We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haste ye back? We certainly will.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Hotel to your Saves list
Glen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yarrow Terrace | Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rhyl, Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Haste ye back? We certainly will.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We decided to go to Scotland for a few days to celebrate my wife’s 70th Birthday and having had excellent stays at the Glen in the past three years; the choice of hotel was easy. As dad was paying, my daughter and my son and his partner had decided to join us. I asked the owners if we could have a special meal on the Saturday night and they readily agreed.
We arrived on Friday to the usual warm welcome and enjoyed a superb meal from the extensive a la carte dinner menu. The youngsters hadn’t previously visited the Borders, so we spent a great Saturday enjoying the sights in Peebles, Melrose and Kelso.
On our return to the Glen Hotel, the fire in the well stocked bar was very welcoming but this was nothing compared to the party style dinner that evening. Steve is an accomplished chef: we knew that but the Thai style meal that he made for us that night was sensational. They had even had a birthday cake made, which was a lovely surprise. It was a struggle to eat the sumptuous full Scottish breakfast next morning but my son and I managed it.
As always, the rooms were clean, well maintained and warm, the en-suite showers immaculate and the flat screen TVs unused.
Steve and Antoinette are excellent hosts and can advise on the many walks, golf courses and fishing facilities in the area. The Borders are full of history with magical castles, country houses and museums to fill your time. This lovely old hotel on the banks of Ettrick water was a super place to explore the region from.
We had an excellent value for money few days with something to talk about for weeks after.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    39
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
81
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

To celebrate Grandma's 80th birthday, our party of 20, ranging from 80 years young down to 8 years old, stayed at The Glen hotel. It was a perfect destination, providing home from home comforts in a relaxed environment. Steve the hotelier organised a treasure hunt one day, clay pigeon shooting the next day and live entertainment (accoustic band) one evening. The hotel is set in the most picturesque area of The Borders, ideal for walking, fishing, sight seeing and within striking distance of Edinburgh. The breakfast was fantastic, dinner even better and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. We are definately going again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Stayed here for one night and found it to be a lovely hotel. My room was very pleasant, crisp white sheets, cosy quilt, flat screen tv and ensuite facilities. The breakfast was delicious and the service was very good. Free Wi-fi is a real plus too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

A group of us stayed for 3 nights over the New Year period. The hotel is extremely welcoming as are the owners.
The building itself is Victorian with many original features, supplemented by furniture and artefacts brought back from their time in the Middle East.
Rooms are comfortable and well-equipped.
But the highlight of our visit was the wonderful cuisine provided by Steve. All meat is locally sourced and cooked to perfection. We certainly indulged ourselves!
Activities were organised for daytime and evening - a quiz, a Treasure Hunt around the area and even Bingo. Our party partcipated in everything!
It was a most enjoyable short stay and I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a Scottish Borders break.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

Having become very disillusioned with over priced 5*hotels,I decided to stay at the Glen with the rest of our party,and immediately realised what Ive been missing for the last ten years-friendliness and personality! the owners are always at hand and cook a mean fresh breakfast..we also ate there one evening and I was pleasantly surprised at the standard of cooking,it was faultless! The decor is very 1980s but everywhere was clean and homely and at £45 per night for a very large single room that was more than adequate for me and my young daughter,I was more than happy.Some places market themselves as country houses and then use this as an excuse to charge £150-200 per night for tired old decor..no such pretentions at the Glen..good old fashioned honesty and VFM!!

  • Liked — friendliness and value
  • Disliked — old fashioned decor
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2005

A fabulous welcoming hotel. Everyone was really friendly - even the dog!Good food and a wonderful atmosphere. We arrived late for lunch but that was no problem to our hosts who provided us with an excellent meal. In spite of terrible weather - floods, landslides and fog- we had a superb time. The room was large, light and airy and immaculately clean. The view from the room over Ettrick Water was splendid. Breakfast was delicious with a large choice of options. We will certainly be returning to the Glen Hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone taking a break in the Scottish Borders.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2004

Stayed for a long weekend whilst taking part in the Scottish Newfoundland Dog Training Weekend - swam in St Mary's Loch (duly kitted out in dry suit!) and came back for a lovely hot shower, rest and the food is absolutely superb - and I am normally very critical. The owners were so very welcoming, even allowing my dog (dry by now!) in the room with us - am looking forward to booking there again this year. Also had a good walk around the area, splendid water and views surround this hotel - my absolute favourite place in the UK

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Hotel

Address: Yarrow Terrace | Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.