We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsmuir House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peebles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingsmuir House
Save
You added Kingsmuir House to your Saves list
Springhill Road, Peebles EH45 9EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Peebles B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“unexpected birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Kingsmuir House came highly recommended to us after my birthday plans were shattered due to a badly broken wrist.
A spacious suite and bed to stretch out in, and a lovely deep bath for a long soak with some bubbly (ice and ice bucket supplied).
The house itself is beautifully renovated, tasteful fixtures and fittings, and clean.
Malcolm is an excellent host and breakfast was fab too.
You should go!!! x

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
117
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairlie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just returned from Kingsmuir House where we had a lovely weekend. The house has been beautifully restored to former Victorian splendour. Our suite was gorgeous and all the little touches- like flowers, fruit, truffles & shortbread were very welcome. Breakfast was fantastic with lots of local produce and we could have stayed longer. Much better than many hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had an absolutely lovely time in Kingsmuir House. The rooms are immaculately and lovingly restored to Victorian beauty and the host saw to our every whim with commendable subtlety. Amazing breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First time visiting the Kingsmuir as a B&B - can only back up what others have said on Trip Advisor. Absolutely first class - brilliant service, beautiful rooms, great food. What more can you ask for? We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a fanstastic weekend we had at this 1st class B&B. From the moment we arrived, my girlfriends and I were made to feel so welcome. The house, food and the surrounding location made for the most enjoyable and relaxing weekend. Malcolm is such a wonderful host and it was almost like we were friends in his home! Cannot recommend this establishment enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights, in snowy March, at Kingsmuir house. After a warm welcome we were shown our beautifully decorated, two room suite. Every comfort had been thought of, including underfloor bathroom heating which was on all night! Our bed was so comfy that after our first night's sleep we slept in beyond breakfast time. This was not greeted with" No breakfast after 9.30am" but instead Malcolm said, "Breakfast is 9.30 ish!". We were glad we didn't miss that breakfast as it was lovely. Peebles has some really good restaurants and is a very pleasant town.
I forgot to mention the homemade truffles in the room! Yummy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I decided to take a three day break over my birthday on 21st March, the only thing missing was the 'Spring' Thankfully we had booked into Kingsmuir House which must be the very best place to stay in Peebles. We came in from our artic expeditions to be greeted by a blast of warm air as we opened the door to our comfortable sitting room absolute bliss. Our stay at Kingsmuir completely salvaged what could have been a very bleak birthday! We concur with all the comments made on other reviews, one does just run out of superlatives. The only disappointment would be if you were not able to get a room!! We are looking forward to a return visit

Room Tip: Both rooms are superb nothing to choose between them you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsmuir House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmuir House

Address: Springhill Road, Peebles EH45 9EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Peebles
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmuir House is a 5 star GOLD Guest House in Peebles... A comfortable luxurious Victorian home, situated a short walk from the River Tweed and Peebles High Street. Built in the 1850's, the house has been recently refurbished and retains many original period features. Our two guest rooms are in the form of luxurious Bedroom Suites, each suite consisting of a separate sitting room, bedroom with super king size bed and a luxury bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingsmuir House Peebles, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsmuir House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.