We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aberdour Hotel

Aberdour Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aberdour Hotel to your Saves list
Aberdour Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   16-20 Newall Terrace, Dumfries DG1 1LW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 55 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here some 16 years ago on a golf trip to Dumfries although I only remembered it as I walked into the bar area and saw the old tv (must be 30 years old) mounted in the corner. It has not changed.

The hotel is priced to reflect what it is so for that reason you cannot be too unkind.

On the plus side it had a bar, the breakfast was excellent (although we had to wait about 20 minutes before we could order) and towels were supplied in the rooms albeit they were small. The hotel was a short walk to the town centre so was a good base.

On the downside the rooms and the public areas were dated and in need of refurbishment. The reception "window" with its assorted clutter behind and the man with the beany hat and shorts was not a great look.

OK for a lads weekend away

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    7
    2
    7
See reviews for
9
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penpont, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I have been many times before for a meal and never been disappointed, however, on Sunday 25th August with family and friends (16 of us) we went to the Aberdour Hotel for a meal which we had booked a few weeks in advance to celebrate my sons 18th birthday. On arrival we found that the room had been set out for 13 people, yes there were 13 going at first but I phoned the Aberdour 2 weeks ago to let them know there would be 16 of us. The lady did apologise for the mistake and quickly set tables for 16. We had to wait quite a while for menu's to come to us then had to wait for our orders to be taken. When the waitress eventually came to take our order we were told there were only 2 steaks left so one of our party had to opt for something else. Nobody came to take drink orders so we had to keep going up to the bar throughout the meal to get drinks. There were only 2 staff on and it wasn't that busy but our meals took forever to arrive. Nobody came to ask if everything was alright with our food or if we needed anything. After we finished our meal we sat for over 30mins waiting on menus for desert. As no waitress came back we went to the bar and asked for the menus. We waited for our dishes to be cleared then waited again for waitress to come back and take our orders for desert. Again they were short of deserts so people had to change orders or didn't bother with desert. We waited yet again. My son was getting fed up by this time and we had to chase them up. Deserts were slow at coming and not everyone's arrived at the same time so some had finished eating while others were still waiting on theirs. All in all the service was very poor and very slow with no communication between staff and our party. VERY DISSAPOINTED.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

this is our 8th year staying at this hotel, we have always found the hotel clean friendly and the breakfasts are fantastic the hosts went out there way to help us, would recommend this hotel to anyone we will certainly be back next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had our wedding there and it was fantastic from the help with planning to the actual day brilliant friendly staff and amazing meal would definately recomend a function or evening out here thank you all so much

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Excellent stay, great welcom from the staff. Handy for Dumfries center, but good pub menu, in the family atmosphere public bar, if the golf has left you a bit too tired to wander about.We booked for next year before leaving to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Came home on the 2/7/13 after staying for a few days i had no complaints with the hotel or the staff or the food ,everyone was so helpful and the food was fantastic good value for the money you pay and there is plenty of it . The full breakfast is full you could not get anything else on the plate I would tell anyone that is going to Dumfries to go to this hotel I will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have stayed here for Seven months whilst working at Harestanes. In all that time I've never had any cause to complain about anything (except the traffic wardens booking my car)
The food has always been excellent (a fact bourne out by the amount of people who come to eat here at the weekend) and the staff extremely friendly.
Even when the hotel was full to the gunnels Amanda would arrange accommodation nearby with a network of friends, a service beyond the call of duty.
If I'm ever back in the area, no question where I would stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aberdour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdour Hotel

Address: 16-20 Newall Terrace, Dumfries DG1 1LW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aberdour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdour Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aberdour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.