We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Save Saved
You added Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
For BEST Rate Book DIRECT
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Peebles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had an overnight stay at the tontine , got to say very impressed .
Staff very helpfull , and really pleasant , found us a table for dinner even although fully booked .
Only downside was the room view , if I was to go back I would ask for a room overlooking the river .apart from that excellent .

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "Donald W" for a "very impressive" review, following your recent stay. We are all particularly pleased to note the positive feedback regarding the staff and team!
Thank you again and much appreciated!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    126
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
48
166
21
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arzier, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I took a single room at £50/night and had an relaxing stay in this town centre hotel. The Tontine tries hard to show its contemporary side and they have spent money downstairs in the bar and lounge. Upstairs is a little more dated but they were in the process of refurbishing some of the rooms. The latch on my door was a little dodgy with the cleaner leaving it ajar after it had been cleaned. The room could have done with a seat to sit at the desk but breakfast was very good with a full Scottish the order of the day. Parking is relatively easy either on the street at no cost or down the side of the hotel to their car park 50m down the hill. Overall worth the £50 for the single room and I'd recommend it if you're visiting Peebles

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "DNB 1973" for taking time to post your review. Constructive feedback regarding your open door which we will review with staff and chair now in place. This room just refurbished and chair returned following reupholstery!
Finishes the room very nicely indeed we think! Thanks again for your recommendation.
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW SCOTLAND
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were here overnight on 19/20 Feb and took a Classic room overlooking the river.Lovely size of room with a spacious bathroom(with window!) Very comfy. Lots of biscuits etc on tray - some hotels are a wee bit skimpy on tea,coffee etc.Toiletries & towels good too.Staff were very welcoming & directed us to a lovely lounge where we had a cream tea & Prosecco(wicked!)beside a lovely warming roaring fire. Lots of other folk there too,some local which was a good sign.
Did not have the evening meal but if we had,would need to book in advance as place was jumping.Most looked like locals,another good sign.
Breakfast was good,girls were charming & efficient.
We paid a wee bit more for theis room but it was worth it for the spaciousness & of course,the view of the river & the snowclad hills beyond.

Room Tip: Ask about availability of classic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "weemaw", a lovely review via Tripadvisor, following your recent stay and delighted to learn and read of your overall satisfaction. We like your recommendation regarding our "classic rooms" some with river views and available at a small extra cost!
Thanks again, Kate & Gordon Innes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is the nicest I have ever stayed in which is the reason we keep coming back! We returned to celebrate our wedding anniversary with some of the guests who were with us on the happy day 6 years ago. The staff are so very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The upgraded rooms are beautifully designed and very comfortable. The atmosphere in the public rooms is cosy and relaxed and the food served in the historic Adams Room is of excellent quality using plenty of local ingredients. Our special thanks to Kate for the card, a most thoughtful and kind gesture which is very much appreciated. We just can't wait to return!

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, do ask at reception and they will do their best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "Jinnie_G" for another great review, which has been read and appreciated by many of the team here at "The Tontine".
We are all delighted to learn of your satisfaction and note your continued and regular stays here at the hotel. Thank you very much for your kind comments and great recommendations.
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar Fife
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for two evenings, having booked a classic room with a view to the river at the rear of the hotel. The hotel retains an "Old World" charm with a spacious lounge and a beautiful restaurant room. We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and enjoyed Tiger prawns in a light batter with a Marie-Rose sauce as starters. I am wary of ordering steaks when I eat out but chose the sirloin here cooked Bleu with peppercorn sauce which did not disappoint my wife had a small portion of haddock fish cakes with a curry mayonnaise which was lovely. The owner recommended The Merlot from Chile" Valle de Rengo "which was very good and at a reasonable price, in fact we were pleased to see that the wine list was not overpriced as it can be in some establishments. We parked at the front of the hotel and there were parking places also at the rear. We did not move the car the next day as we new the area around Peebles and wanted to walk along the Tweed. A lovely walk through Hay park past Neidpath castle then along the old railway line to Manor bridge then over round to the old Brig, closed to cars, and up the hill admired the lovely views the on down a single track road back into the top of the town a very pleasant two hour walk. Recommend muddy boots for sure! I must mention breakfast, I had each morning two soft poached eggs with back bacon which were cooked to perfection, such a treat and my wife also enjoyed breakfast set us up for our walk. The staff in the hotel in all areas were very attentive, we noticed a lot of locals coming into the hotel and enjoying their local hotel. We have stayed around Peebles in various self catering cottages over the years when our children were little so it was good to return and enjoy the comfort of this traditional, cosy hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "Wyandour" for taking time to post such a positive review following your recent stay at "The Tontine" You have given the hotel and staff a very thorough and extensive critique and although we are obviously biased, we love the review and feedback.
Very pleased to note your food and wine satisfaction both in terms of quality and value.
Thank you very much indeed!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The Tontine has a lovely lounge area with open fire, lovely to sit with a drink which is what we did. The room we had, had no view (somewhere in the middle of the building, Room 37, very basic, needs some colour injected into it. Bathroom had bath and shower and lovely toiletries, however when sitting on the toilet, the toilet paper was on a wall which could NOT be reached from the toilet ???? Breakfast was lovely but the cooked part was not enough, I asked for poached egg, sausage and black pudding and I got one of each. The porridge was amazing (best I have had in a hotel) but it was only lukewarm. Peebles is a lovely village and has some really nice restaurants/coffee shops all within walking distance.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "Scottishperson" for your review via Tripadvisor. A "mixed" review for us some very good and some areas for us to work on.
Not a lot we can do about the lack of view, although we can ask guests to request river views if they are aware they can be booked (just a little extra to pay)
We will definately work on piping hot porridge next time, although we have to say we do not often get feedback regarding our portions. Next visit you are guaranteed a big bowl of Porridge and full hearty breakfast! I note your previous review from last year and if you do visit again, please get in touch,
Kate & Gordon Innes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is lovely, the staff are very good ,friendly and a credit to the hotel trade.
This hotel is very comfortable, the room was perfect the food was cooked to perfection.
My wife and I enjoyed our weekend and we were sorry that it was only for such a short stay, we will be going again.
We had never been to this part of Scotland before it is brilliant, ideal for walkers and cyclists and this hotel caters for all, or if like us you just want to rest that's fine as well.
The Hotel appears to be the hub of the community which is always a good sign when the local people eat and drink at their local hotel.
This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in for a while and we would strongly recommend a stay at this hotel and a walk around this small town and the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you "GrandadLiverpool" for such a great review. It makes very good reading and the team here at the hotel are delighted to learn, you so enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks agin for such a lovely recommendation, very much appreciated!
Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High St, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.