We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dumfries Villa

Dumfries Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dumfries Villa to your Saves list
Dumfries Villa
33 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 55 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night for Bed and Breakfast. Location was good as 2 mins as it said from rail station and only a short walk from to the town. Breakfast was also very good and staff were laid back and fine, if I go back to Dumfries I'll defo go back to the Dumfries villa. Also good for parking round the back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great B&B, handy location next to the station and a short walk to town. Friendly welcome on arrival. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have everything you would need. Breakfast was delicious and lovingly prepared. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed for two nights at Dumfries Villa and would have stayed longer if I could. The room was spotless, generously sized & well provisioned. Colin was so helpful, carting my heavy suitcase for me, calling a taxi & generally helping wherever he could. Great breakfast too!

Room Tip: Superior double really was superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We just stayed the one night on-route south. The room was plenty but enough but the bathroom is a little neat. Signs of wear at the end of a season - nothing that a little TLC would not fix.
Beds very comfortable and no disturbance from passing traffic.
Breakfast was very good and cooked fresh.
The town centre is just a 10-minute walk away and lots of eateries to choose from.
Second time we stayed here but will not be the last.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Thank you, Colin, for a warm welcome and restful stay. Especially thank you for going "the extra mile" to find us a driver to Sorbie, my ancestral home. It was a lovely, memorable day. Breakfasts were excellent in the sunny breakfast room and the location was perfect for our rambles. One quirky bit: the bathroom was very small in our twin room, which gave us a few chuckles, but did not detract from a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Lovely, friendly welcome ! Beautiful room, stayed in the Annex, which although separate from the house, made no difference. Husband had bought me a bottle of wine for my birthday and forgot the corkscrew ! He sheepishly knocked on the door asking to borrow one, but it was no problem, they didn't hesitate in lending us one. Good food was recommended at a short walk into town. The Caven Inn, spectacular food ! Best I've tasted in a long time. Breakfast was superb in the morning. I would highly rate this place to stay, an enjoyable night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful, friendly stay !! Very pleasant and very nice place and would go back again. Provided a super breakfast and provided good recomendations in town to go to. Very close to the town to walk there to get dinner. My wife and I really enjoyed it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dumfries Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries Villa

Address: 33 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dumfries Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Villa Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dumfries Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.