We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & warm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gordon Arms - Yarrow

The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selkirk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
Save
You added The Gordon Arms - Yarrow to your Saves list
Yarrow Valley, Selkirk TD7 5LE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Welcoming & warm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Great traditional pub with a warm welcome and open fire etc. Didn't stay over so cant review the rooms, however the bar Is cosy and intimate - the type of place where you end up chatting with the locals and other customers, whilst warming yourself in front of the log burner. Serves a really nice pint and the food is good too if you get peckish. Really warm welcome from the owners and staff who make you feel like a regular as soon as you walk through the door. Well worth popping in!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a great place to visit/eat/stay! Drove over with our road bikes, checked in, went for a cycle round Berrybush and the Swire (21 miles). Got back and the owner stored our bikes inside! Brilliant! Great food, brilliant atmosphere and the staff are great. Go take the road bikes and have a tour round the Yarrow Valley. What's not to like :-))

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Gordon arms for a salmon fishing trip. We had a lovely stay, excellent food, comfortable and clean bedrooms and a great craic with our host Mac.we will see you next year, Thanks for a great trip

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A warm welcome - on a cold November day, friendly, helpful staff who did all they could to make us feel at home. Very comfortable beds - so lovely peaceful sleep. We can't fault the food - simple, wholesome and tasty dinners and breakfasts. Good local real ales.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We only ate here so can only comment on food which was just ok the soup was v good until i found a hair in it ordered a mr steak got a cold barely cooked one and my wifes burger was burnt black on 1 side and served on a morning roll, the young girl serving was very friendly but all in all you left feeling you were in the way ( some heating woulcnt be a bad idea)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This pub is in the middle of nowhere but still accessible.

Good food and very friendly. Rooms a little small but we were only staying one night so not a problem.

The smoked salmon was lovely and I cannot understand the next day at a different hotel they had taken it off their menu as it was not selling!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I live in Edinburgh and was involved in bringing a group of study abroad students from Oregon on a week long folklore academic programme based in and around the city. One of their experiences was a "Border Ballads" trip including the Gordon Arms where Walter Scott was a patron 180 years ago. We arranged a sandwich lunch for 25 and were rewarded with a splendid array of generously filled, tasty sandwiches and salad, in the bar - simply refurbished without losing authenticity. 'Mac' the co-owner and his staff were terrace, unobtrusive, but on hand. If we run the course next year we will be back.

Iain More
Edinburgh

Room Tip: We did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gordon Arms - Yarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Arms - Yarrow

Address: Yarrow Valley, Selkirk TD7 5LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Gordon Arms, an old coaching Inn nestling in the Yarrow Valley in the Scottish Borders. It was a favourite haunt of James Hogg, Sir Walter Scott and even Robert Burns was said to have stopped here. Now it is well known for its Traditional Music & Real Ale, and a warm welcome to walkers, cyclists and all other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow Selkirk, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gordon Arms - Yarrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.