we have ever been in Scotland.

Room Tip: Both rooms have a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We experienced a number of different B&B accommodations on our 10 day holiday in Scotland and the Barr Farmhouse was our favorite. Roy and Orla were charming and provided helpful tips for our next destination. The view from our bedroom was wonderful, especially when the sun came out and I can't forget to mention the best pancakes ever.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

The welcome was extremely warm and the hospitality was second to none. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. Scones on arrival were a lovely touch, the rooms were clean and the bed was really comfortable and we had a lovely choice for breakfast. We will difinately be returning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a super one night stay in this great new B&B near the Scottish border. The hosts, Orla and Roy, are warm, friendly and very helpful, and their home is a delight. The rooms are very comfortable, and the extras (like chocolates left on our pillows, bathrobes, useful information packs etc) helped to make this a really enjoyable stay. Orla's baking (cream tea plus extra delicious cakes on arrival, and home-baked bread at breakfast) and Roy's fruit salad as a breakfast starter followed by such delicacies as porridge with whisky and cream, or scrambled eggs with salmon, must be tried to be believed - delicious! The rooms are not en-suite, but each has its own very well appointed bathroom, which was fine.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We recently enjoyed a relaxing short break at the Barr Farmhouse. We were given a very warm welcome by the owners, Roy and Orla, who went out of their way to ensure we had everything we wanted. The Farmhouse has been recently renovated and provides a clean and very comfortable base for a holiday. Great attention to detail and excellent food make for a very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Wonderful service from our welcoming hosts, Roy and Orla, at this delightful farmhouse B & B. The room was furnished to a high standard with great attention to detail, hospitality in excellence with touches of luxury like chocolates on the pillow.
Do not miss the fabulous afternoon tea with fresh homebaking on arrival, served in the cosy drawing room in front of the logburner. Breakfast set us up for the day, with fresh fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, homebaked bread - and a full cooked breakfast too!
The layout of this pretty farmhouse the couple have renovated has a bathroom adjacent to the bedrooms, with an additional shower room down some stairs; so facilities are not en-suite, but have the benefit of more space and quality toiletries are provided too.
This is a home best suited to children over 4 years of age - and particularly well-suited for the needs of a family with older children who can be accommodated in the second room, close by but with the benefit of privacy that family rooms lack.
The location is superb, quiet and peaceful, within easy travelling distance of many and varied attractions. The written local tourist information provided was complemented by the comprehensive knowledge of our hosts. This is a very good base for a holiday, so much so that we plan to return for a longer stay in 2011 - because we arrived as strangers and left as friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barr Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barr Farmhouse

Address: The Barr, Dumfries DG1 3LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Barr Farmhouse Dumfries, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barr Farmhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.